We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good Location, Reasonable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paramount Serviced Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paramount Serviced Apartments
Ranked #134 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Hobart, Tasmania
Level Contributor
249 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Good Location, Reasonable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

2 adults, 2 teenagers stayed in 2 bedroom aptmn for 2 nights. Great location, close to lots of restaurants, Nando's, 7 Eleven, Bottle Shop,China Town, theatre, right near Bourke St tram, 2 blocks downhill to Mall. If using trains, Parliament Station is closest.
Rooms are a bit dated but adequate and clean. Bathroom is big and lounge area, kitchen easily accomodates 4/5 people. VERY NOISY HEATER/AIR CONDITIONER and fan or something similar goes all night so good nights sleep is not a guarantee. To get into rooms from reception you need to take 2 lifts but once you know where you going, its easy. Kitchen facilities good. If you got a really good rate in comparison to other places or wanted something close to theatres would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loveagreathotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    62
    65
    35
    31
See reviews for
78
33
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2010

On first sighting the apartment looked o.k. Then of course after a few days we began to find things wrong with it. The lock on the bathroom door didn't work. The door on the second bedroom jambed shut and we couldn't get into it.... we phoned down to reception and they sent a guy up to us and he couldn't get it open either. As luck would have it I had left the window open in the room and this guy had to get onto the balcony and in through that to open the door from the inside. We were told that somebody would be up to fix it that day.... ha ha ha..... we spent the rest of the week with a tea towel round the two handles so that it wouldn't shut itself again... Nobody came to fix it!!! The utensils in the kitchen left a lot to be desired as well... one pan handle was hanging off and would have caused a really bad accident had it been filled with boiling water and snapped off. We had to fix that before we could even use it. Housekeeping........... er! was there housekeeping??? We had one toilet roll between 4 adults to last for the 5 days! The shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, and even shaving cream was a nice touch in despensers............. if only they had been filled!!! The beds were as hard as iron and the pillows were just as bad. The noise on a couple of the days was like "Jungle Drums" from the resaurants down stairs. The elevators took some getting used to as well, having to use two of them on account of the car park situation. On a brighter note.... the Paramount is situated in a great place for the theatres. So if that's all you are going to Melbourne for......... yes........... The Paramount is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiechick640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2010

After a Quick check in we went up to our room, the walls were covered in scuff marks and paint chips there was tape holding the airconditioner together, the handle fell of the tap in the bathroom and the place was extremely dusty. When we complained they upgraded us which was fair enough. But the upgrade was still quite dusty and dirty, an electrical socket was loose. The full kitchen did not have a Chef's knife and the only pan they had buckled when we went to cook with it.
As we were leaving I fixed up the bed, and noticed stains on the bed sheets that looked like mould.
The management was unappologetic, and down right dodgy.
I am shocked and appauled by the state in which i found the so called serviced apartment we stayed in.

DON'T DO IT TO YOURSELF OR YOUR FAMILY!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lulumunchkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

Travelled to the city with friends for a weekend. Was surprised at the relative closeness of restaurants and to the MCG where we were heading for AFL. Location is definitely the major attraction of this property.

We were also happy that parking was provided to all hotel guests free of charge which has to be quite uncommon. However, car park can be a bit confusing without the assistance of the staff at first. We got lost when we first arrived, but we soon worked things out.

The rooms themselves are good for the price you pay. Our group of 4 easily fit into a two bedroom apartment. Staff are also friendly. No complaints in regards to this.

Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore,Shanghai, Hangzhou
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

Able to prepare meals, wash the luandry, feels comfy like a home.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mataayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Central Business District
Quest on Bourke
Quest on Bourke
#105 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#41 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Mantra 100 Exhibition
#66 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Chinatown
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
#79 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
Chinatown
Quest on Lonsdale
Quest on Lonsdale
#125 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Serviced Apartments

Property: Paramount Serviced Apartments
Address: 181 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Paramount Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Paramount Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Serviced Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Paramount Hotel Melbourne
Paramount Hotel Serviced Apartments
Melbourne Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing