We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Ranked #50 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a week at the end of March 2012. We were treated like royalty and nothing was too much trouble. Our Ambassador status was acknowledged at reception and the extras associated with this were supplied without question. The added extras from staff at the Club Lounge were very personal and very much appreciated by us. We have stayed at other IC Hotels both in and out of Australia and this one rates at the top end of our list. Kishor, I won't try to pronounce or spell his surname, the Guest Relations Manager and all the staff went out of their way to ensure we had an enjoyable time.Thank you for a wonderful stay and we will be returning soon we hope.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear Marc B,
Thank you for sharing with me your kind review. I was so happy to read that you had such a wonderful stay and that you experienced the authentic and enriching service that we strive to provide all of our guests.
I would also like to thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our Guest Relations Manger Kishor, he is indeed an asset to the hotel and I will be sure to share your kind words with him.
We hope that you do have the chance to return soon and we look forward to welcoming you.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,787 - 1,791 of 2,195 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

l Have been to InterContinental Hotel Melbourne many times now and every time it just gets Better and Better. l go to Relax and Enjoy First Class Luxury that this hotel offers.
From the moment you step out of the car you feel Like Royalty!!! The boys at the door are very friendly and give you a warm welcome as they take your luggage. (l even got nice comments about my luggage). The Check in staff has always been quick and friendly. This time the wrong room was given by mistake. Yes they are human. People make mistakes. No big deal. As l went down to reception it was quickly sorted out. l was even shown personally to a room to make sure that l liked it. How is that for Service!!! l was Extremely Happy and Impressed by this. The luggage arrived in less than a minute from the other room to our new huge room with Club Lounge Access. The rooms are always very clean and comfortable with everything that you need.
We stayed for 2 nights over the Easter Break. We had our 3 Children with us who had a great time and loved the pool. All the staff made us and the kids feel very welcome, always smiling and saying hello. This is what makes a Hotel. You can have all the latest technology the largest flat screen plasmas. But without the warm friendly staff a Hotel is nothing. Room Service was fast and the food was Great. Buffet Breakfast was Fantastic!!! Friday night was busy in the Club Lounge it was very full. Instead of us waiting, they gave us the board room to use. That was great. l felt the staff went above and beyond for us. l can not speak highly enough about the staff in the Club Lounge!!! Saturday night was just as busy. But the staff made sure everyone was happy. So did Kishor the Guest Relations Manager, who was saying hello to everyone and making sure everything was running smoothly. He came up to us and the kids to say hello. He Said "l saw you here last time and last time you were pregnant". That was 2 years ago!!! l could not believe he remembered me and my husband. That made my night!!! l was even more impressed. He asked us when we were leaving, so he could see us before we go. We were checking out and sure enough Kishor was there to ask as how our stay was? Perfect of Course. He had made the time to say good bye. That was very nice. Well Kishor must be doing something right Managing the Hotel. We Keep Coming Back. l think this is our 8th time back and we will continue to do so.
Keep up the Great Work Kishor!!! 5 Stars All The Way!!!
Thank You & See You Soon Mrs S Nawaz.

Room Tip: Get A Club Room For Sure with a Bath or Get a Package Deal Well Worth The Money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Champane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear Champane,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share with me your review.
It warmed my heart to read of your great stays with us and that you were remembered so fondly by Kishor and the Club InterContinental team, I will certainly share your delight with them.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your 9th stay, and we hope to see you all sooner rather than later.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

It was an experience of a kind. Having stayed for a week felt very unhappy about the front office and decided to checkout and booked myself at Crown Plaza, Melbourne. Had a pleasant surprise during checkout to meet the hotels Guest Relation Manager Mr. Kishor who changed my mind and requested me to rethink and also made me stay back. Thereafter its been a great time and was taken care. A beautiful property, great rooms, lovely food.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SANKARAN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear SANKARAN K,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share with me your review. I was very happy to read that Kishor was able to ease your concerns on this occasion.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I was so impressed with the staff.
They couldnt do enough for us.
We had an issue initially that was resolved very quickly, and as a result of that, we were upgraded to the most prestigious suite available.
They were the best and I would highly recommend the hotel for its central position, fantastic food,
cleanliness and most helpful and caring staff.
It made our Easter one never to forget.

Room Tip: I think they are all fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear Helen C,
Thank you for sharing with me your wonderful review. I cannot begin to tell you how it warmed my heart to read your lovely comments and I am so glad to read that we were able to be a part of your fantastic Easter.
The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The public spaces are good with an interesting mix of old and new. I have always found the staff to be good. Rooms are variable, with some seeming bigger than others. Amenities etc are all of appropriate quality for a business hotel. The only real issue is the location. It's kind of in between, neither on the river nor by the shops. Overall, good for business but not somewhere I would stay with a partner.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterConMelb, General Manager at InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear Grant N,
Thank you for taking the time to share with me your thoughts, I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay.
With a tram stop at the front of the hotel and within walking distance to some of Melbourne's best restaurants and Docklands we feel that the New York end of Collins Street and the Rialto Precinct is a wonderful destination and i'm sorry on this occasion our location did not meet your needs.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Kind regards,
Joerg T. Boeckeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,014 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
5,765 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#30 of 161 in Melbourne
8,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 161 in Melbourne
2,807 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,428 reviews
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#83 of 161 in Melbourne
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto

Address: 495 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: €104 - €434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto 5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrated as one of the world’s hottest and best new hotels by both Conde Nast Traveler and Wallpaper* magazines, InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto is a fascinating example of the city’s fusion of old and new. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto represents the resurrection of one of the city’s last remaining examples of 19th Century Victorian Gothic architecture into a timeless and inspiring luxury hotel. Its city centre location on Collins Street is at the heart of the laneways, attractions and experiences that give Melbourne its international appeal. Behind the Gothic façade is a sleek yet intimate hotel that is home to two very different bars – the Bluestone Wine Lounge and the Market Lane Bar – and a variety of dining establishments, including Alluvial Restaurant and Guy Grossi’s exciting new venture, Merchant. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto has also teamed up with Shannon Bennett, providing valet parking for his new Vue de monde restaurant on the 55th floor of the adjacent Rialto building. InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto’s warmth and exceptional service belies its size, with more than 250 guest rooms across two soaring wings, including a stunning collection of suites as well as the exclusive Club InterContinental lounge and facilities for premium guests. The hotel’s rooftop is also a destination itself, home to the kitchen’s own market garden and beehives, the Scandinavian-inspired swimming pool and the glass-encased fitness centre overlooking the Melbourne cityscape. Also available is the luxurious candle-lit East Day Spa offering east-meets-west treatments and therapies. Before guests arrive, they can take advantage of the concierges’ passion and Insider knowledge of the city. Chief Concierge, James Ridenour and his team are the key to authentic experiences of the real Melbourne and everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Melbourne The Rialto Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing