We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (9,578)
Filter reviews
9,578 results
Traveller rating
5,374
2,751
1,016
300
137
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,374
2,751
1,016
300
137
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old world charm cricketers bar traditional room grand old lady high tea parliament house spring street superior room pillow menu beautiful hotel an upgrade valet parking public transport dame concierge doorman pillows
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 9,578 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2018

Wonderful service and attention from the staff. Anniversary Card was a lovely surprise.Lovely room spacious and the decor was so old world. Helped by staff to find our way around city. We went to the aquarium .

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mareeclrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Dear Mrs Clark…… Maree,

Congratulations once again.

Thank you for entrusting such a special day to The Windsor and thank you also for your charming review.

The team will be thrilled.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you both back in future years for many more celebratory stays.

Until then, my thanks and best wishes to you both,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

my husband and I spent a week at the Windsor hotel, without a doubt this was the best accommodation we have ever stayed in. We booked a Deluxe room and it was excellent. beautiful high ceilings and very grand and a lovely view to parliament building. The hotel staff are so friendly and professional. Well done to the Windsor Hotel, we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank s0k61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for such an emphatic recommendation to readers. Most kind.

The pleasure of your company was ours.

Looking forward to welcoming you both back when next you head west from glorious Christchurch.

With thanks and best wishes,

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

On this occasion my wife and I stayed here for our wedding anniversary. As always the porters and front desk staff were extremely efficient and courteous. The hotel has a very calm and relaxing atmosphere, full of charm and character. Yes, the hotel is old, but I love the old world feel about it and the history attached. We found the staff very attentive, both in the bar and at breakfast in the morning. Nothing was too much trouble for them and the complimentary bottle of champagne in our room was very much appreciated.

We will of course be staying at the Windsor again and already have two future bookings to look forward to.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul_Downing071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear Mr Downing…Paul,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on such a special day. Your kind words and recommendations to readers are greatly appreciated.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you both back for many more celebratory and other memorable stays in the months and years ahead.

With thanks and kindest regards to you both,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Off to see Cher and this was the perfect place to stay, great location , service & room. The Windsor is such a classic hotel which is full of charm and character. We always enjoy staying here and find the staff always attentive.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BradJ995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear Mr J…Brad,

Thank you for such a positive endorsement of our hotel.

Delighted that The Windsor continues to live up to high expectations through the commitment of a team here who are exceptional.

The reviews of Cher’s concert were amazing!

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you both back for many more memorable stays in the years ahead.

With thanks and best wishes,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

I believe the bar service can improve better that will reduce customer 's waiting length. The room does have a bit old smell when i checked in. Its not comfortable for people who has allergy with smells.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank jjgharb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your valued feedback.

We shall address.

Hoping that we may look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back when next you head west from glorious New Zealand.

Until then, I remain,

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews