We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
86
63
12
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
63
12
2
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2015

We felt like country squires on arriving at the Hatton Hotel in the Domain a stone's throw from the Royal Botanic Gardens and Toorak Road. Our room was charming featuring vintage furniture and fittings, crisp white bedding and luxurious toiletries. I loved throwing open the wooden shutters and pushing out the windows for a stimulating view across the Melbourne skyline. The blend of contemporary and oriental art was a visual feast. Staff were attentive and relaxed. This a a place to park the car and enjoy walking as if this were your own neighborhood- at least for a while.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Coco_CAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2015

Wanted to let the TA community know that unfortunately this hotel is closing as of tomorrow - if you visit their site, hatton.com.au, you'll be directed to a hotel nearby. I feel very very sad as the Hatton was our home away from home in Melbourne and we loved everything about it. We'll miss the wonderful breakfasts on the balcony, evening drinks on the roof, and the spare elegance of the polished boards and simple old furniture. This place really worked, and I'm very sorry to see it go. Vale Hatton.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KMCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2015

A beautiful historic hotel in South Yarra with a very convenient tram stop right at the door, providing easy access into central Melbourne. Friendly and helpful staff, and a very good continental breakfast. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a large bathroom - only bad point was that the mini bar fridge was surprisingly loud at night.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank YveeIp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2015

We stayed for 3 nights in this lovely hotel in one of the nicest streets in South Yarra just off the Botanical Gardens - and with a tram stop just outside the door, so easy access into central Melbourne. Friendly and helpful staff, and a very good continental breakfast. The only small problem was no lift, so perhaps don't stay in one of the upper bedrooms if you have excess baggage as we did. Our room was fairly simple but spacious and comfortable with a large bathroom - windows opened which was a bonus. The hotel offered free wifi and an ipad downstairs in the reception/breakfast area.
Just a short walk down the road are a good choice of restaurants and shops. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maggie3322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2014

We were sent to room 6, a small room in the back basement section near the rubbish bins. Paint peeling from the bathroom ceiling, a mini refrigerator near the bed that was so noisy that it had to be unplugged at night so we could sleep. Getting in and out of the bathtub/shower was problematic - it is set very high! The water temp varied every time you showered from hot to cold and the bathroom was so small it was difficult to close the door without almost sitting on the toilet.
Wi-Fi was free and available in the rooms, although it dropped out occasionally. The breakfast was served in the nice front lobby room and was more than satisfactory. As other reviewers have mentioned, at times when speaking to staff you felt like you were interrupting their conversations, texting or internet searching. It's a shame, as the building with its grand Italianate facade welcomes you with a wow factor that unfortunately stops there. Pity, its position and history could really make a positive mark. The hotel was worth about half of what we paid for the room.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank paul1967sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews