We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad but they mislead people on their website”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Series - The Olsen
Ranked #25 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not bad but they mislead people on their website”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

The Olsen is perfectly located on the top end of Chapel Street in SOuth Yarra, which is one of the best locations to be in in Melbourne. Chapel Street is full of great shops, restaurants and cafes, and it is very easy to travel to the CBD and other parts of the city from there. Based on location, I would give The Olsen 5 stars.
The rooms are also pretty great. I requested a Deluxe Twin Studio and was very pleased to see that we were given a one Bedroom Suite, so my mum (who i was travelling with) and I could have our own space. The rooms are all bright and with colourful paintings by John Olsen. The kitchenettes are also very handy, especially if you are staying for longer than just a couple of days, or if you are travelling with babies or young children. The only thing that wasn't ideal was the room cleaning service.
We did not eat at either of the hotel's restaurants (except for breakfast, which was very so-so), as unfortunately they were just not very appealing. Never busy, and with a very expensive menu (especially at Steer). The decor in Bluebottle was not very inviting either unfortunately.
My main gripe with the Olsen is the fact that their website very clearly states that WIFI is free from their hotel restaurants. Only when I asked to get on line while having breakfast, i was told that i should logon as I would in my room where the charge is AUS$3 per hour (ridiculous in itself). I explained to the reception staff that it clearly states on their website that it says free internet from hotel restaurants, but they insisted that this was not the case and had never been the case! So i had no choice but to pay to logon. When i got back home i checked the website again and yes, it still says that internet is free in the restaurants and so I explained the situation to the GM in a questionnaire that was sent to me. Haven't heard back yet - let's see what they say, if they bother getting back to me! I personallybelieve that it should be standard to offer hotel guests free wifi in these top hotels. Is such a rip off to charge - and for $3 an hour, it is almost so insignificant that it is pointless anyway.
Apart from that incdent our stay went well, and we did have some very helpful members of staff at concierge and reception who helped us arrange restaurants and day trips. I would recommend this hotel for location and quality of rooms, but not if you need to get online often!

Room Tip: Room 212 was a lovely one bed suite. Might be better to be a little higher up though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexofhongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickGouin, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback, it appears that overall your experience at the hotel and in Melbourne was a pleasant one. I would like to apologise for the confusion that you experienced with the free WiFi, and would like to say sorry if you felt misled. The hotel does offer free WiFi within the restaurant and in our lobby area. In this case, unfortunately it appears that you have spoken to a staff member who was not fully aware of this service. After receiving you hotel survey, we have refunded you for this charging error, and have addressed your concerns in more detail within the response. Thank you for alerting us to this issue, we have spoken to all of our staff to ensure that this confusion does not repeat itself. We look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne and The Olsen Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,017
    398
    130
    55
    25
See reviews for
178
638
130
414
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

My partner and i stayed at this hotel in approx. September 2010 (sorry for the timing of the review but better late than never and not September 2011 like it says but there was no other option). The purpose of our trip was for the Titanic Exhibition that was on at the Melbourne Museum and despite the fact that it was no longer winter, true to Melbourne's reputation, it was cold and wet during our trip. Reception staff were polite and check in was quick. We booked a deluxe studio suite and were on the same floor as the penthouse i think. I was quite high up. The view from our room was down Chapel St and was great also. Our room was clean and comfortable. Perfect to come back to after a day of shopping, sight seeing or a night out. The bed was super comfortable. Still remember it to this day. The bathroom was modern, however the door is frosted glass and had a gap in it once it closed. Not the greatest level of privacy at times. The shower also required additional towelling placed on the floor as it would get significantly wet otherwise, not a major problem when only a short stay though. Breakfast at hotel's restaurant Bluebottle was okay, had better. Slow service though given that it was not busy during our stay. The hotel itself is in a perfect position. Close to transport, shops and restaurants. Staff were helpful with directions. Caught a taxi to and from the Casino one night also which wasn't too expensive either. Hotel pool would be great during the summer months as it is partially outdoors and given that it was pouring rain and windy during our stay, we couldn't utilise it. Gym is tiny however we were not there to exercise however this may impact on people travelling for business purposes. Would i recommend this hotel to other travellers? Yes. Personally, i don't know if i would stay here again though only for the simple fact that i like to try out different hotels when i travel. I would have no problem in booking another hotel from the Art Series Hotels group though for a change.

Room Tip: High floors offer good views down Chapel Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djk085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickGouin, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review The Olsen Hotel. I appreciate the fact that you have us in your thoughts enough to come back and write your comments. Your feedback is very comprehensive and exactly what other travellers would be looking for. We thank you for mentioning so many aspects of our property. If you are someone who likes to try a different hotel each time you travel, then I recommend that you try The Cullen or Blackman Hotel if your are returning to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

The Olsen is nice, but nothing special. Most of all I liked the location in South Yarra.
It does no have anything special, it just a nice hotel with nice rooms, which are not too big. All room doors slam quite loud, so you can always here your neighbours entering or leaving the room. The gym is not really a gym, just some cardio and weights. i stayed during the Australian Open times, where hotels in Melbourne are extremely expensive. I payed 270$ per night, which I think was really overpriced. I am sure there are better hotels in Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank german2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickGouin, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you for offering us your comments regarding your stay with us during the Australian Open Tennis. We are located in a great spot to attend The Open, with the event just a short walk or tram ride away. There is no doubt that during special event periods rates are higher throughout our city. Our focus as a hotel is to ensure we are delivering the best possible service that we can during these periods, to ensure our guests are receiving value for money. We always recommend that potential guests call our on-site reservations team, so we can offer the best rate and suite to suit your needs. We look forward to welcoming you to The Olsen Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

The staffs were very courteous and polite. They were considerate of the choice of rooms to be given to me as I'm a light sleeper. We had a surprise with Champagne & strawberries as it was a special occasion. The room was really spacious and bathroom very well appointed. One small issue was there was a constant knocking on the window, we checked but found nothing..wondered if it was birds hitting the window. But at night it was very quiet. I had a better rest and sleep here than at Blackman's. The location was great. Woolies and Coles nearby and very great restaurants, eateries. Shopping was aplenty for ladies. Overall I would pick Olsen over Blackman the next time. Great job Olsen, keep it up !

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StefanieLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

A beautiful hotel establishment. Clean, modern and inviting. I highly rec this property. Bathroom wall was glass and printed. Unique.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katarina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Art Series - The Blackman
#14 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#15 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Olsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Olsen

Property: Art Series - The Olsen
Address: 637 - 641 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#24 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Olsen 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Melbourne’s prestigious Chapel Street, The Olsen Hotel offers travelers premier South Yarra accommodation with 229 elegant five-star suites that are infused with the lyrical works of revered Australian Landscape artist Dr John Olsen. Breathtaking mural and sculpture greet you on arrival and large prints adorn all hallways and suites. This boutique Melbourne hotel is complimented by a day spa and two delicious restaurants; you will be reveling in the Art of [Creature Comforts]. At The Olsen Hotel, one can sleep soundly on Art Series Signature bedding, plunge into the spectacular glass bottom pool with Chapel Street shoppers below, work out in our state-of-the-art gymnasium or step out for some retail therapy. These South Yarra accommodations offer plentiful natural light and are thoughtfully appointed with 42” flatscreen televisions, wireless internet access and complete kitchenettes.For a longer stay settle into an exclusive art inspired residential suite.Olsen is regarded as one of Australia’s greatest living painters and won the Archibald Prize in 2005 for his portrait Self Portrait Janus Faced.Experience Olsen’s charm, wit and passion for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Series - The Olsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Olsen Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing