We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st CLASS ALL THE WAY”
Review of Adelphi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We were treated to a night at this hotel for a very special anniversary.
From the time we walked in until we left the next day the service we received was nothing short of marvelous. Regardless of who it was the attention we received was excellent, with nothing too much of a problem.

Our comfy king room was well designed, big enough so as to be comfortable with a large comfortable king bed. The bathroom was very modern, clean and well appointed.All the decor and carpets are of a art deco design.

The mini bar is stocked with a small supply of non alcoholic drinks and there is a supply of nibbles. these are all complimentary which is most unusual for any hotel.


The outlook from our room on the 8th floor was pretty ordinary with just the wall of a rather run down building to view. Still, that's not the hotels area of responsibility.

Not that we needed it but there is a small lap pool on the 9th floor which is undergoing renovations and due to be completed by Christmas 2017

There are two restaurants attached to the hotel, the Om Nom and the Ezard

Room Tip: rooms on all levels seem to lack a view but all seem to be decorated the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dencal1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas T, Assistant Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear 'Dencal1945',

It was an absolute pleasure having the both of you with us for your special anniversary stay. At Adelphi, we enjoy celebrating life's special moments and am delighted to read that we were able to contribute to make it an extraordinary time.

Our Comfy King rooms as you mentioned are indeed rather spacious and the signature marshmallow bed is to die for. The bed allows you to melt into a restful sleep while also being able to provide great support for one's back. Our rooms are styled in a dessert theme, with funky design adorning the walls and other fixtures to boot. One of the things that our guests absolutely rave about is the non-alcoholic mini bar, with a selection of sweet treats, snacks and non-alcoholic drinks which are all included.

We are on the final stages of the pool refurbishment and we cannot wait to unveil it to all when it is complete in December 2017. Our location in the heart of Melbourne is simply amazing, with great restaurants along Flinders Lane and as you mentioned, Ezard below the Adelphi Hotel and Om Nom, our dessert-themed kitchen.

Once again, I thank you for your wonderful recommendation of the hotel and your positive interactions with all members of the team. I look forward to welcoming you both back to the Adelphi in the summer for a refreshing dip in the pool or to celebrate your next special moment with us.

Warm Regards,
Douglas Tay
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 1,226 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

Fantastic venue for a quick get away. Great food and bevies. Friendly staff, perfect location, clean rooms of a generous size. Lots of staff on hand with excellent local knowledge and a eagerness to impress.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle T, Assistant Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear 'Melissa S'

Thank you so much for your fantastic review. I am glad to hear you had a great time at Adelphi, on your quick getaway to Melbourne!

Our Om Nom team are delighted that you had a wonderful dining experience with them. With all their deliciously tempting treats, I'm glad you had the opportunity to relish in some tasty food and bevies in our terrific restaurant.

I'm thrilled to hear our entire team impressed you during your time with us. I am pleased we were able to create a memorable trip. With our perfect central location, spacious, clean rooms and friendly team, with amazing local knowledge. Our team are highly dedicated and eager to show all our guests exceptional personal service, we are all ecstatic you had such a superb experience at Adelphi.

Thank you again Melissa for your outstanding review. I do hope we have the pleasure of seeing you again on your next escape to Melbourne. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly to book your next getaway.

Kind Regards,
Danielle Turner
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Fantastic location and very close to excellent restaurants. Staff were fabulous and really made us feel welcome and provided some great advice on places to eat out etc.

We will certainly be visiting again in the future

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 563jeffv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulu W, Assistant Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Jeff,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. We are so glad that your stay at Adelphi was such a pleasurable experience.

You are absolutely right, our location is simply fantastic. We are located in the midst of some of Melbourne's most unique and eclectic cafes and restaurant - it is truly a foodie paradise! Our team definitely know where to go for some amazing dining experiences and we are thrilled to hear they pointed you in the right direction!

We cannot wait to welcome you back for your next getaway! Please do no hesitate to get in touch with us directly to organise your next stay!

Kind regards,
Lulu Wijayasekara
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Such a beautiful boutique hotel in a great location and with excellent staff.
My room was spacious and modern and I loved the special touches like the personal message on the mirror, the sweets and free mini bar.
Bed was super comfortable and everything I could possibly need was in the room.
The glass of bubbles on arrival won me over instantly as well!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LemonadeAndFlipFlops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulu W, Assistant Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear "LemonadeAndFlipFlops',

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such fabulous feedback.

You've absolutely hit the nail on the head! Adelphi is definitely boutique in nature, and we know this gives us the opportunity to really connect with our guests. From a cheeky glass of bubbles to a personalised message in your room, to our signature 'Marshmallow' beds, we really to try to spoil you and ensure you have an indulgent, luxurious break. We know that it is the little things like the complimentary goodies in your room that can make all the difference.

We are so glad that you felt well looked after and we can't wait to welcome you back! Please feel free to contact us directly to book your next stay, we'll have the bubbles ready!

Kind regards,
Lulu Wijayasekara
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

I spent 2 nights at the Adelphi with my son and I’ve been vacillating between giving them 4 or 5 stars but now it’s a week later and my overwhelming impression is 5 stars. I was disappointed the pool wasn’t open as it is being refurbished, there was a small leak in the bathroom with something growing around the pipe and there was no bath which is surprising given the tariff. I paid a non refundable $850 at the time of booking so my expectations were high. Despite the minor annoyances detailed above our overall experience was excellent. The location couldn’t be better as it is close to the laneways and lots of fantastic restaurants and bars as well as being a short walk to the National gallery of Victoria. The service is some of the best I have experienced in Australia and was reminiscent of service in the States or Asia. Our names were remembered, our bags were cared for after checkout, a taxi was arranged and the delightful receptionist insisted on carrying my suitcase down the stairs. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone of the staff made us feel welcome and special. The room was comfortable and the beds are sublime. I loved the toiletries and I’m very fussy about these. The mini bar included snacks and soft drinks which were free. The room had a decent hairdryer, iron and ironing board, large TV with free movies and free WiFi. We were given a welcome drink both nights which I thought was a generous gesture and turn down included chocolates. The highlight was the time spent at the bar drinking the creative and theatrical cocktails. I am looking forward to a return visit next year, hopefully with the refurbished swimming pool and a little maintenance of the bathroom in room 506.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank KarinP63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulu W, Assistant Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Karin,

What a fantastic review! Thank you so much for your kind words!

We are so fortunate to be located so centrally and it sounds like you were able to enjoy so much of this beautiful city! The team here are dedicated to making sure that our guests have a fantastic time - it's wonderful to hear that you felt so well looked after. We're so glad that you were able to have such a special getaway with your son. With Om Nom so closely located to us, we are thrilled that you were able to enjoy their amazing cocktails. They are a feast for all the senses!

We are so appreciative of your feedback regarding your room and we have had our maintenance department address the issues you raised. Despite this, we are thrilled that you enjoyed so many aspects of your room - from our signature Marshmallow bed to the complimentary snacks, non-alcoholic minibar and movies. Our Appelles Apothecary toiletries are just amazing and we are proud to sponsor Australian products.

Karin, we cannot wait to welcome you back and unveil our updated pool deck. We thank you so much for your patience and we look forward to looking after you again. Please feel free to get in touch with us directly when you're ready for another 5 star experience!

Kind regards,
Lulu Wijayasekara
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
QT Melbourne
QT Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
883 reviews
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
791 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 161 in Melbourne
5,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 161 in Melbourne
2,475 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelphi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel

Address: 187 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: €166 - €339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adelphi Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelphi Hotel is a small hotel that presents an enticing palette of temptations. Swinging couches, signature desserts, cocktails, candles and Liquorice All-Sort stools are merely the entree. Discover 34 sumptuous rooms, world-class amenities, an intimate & striking lobby space and a magnificent 12 seater private dining/ Boardroom space. Adelphi is (literally) topped off by it's iconic rooftop Pool and Deck area - with it's over-hanging glass bottomed pool. And guests can be wowed by all on offer at famous Om Nom Kitchen. Attached to Adelphi, you'll find Mon Bijou event space and the award winning Ezard restaurant, located in the basement level. A step away from bustling city streets, enjoy the sensation of escape. Lose yourself in luxury, in texture. Absorb the soft sounds, the whispers, laughter and music. Taste the unique offerings. Settle in for the sweetest of dreams. Dive in, to be enlivened. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adelphi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelphi Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing