We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,782)
Filter reviews
2,782 results
Traveller rating
732
1,269
558
139
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
732
1,269
558
139
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cocoon great location soul cafe two double beds david jones central location bourke st mall the heart of the city a bit tired valet parking buffet breakfast your doorstep room was spacious street noise tram stop public transport buskers
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 2,782 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

Again staying at this fab hotel. So close to shopping and the hotel is always comfy and clean. Highly recommend when staying in Melbourne the staff are always friendly and helpful, got to Melbourne late due to airline hold up and upon arrival at hotel staff were great and patient, dealing with tired and grumpy guests

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank rkinggc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear rkinggc,
Thank you again for returning to stay with us and for sharing your positive experience.
Your kind words on our staff are greatly appreciated and we look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Alex Mihardja
Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

Firstly, TOP location! Close to everything.
Definitely need to make mention of the concierge on duty on 25th April Anzac day. He was so very helpful and accommodating. Followed up on our requests. And made us feel looked after. I wish i had got his name to give him the credit he deserves. What a wonderful person to have representing your hotel.
We arrived at the hotel from an early flight at around 9am and were so grateful that our room was ready (especially having 2 kids).
The hotel had a deal where if you chose NOT to have the room serviced daily, you can opt for a $10 credit/day to use at the cafe next door. We took advantage of this.
Free cot/crib use was handy.
Buffet breakfast was clean, sufficient and plentiful. The kids loved it. There was an egg station where you can order fried or poached egg delivered to your table. The little cupcakes were a hit!
The hotel room was a bit dated. Hallways a bit dark and narrow. And make sure you take the correct set of lifts. Level 4 in 1 part of the building does not join up to level 4 from another lift. It was nice to be able to open the window a bit for some fresh air. Noise levels were not too bad at all. Considering we where not on a high floor either. Bit of street noise and tram dings. But you expect that from being in the heart of the city.
I would likely stay here again for the price and location.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AVsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear AVsyd,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review about your recent stay. We’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay!
We will ensure that your kind words and feedback are passed onto our team.
Thank you again for sharing the experience of your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Alex Mihardja
Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018

We upgraded to a superior king room the room was very large but that is where it ended. The hotel is tired we were told there are renovations going on and we have moved you to a lower floor. The room was noisy and tired and the bed very uncomfortable and so were the pillows. I did go down to reception and put my disappointment forward to a lovely young lady. I think the most disappointing thing was that there was not any effort to contact us to see if this could fixed to make our stay more comfortable.
I had only just got back from 2 weeks in third world countries staying in 3 star hotels and they were better than this one.
We usually stay at Accor hotels in Australia and overseas.
The staff were the major plus for this hotel also the location but management should also try and keep loyal customers happy.

Room tip: Check out if the room has been renovated or an old tired one
Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Guest Relations Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Dear Jack, I'm glad that you enjoyed our central location and our friendly and helpful staff. As you mentioned we are just commencing a full refurbishment of the hotel that we are very excited about and we would love for loyal guests such as yourself to come back and check out our great new rooms. We hope to see you then. Best Regards, Nick Phillips, Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

I was lucky to be GOTD and we received room upgrade, champagne and chocolates. Great after long flight. With a short stay this hotel was perfect for shopping. Staff friendly and helpful. Room quiet and had all requirements.excellent.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MissWendy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear MissWendy2,
Thank you for your feedback. Fantastic to hear you enjoyed your upgrade and amenities for being our Guest of the day.
Appreciate your kind words on our staff as well as the accommodation provided.
We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Alex Mihardja
Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

I stayed here one weekend in Melbourne. Hard to find the drive way as it is hidden on the left and you have to look hard to see it, but once you are there it has valet parking so they take your car and can walk to where you want to go. It is close China town and the transit system is excellent so no problem getting around. The hotel is clean the staff are friendly, the rooms are nice, all in all it is a good place to stay. They have a pool on the 15th floor but I did not see it. Basic Gym too.

Room tip: the entry is on the left as it is on a one way street and it does not look like a street.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FinlayBeaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Dear FinlayBeaton,
Thank you for staying with us recently.
We appreciate your detailed review and sincere apologies experience in finding the way to our hotel's driveway.
Appreciate you highlighting the friendliness of our staff as well as the accommodation provided.
We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Alex Mihardja
Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews