We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Nearby Hotels
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$142
US$104
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Stamford Plaza Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$160
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Novotel Melbourne on Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$82
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Punthill South Yarra Grand(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Fitness centre
The Langham, Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$277
US$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,691)
Filter reviews
2,691 results
Traveller rating
711
1,240
539
126
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
711
1,240
539
126
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cocoongreat locationsoul cafetwo double bedsdavid jonescentral locationbourke st mallthe heart of the cityaccor membera bit tiredvalet parkingbuffet breakfastyour doorsteproom was spaciousstreet noisetram stopan upgrade
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 2,691 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2018

We upgraded to a superior king room the room was very large but that is where it ended. The hotel is tired we were told there are renovations going on and we have moved you to a lower floor. The room was noisy and tired and the bed very uncomfortable and so were the pillows. I did go down to reception and put my disappointment forward to a lovely young lady. I think the most disappointing thing was that there was not any effort to contact us to see if this could fixed to make our stay more comfortable.
I had only just got back from 2 weeks in third world countries staying in 3 star hotels and they were better than this one.
We usually stay at Accor hotels in Australia and overseas.
The staff were the major plus for this hotel also the location but management should also try and keep loyal customers happy.

Room Tip: Check out if the room has been renovated or an old tired one
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Guest Relations Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Dear Jack, I'm glad that you enjoyed our central location and our friendly and helpful staff. As you mentioned we are just commencing a full refurbishment of the hotel that we are very excited about and we would love for loyal guests such as yourself to come back and check out our great new rooms. We hope to see you then. Best Regards, Nick Phillips, Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

I was lucky to be GOTD and we received room upgrade, champagne and chocolates. Great after long flight. With a short stay this hotel was perfect for shopping. Staff friendly and helpful. Room quiet and had all requirements.excellent.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MissWendy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear MissWendy2,
Thank you for your feedback. Fantastic to hear you enjoyed your upgrade and amenities for being our Guest of the day.
Appreciate your kind words on our staff as well as the accommodation provided.
We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Alex Mihardja
Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

I stayed here one weekend in Melbourne. Hard to find the drive way as it is hidden on the left and you have to look hard to see it, but once you are there it has valet parking so they take your car and can walk to where you want to go. It is close China town and the transit system is excellent so no problem getting around. The hotel is clean the staff are friendly, the rooms are nice, all in all it is a good place to stay. They have a pool on the 15th floor but I did not see it. Basic Gym too.

Room Tip: the entry is on the left as it is on a one way street and it does not look like a street.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FinlayBeaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Dear FinlayBeaton,
Thank you for staying with us recently.
We appreciate your detailed review and sincere apologies experience in finding the way to our hotel's driveway.
Appreciate you highlighting the friendliness of our staff as well as the accommodation provided.
We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Alex Mihardja
Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

The hotel is located in the city centre area, close to the station, shopping area and sports stadia. It is on the edge of Chinatown, and has a good selection of restaurants nearby. The room was clean and comfortable but a bit small. The bathroom was very small. The reception area is a bit chaotic, with a lot of people seemingly wandering around without any reason for being there. Parking is available nearby for $15 per day.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ritchielawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Dear ritchielawyer,
Thank you for your recent patronage and time to provide feedback. I am disappointed that not everything was as you expected please accept my sincerest apology. Appreciate you highlighting our convenient location.
We hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Alex Mihardja
Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

I stayed here with a friend for 2 nights whilst visiting Melbourne to shop & eat out. Our primary reason for booking this hotel was for its location. The room in general was tidy and spacious, however bathroom was very dated and quite tired. Beds were okay, but both my pillows were quite uncomfortable. Location is definitely the main appeal for this hotel.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank ameliac2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear ameliac2,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently.
We're pleased to see you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel.
Sincere apologies that the pillows and accommodation provided were below your expectations.
Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja
Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews