We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
86
63
12
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
63
12
2
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2014

some consider boutique hotels to be very high end.
Well, the Hatton is a boutique in that it has character , perfect location and friendly staff that remembered our names and what we drank for breakfast.

Great to be outside of CBD, so that you get local restaurants, and walking around the neighborhood is a delight.

Our room was large, bright, comfortable - nothing extraordinary but perfect. Windows that open- and you can make coffee and tea in the room

The breakfast is more than ample - we were tired of having eggs every morning on the trip.

From our perspective - it was simply perfect - not precious - but a delightful respite

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank laughingtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2014

What a great find! I booked three rooms (two for three nights and one a Saturday night stay only) and everyone in my group had the same to say. The rooms are spacious and airy with their enormous ceilings. Bed linen is crisp and comfortable. Lovely waffle robes to lounge in armchairs in our room or after a bath. My husband said he could occasionally pick up the sound of the tram out front but it did not disturb his sleep and he is a light sleeper normally. I found the rooms quiet and good for sleeping. The tiny facilities in the corner cupboard that included a microwave and kettle was brilliant. And you cant fault T2 teas either.
Other notable points about the Hatton:
- Breakfast is continental but lovely with really good quality cereals, fruit and three or four different breads for toast along with small pastries and real coffee (including soy - which delighted my lactose intolerant travel companion as he cant always get that). Its a sensible breakfast spread and you can eat as much of it as you like, so you wont be hungry.
- Small but lovely selection of wines and beer which can be consumed in the charming front area including the balcony,
- Take the stairs to the rooftop and sit admiring the Melbourne city views - and bring your drinks. There's a small fridge at the top of the stairs to keep it all cool while you are there. Perfect. And what is more, it caught a lovely breeze on our very hot first day.
- The staff are the most helpful friendly and polite people (all ladies for our stay although I don't know if that is the case usually!)
- The number 8 tram stops literally outside the door and goes all the way into the city or all the way out to Toorak so makes this a super super convenient place to stay because it is in a quiet, leafy lovely street yet is only minutes to lots of fab eating, shopping and business addresses. (You can get a Mikki travel card at the 7-eleven on the corner too)
- The Botanical gardens (including the Tan run) are just at the end of the street too. That's a great place for a stroll, to sit and read or chill, or to take your run.
Considerations:
- Getting into the shower was a little awkward because its in a deep bath but the supplied stool and handrail made it alright and it is not enough of an issue not to stay here
- The lack of drapes on the windows (wooden shutters) does mean a little more early light gets in than I would've liked but again, this is not enough to not book this hotel. You will get a good nights sleep!

I will also add that we had a terrible mix up in the booking somehow and somewhere along the way that would have seen me spend almost half the total weekend again. Disaster! But the team at the Hatton were just fabulous and waived the extra on the proviso I got the booking agent to make some adjustments to charges to them - which I was very happy to do. I cant thank them enough for being so gracious and helpful.

Finally, there is no doubt that this is now the Melbourne hotel of choice. There is absolutely no reason for it not to be. Don't be put off because you think its out of the city centre; that's the whole pleasure and the tram means you wont even notice when it counts.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be great.
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eryca-on-hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2014

Nice small boutique hotel. Don't miss the rooftop terrace for a view of Melbourne skyline. The hotel is in walking distance of the botanical garden and a number of cafes around the corner. Best rooms are facing the back.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edi_gurre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2014

This hotel came highly recommended by friends and indeed there were lots of positives: nice linen and towels; designer toiletries; a high standard of cleanliness; good coffee; nice breakfast; the tram at the doorstep; shops and restaurants just minutes away. Not so positive were the hard, lumpy bed and the buzzing of the room fridge which was just one of the sounds, along with conversations, sneezes and television (until past 2am) in adjacent rooms that kept me awake most of the night. A good place for heavy sleepers (and I do use ear plugs).

Room Tip: Perhaps try a room on the top floor.
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Birdposeinparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2014

I stayed in The Hatton for two nights in the Eastern Balcony Suite. This is located at the front of the hotel and has a sizeable balcony overlooking the street. The street is a bit noisy at night with trams passing and pedestrians talking, but that is quite normal in this part of town. The hotel has a really boutique feel and the staff was friendly. The furnishing is quite unique, mainly traditional Chinese, and functional. The room was very clear and the bed comfortable. Daily continental breakfast of excellent quality is included in the room rate. This is served in the 'hub' where the reception is located as well. Overall a really nice hotel that offer an experience that is very different from the average business hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back of the hotel will be quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank FdV62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews