We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$96
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$140
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$130
US$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$269
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$84/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$200
US$150
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Stamford Plaza Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$196
US$168
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$184
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,073)
Filter reviews
2,073 results
Traveller rating
1,267
526
173
73
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,267
526
173
73
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschapel streetsouth yarraspoonbill restaurantglass bottomsmart cardeluxe studio suitesun decktoorak roadroom serviceboutique hotelrestaurant downstairsmini barlittle thingslocation is greatgreat roomlate checkoutcomfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
1,796 - 1,801 of 2,073 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Stylish design and every creature comfort, oozes quality and class perfect for corporate,international visitors or a stay designed to impress.Situated in the centre of Melbourne's Chapel St shopping and restaurant precinct.Our suite on the sixth floor was lovely and spotlessly clean,fantastic snack and mini bar[ even multivitamins!].Reception were welcoming and informative.Olsen's artwork was brilliant and refreshing and we left with a better appreciation of art and the artist.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicki551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickGouin, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell others how much you enjoyed your stay, along with the artwork at The Olsen Hotel. It’s always pleasing to read that we kept our room standards to the levels that we set, and great to see that you noticed our in-room vitamins. We are always looking to change our mini bar items, so that they are up-to-date with the needs of our guests. Thank you for mentioning our staff, we all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Location: Nicer end of Chapel St., nearby restaurants & grocery store, close to tram (exact change required), easy walk to Prahran market. Tricky getting into parking garage. Accommodations: Studio suite was roomy. A/C very efficient. Contemporary furnishings. Nice size frig. Laundry on lower floors (ask desk for key) Pricey internet connection.
Suggestions: Management should spend more time training housekeeping how to load a dishwasher.... glasses should be upside down. Bath towels were thin and not absorbent.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pepper49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickGouin, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2012

Thank you for providing travellers with so much valuable information about our hotel and the South Yarra area. You have mentioned a number of the positives that our suites are equipped with. We always recommend that travellers contact our in-house reservations team if they have specific room requests. We are more than happy to do what we can to ensure you have a positive experience. I would also like to thank you for our suggestion for housekeeping. This is why feedback is so useful; without being told, you don’t always know. Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed over the time the Australian Open was on, the actual hotel was lovely but was difficult to get over the first experience when we arrived and were sent to a room that was not cleaned and when we went back down to reception to ask about it the first girl we saw just looked at us blankly, eventually another girl came over, helped us and reallocated another room, we then went to this room to find and gift and a card on the bed for another guest (we phoned to let them know so as not to have any surprise visitors in the night). The television works only hit and miss and we hired a movie one night and could not watch it all as it all froze and had to call and ask for this to be taken off the bill. Stay away from the day spa as they make you feel very rushed for the service you get. Gym was great and pool but left feeling a little miffed about how such a nice hotel could get so many little things wrong.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ninanewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickGouin, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The information you have provided, although disappointing, is very useful to us. I would like to apologise for the below standard experience that you had, It appears that we have just had a ‘shocker’. Since this review we have made a concerted effort to further train and teach our staff how to handle incidents like this. During this training we have stressed the importance of an apology and follow up, as well as the need to personally escort our guests to their new suite to ensure everything is perfect. There will always be cases in any hotel where things do not go to plan. It is our responsibility to ensure we do our best to stop any further reoccurrence. I am confident that we are putting the right things in place to overcome the difficulties that you experienced.

Since this review we have had our TV/movie system upgraded, which has made a great difference with the performance of this service. With regards to the day spa; I have passed this information onto the owner of the spa. Although this is an outsourced service, it does reflect badly on the hotel when their performance is below standard. I am confident that they will use the feedback to improve their business.

Once again thank you for the feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

It's a very modern new building but it is not spacious enough for apartments which would be rented by people for three months unless it's a short stay overseas who want furnished apartments. Your kitchen and balcony are so small. Congratulations on the modern swimming pool, but block the Chapel St hustle and bustle of cars. You need more restaurants and cafes to put around. Also, please allow pets in this building for long stays, especially cats! My cat is very friendly and will not run away at all. She can be kept on the balcony all day.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sirani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickGouin, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We have eight different room types to suit the needs and length of stay for most travellers. A studio suite may be small for some; however there are others that are equipped to meet most requirements of a variety of travellers. We appreciate that guests are attached their pets; however the no pets policy will not be changed. Thank you for your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

The Olsen is a realy nicely apppointed hotel. The rooms are on the small side but are furnished with style and are very comfortable (particularly the beds). The hotel is positioned at the city end of Chapel street so it's convenient for shopping and transiting to the city or art gallery via tram. Some unique offerings like the hotel's motor scooters and smart car may seem a bit odd, but actually proved to be super convenient.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and professional. We had a great time here and will definitely return soon!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Froggystyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickGouin, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Olsen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your time at The Olsen Hotel. It pleases us to read that you enjoyed your time and will return. Offerings like the scooters and Smart cars are designed to differentiate us to other hotels; however it’s also designed to offer a unique experience for our guests. Thank you for mentioning the professionalism of our staff. We believe that it is the staff that can make a real difference to your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Olsen Hotel for your next romantic getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews