We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomodation, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quest Southbank Melbourne
Ranked #44 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation, great location”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

The two bedroom apartment is fabulous, just what four friends on a long Melbourne Cup weekend holiday needed. Everything that opened and closed, the location so convenient to all things southbank and the city. Staff were extremely helpful, especially when one of us lost our wallet (luckily was returned by a passerby). Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keljw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    351
    113
    33
    21
See reviews for
236
179
20
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2012

This hotel has wonderfully helpful staff. Thank goodness because the rooms were anything but clean, the beds hard as rocks and ugly acrylic blankets. Location is good for the arts centre but why do all southbank hotels think they can get away with being second rate because of where they are?

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aeo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here over the Christmas period, December 2011.

The location is great- so close to Crown Casino, Southbank shops and eateries and the aquarium. It's about a ten minute walk. You would choose the apartments for their fantastic location above anything else.

The apartment we stayed in was quite dirty however, and I was really dissapointed at my first impressions- especially because the lobby was so nice.

The carpets quite stained and the walls dirty also. It felt as though it needed a good scrubbing. We stayed in a one bedroom "internet special" so I guess you cant expect a five star experience, which I didnt. The worst part was the small hairs in the shower- it was quite gross!

We made use of the washing machine and dryer which were good. No frills accomodation, very basic fridge with small amount of milk- I advise to bring your own if staying longer than a night.

It was a one bedroom apartment, so bedroom seperate to the lounge/dining area which is a bonus. The decor was fine- as I said you dont pay for frills.

Quiet and set in a leafy street. Parking an extra $20.00 a night. Check in staff really lovely.

Overall I would stay there again if I was going to Crown for the weekend- however, found Quest on William better for a two day stay, I would pay the extra and stay there as I feel they were nicer.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in 2 bedroom apartment.

Pros:
1. 2 bedroom & 2 bathroom, is ideal for my family of 4 including 2 teenager boys.
2. Living/ dining & kitchenette is spacious and comfortable.
3. Gym is adequate.
4. Housekeeping & reception is friendly and accommodating.

Cons:
1. Location a good 10 minutes walk to flinders station & at least 25 min to chinatown. However, easy to catch a cab.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

The hotel is very close to the arts centre, but a bit of a walk from the river bank. I would not choose to return to this hotel if I was sightseeing again. Unfortunately it rained the weekend I was there and the walk was not pleasant in the rain. There is no public transport close at hand, no tram or busses on the doorstep so take your walking shoes.
The rooms are very clean and nicely appointed.

Room Tip: The executive suites vary in size, some are set up for 4 others for 6 people. The 6 people is much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auzzigirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
No photo provided
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
#62 of 159 in Melbourne
1,424 reviews
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#48 of 159 in Melbourne
438 reviews
Southbank
Quest on Dorcas
Quest on Dorcas
#13 of 159 in Melbourne
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Southbank
Oaks Southbank
Oaks Southbank
#81 of 159 in Melbourne
123 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#11 of 159 in Melbourne
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Southbank Melbourne

Property: Quest Southbank Melbourne
Address: 16 Kavanagh St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Southbank Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything is at your doorstep - only moments from Southbank Promenade and its famous Restaurants, The Arts Centre, Melbourne Convention Centre, Crown Entertainment complex and Melbourne's CBD, Quest Southbank provides 4.5 star spacious and modern apartments in a quiet location for you to relax and enjoy after your busy day.Our prime location provides easy access to public transport - Trains/ Trams, City Link tollway as well as the MCG, Tennis Centre and CBD/Federation Square. Complimentary Wi-Fi powered by a high speed NBN line, 40inch LED TV's and Foxtel/ Cable TV is available in all apartments. Quest Southbank provides our guests a place to work or entertain, space for the family and to relax - all our apartmnets are non smoking.We also offer a range of Executive Apartments - two and three bedroom executive apartments provide more space internally, superior fitout and views over either the City, the Bay or the Scenic Kings Domain gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Southbank Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing