We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weeks away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #58 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,783)
There are newer reviews for Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,304 - 1,308 of 1,784 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2012

Hotel was Grand indeed. Heritage listed building was amazing with some of the widest corridors I have seen in a long time.

The rooms were very spacious and great for us having a child. In the room we had a loft style room where at night we could put our daughter to sleep downstairs and then we could retreat up stairs. The full service kitchen was great and for the 1st time ever, had a Nespresso coffee machine in the room :)

Hotel Facilities were fair although the pool was very good.

A few things lacking included no extra towels at the pool, only 1 lift for the entire hotel and a small check in area that made you feel a little in the way whilst waiting for someone to be available.

Whilst the overall cleanliness was fine, some extra cleaning around the light fittings and under lounges would not go unnoticed...

Overall, for the right price, would stay again. Location is great although I could understand people being disappointed if they were spending $250+ per night.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kgb668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hotel on the night before a holiday and it was ideal. The room was perfect, including the balcony looking out towards Docklands. It was very hot and to discover the hotel also had a pool was such a bonus. Our rate also included breakfast in the morning which was well worth it. Initially the staff seemed a bit snobbish but they greeted us every time we entered and exited and were helpful with any questions we had. Its a pricey stay but for special occasions I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura_Alex_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandGM, General Manager at Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Dear Past Guest.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Melbourne. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Paul McConville
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Sale, Australia
48
Reviewed 14 February 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Accor traveller
Melbourne, Australia
11
Reviewed 13 February 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GrandGM, General Manager at Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#30 of 160 in Melbourne
191 reviews
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#62 of 160 in Melbourne
3,652 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#33 of 160 in Melbourne
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne

Address: 33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#54 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: €90 - €198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located adjacent to Southern Cross station and close to Melbourne Convention Centre, Melbourne city shopping, theatres, galleries and museums, Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne is one of the most treasured heritage buildings in Victoria. Offering modern 4.5 star comfort, it exudes Victorian grandeur, with ornate detailing harking back to the 1800s. Grand Hotel Melbourne provides deluxe Melbourne accommodation, with 94 spacious studio's, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, a restaurant and bar, heated indoor pool, spa, gym, library and hidden garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Melbourne
Sofitel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing