We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "ggod spot for a hotel".”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins
Ranked #103 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 15 February 2012

The founder of Melbourne, John Batman, is reported to have said it would be a "good spot for a village" and this hotel occupies a good spot for people visiting Melbourne. The Club rooms are comfortable and adequately equipped for both short and longer stays. It is however let down by the poorly prepared buffet breakfast in the main dining room. I would recommend taking the simpler breakfast on the ground floor( not the floor below) where the ambiance is also more agreeable. Reception staff were helpful about looking after bags after check-out time.

Room Tip: A high floor on Collins Street was quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussietraveller36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (903)
There are newer reviews for Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

654 - 658 of 903 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel as part of a package to attend the Presidents Cup Golf in November 2011. The club room was on the lower end of the price scale for hotels in the packages available. The room was on the top floor and most of the outside noise was kept out. The room was small and there was not much storage space. The shower and aircon were good, bed was good for me on my own but due to it being two beds pushed together it may not suit some couples.
I had breakfast the first morning in the hotel and it was very unimpressive so avoided it the remainder of my stay and ate better as a result. I didn't eat dinner as I had other places to go and even on the one night that I considered it thought better of it and walked a short distance to the holiday inn for a beautiful meal instead.
The staff that I met at reception and during my stay were not very welcoming or friendly and were just going through the motions. I didn't mind this as I knew it was not a 5 star hotel and I wasn't there to make friends but it does not hurt to smile and make you feel a bit welcome.
I would not recommend this hotel unless you can get it for a very good price. I spoke to other Presidents Cup travellers who stayed at accommodation for a similar price and I saw the locations of some of these places during pickup and dropoffs and believe they were better value in better locations.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brolga1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Great Hotel - booked a room and found they have over booked but no problem as they upgraded us to a King Room. Small Room but a great bed. Tiny bathroom for us but a very functional layout and clean.

Bar area nice but not well used and did not eat there.

Room Tip: Great hotel - small and charming and priced right for Melb CBD.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BigGBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I guess first impressions are important, so a manager who gives a damn should advise the guy on the afternoon reception, that his lethargic service reflects badly on the hotel. As a single traveller, the room I was put in was not suitable. Upon entering the room, I had to weave past 2 single beds, a dining table and chairs cluttered into a small area with a lounge and coffee table to finally get to the bedroom. The bathroom was old and pokey (luckily there was only me because 2 people would struggle to occupy the space at the same time). The bath was tiny and the toilet tucked in the corner, could only be accessed when you closed the door. The TV in the bedroom did not work(see pic below). Lift your game management - I could not recommend this hotel to anybody.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toorust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Lovely quad room, well equipped, comfortable and clean. A little way out of the city centre, but handy to trams and easy enough to walk back to. Definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazbahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#61 of 160 in Melbourne
3,656 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne
Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne
#57 of 160 in Melbourne
1,792 reviews
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#135 of 160 in Melbourne
612 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins

Address: 623 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#93 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: €79 - €194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Melbourne CBD, Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins is right opposite the Southern Cross Station and within walking distance of many of the city's best-known attractions. Our modern facilities include a range of 190 convenient and comfortable suites from 20 sq m economy rooms, 28 sq m premiere rooms and fully equipped apartment from 35 sq m studios to 50 sq m 2 bedrooms. A great choice whether it is for short trips or longer-term stays. Function rooms can cater up to 180 guests for either business conferences or private parties. Choose from a variety of wining and dining options at our restaurants and bars, including a $12 daily lunch that is popular with both local Melbournians as well as guests staying at our hotel. Free unlimited data web browsing Wi-Fi and multi-device hi-speed packages available at an extra cost will keep you connected while away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Batman's Hill on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Melbourne
Quality Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing