We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Stars all the way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crown Towers Melbourne
Ranked #3 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We recently stayed at Crown Towers for a family wedding, and chose the hotel due it’s proximity to the wedding venue.

Our rooms were located on the 24th floor with great views of the city, all rooms were quite spacious well maintained comfortable with a large bathroom and assigned in proximity of each other. A Nespresso machine is provided as well as good selection of mini bar items.

We also had the opportunity of using the Crystal Lounge located on 3rd floor which serves breakfast, afternoon tea and evening cocktails - the breakfast experience was sensational a good selection of hot , cold food, bakery items and juices as well as a la carte option.

Crown Towers has a Forbes 5 Star rating and it is truly well deserved the Team Members are all well trained creating an exceptional personalized luxury experience.

Room Tip: High floor city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripMember021020162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 36 of 2,506 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

My partner booked a champagne on same day arrival, valet parking & breakfast room package for over $550 for one night for our date night as a treat.
We checked in yesterday at approx 5pm & left the hotel horrified by the service provided by 8:30pm.

After checking in and spending time at the pool (dressed in bathers, slippers & white bath robes) we got into the lifts & tried to get back to our room, only to find out that our hotel room card didn’t work...
This meant that the lift went straight down to ground to collect waiting passengers and we were forced out (not being able to get access to any hotel room levels) in front of an entire lobby and restaurant full of people. (Ground floor of crown and the waiting room restaurant)

Desperate to escape the embarrassment we ducked into another lift and headed back up to the spa to report our card not working, where the receptionist called and advised the front desk to bring one up whilst we waited.

And so we waited and waited.....

Over half an hour later, my partner decided he needed to take action because nothing was happening and braved the lobby and restaurant full of people in his robe and slippers with people pointing and laughing at him to cross the lobby and get a card himself from the reception desk.

The receptionist advised him that they knew nothing of the request and replaced his card.
Once finally back in our room, we called and complained to the managers on duty (x2) who provided different advice saying that they had given a new card to the “bell service staff” who were brought it to the room....
How they thought this would be satisfactory is beyond me especially considering that we we not even able to reach our hotel room floor to meet him and collect the new card & the pool reception had advised them that we were waiting there for it also.

This experience was embarrassing and degrading and unlike anything I’ve ever experienced at a hotel. Even when staying at crown palladium the other month - nothing like this happened and I normally choose to stay at crown metropol and normally receive fantastic experiences there. This was the first time we have stayed at crown towers and it will be the last!

Another Minor issue I’ll note is that when we checked in, no one acknowledged the package we had purchased - reception didn’t ask when we wanted our champagne - we had to call from the room and chase it up (A customer you shouldn’t have to beg for something that they have booked and paid for especially when so inexpensive - it was only a $10 bottle). Little details matter & id expect more from the “luxurious” crown.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jez H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotelsGM, General Manager at Crown Towers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jez H,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit.

I am so sorry to learn of your experience with us regarding your room key and can certainly appreciate the inconvenience this caused. The delayed response from my team was indeed unacceptable, and I have already addressed this to avoid any future incidents. I believe our Duty Manager was in contact shortly after you returned to your room to render their assistance.

If there is anything further I can do to assist; please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,

Shaun D’Cruz
Executive General Manager
Crown Hotels Melbourne
+61 3 9292-8888

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My fiancée and I stayed at Crown Towers for my birthday recently in the Deluxe Villa. It was absolutely amazing and worth its money. It was perfect for us. We decided to stay another night but couldn't quite afford the villa again. Thats when it took a turn.

We decided to go with the premier club room which was only $200 cheaper then the villa. We walked in and were instantly disappointed with how little you got for the absurd pricing. It was just a standard room. We called up and immediately told the staff that we didn't want to waste our money on this room as it was disappointing and overpriced so we gave our keys back and went home.

5 days later my fiancee checked her bank account and her account was overdrawn. Crown Towers have charged her $788.00 for the room we spent 2 minutes in. I have tried calling but all they have said is they have no recollection of us checking out and that they have to investigate. THE BED WAS NOT SLEPT IN. THE ROOM WAS EMPTY. We gave the keys back, took our car and left.

While attempting to sort this out, we have been charged $55 for having my car in valet! I would never have taken my car in if I knew I had to pay for it. IT SAYS ITS INCLUDED WITH THE VILLA!!!

As my fiancee is from USA her bank is closed now and for the next 2 days as it is a weekend there so she has no access to her money.

I am appalled by this and I will take it to management. Just wanted everyone to know crown is shady and be careful. I will never stay there again.

Room Tip: 30th floor and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Molly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotelsGM, General Manager at Crown Towers Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Molly B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

I was disappointed to learn of your experience with us and would like to extend my apologies for any confusion. I believe you have since spoken to our Hotel Duty Manager who has resolved this issue to your satisfaction.

If there is anything further I can do to assist, please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,

Shaun D’Cruz
Executive General Manager
Crown Hotels Melbourne
+61 3 9292-8888

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

Valet parking, breakfast & bubbly on a coupon deal to celebrate our 44th wedding anniversary.
Staff are amazing. Professional, friendly & make you feel
so welcome.
Enjoyed Nobu's Bento Boxes delivered to our room. Anything is possible at Crown!

Room Tip: The higher you go the better view you have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worriedmumaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed in the Crown Towers with a friend and his faughter and had a great time. The rooms are extremely comfortable, and the staff are very friendly. We went down to the pool which was extremely nice as it had a childrens area with shallow water, a main pool, and very comfortable spa. My only critism is that the spa was almost the same temperature as the pool, and that the pool was over crowded, and they ran out of chairs because people weren't taking their towels with them as they left. Overall it was a really enjoyable stay, and would highly reccomend going here

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank natasha_lawton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
6,052 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#32 of 161 in Melbourne
4,069 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#29 of 161 in Melbourne
2,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 161 in Melbourne
1,250 reviews
Central Business District
QT Melbourne
QT Melbourne
#5 of 161 in Melbourne
957 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
2,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Towers Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Towers Melbourne

Address: 8 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: €201 - €502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Towers Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located on the southern bank of the Yarra River in Melbourne, Crown Towers sets the benchmark for luxury hotels in Australia. Lavishly appointed and offering an impeccable standard of customer service and attention to detail, Crown Towers is a hotel that truly understands the meaning of opulence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crown Towers Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Towers Hotel Melbourne
Crown Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing