We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is great, rest is average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melbourne Central YHA
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Location is great, rest is average”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Only the location is great, the rest is average. I slept in a 3 bed female dorm, with a window that didn't stay open. I fixed it with one of my shoelaces and they just left it there.It is really (too) hot in the hostel during summertime, no aircon. The only aircon is at the reception. The older female receptionists are really nice, the younger ones a lot less.The elevator is often out of order (which lasts at least 24 hours!) What I really couldn't appreciate is the very loud intercom. At 9.45, 10.00 and 10.15 AM they call people on the intercom to check-out on time! (like they do at flight terminals, really annoying) Seriously, just charge people who don't check-out at 10 AM extra and leave the rest of us alone!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jocine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    166
    80
    24
    11
See reviews for
15
50
225
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

As the title says.

The location is great being right in front of free tram station and also pretty close to the train station. Very clean, secure (even quite annoying how many times you need to slot the card) and everything. Staffs are very nice, too.

They also store storage for only $2 which is a lot nicer than coin locker.

The only thing I didn't like so much is that you only have access to the floore where you stay and each floor has its own lounge and kitchen which are quite small. Also not very ideal to socialize with others for solo travellers.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisakimchee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

i stayed in a 3-female dorm, got the single bed from the 2nd night, yays!! clean sheets and room. room is in a corner, so its pretty quiet. however, not much opportunity for socialising except a small kitchen and lounge room. loves the combined toilet + shower room though!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank preppy_chic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

excellent catering service as well as a good self-catering kitchen. nice quiet part of town

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

I've never been in a hostel. As a solo female traveler in her 30s I worried it was going to be a party atmosphere. I stayed for 6 nights (first for 2 nights and then for 4 nights) and that was not the case. I had 4 sets of roommates in that time and all of them were responsible quiet young adults. I stayed in the 3 female dorm room. Nothing fancy, but it's what I needed. I felt safe and were never concerned about my safety. There are good size lockers (bring your own locks) in each room. The wi-fi works well for internet. The bathrooms are a great size and always clean. The kitchens are small and so are the TV/communal rooms, but I didn't really want to hang out in those. The location is AWESOME. You aren't going to find a better bargain in town.

Room Tip: The 3 person rooms are at the end of the hallway (at least the female ones are) so you get less traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevileyeDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#34 of 160 in Melbourne
182 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#109 of 160 in Melbourne
379 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#60 of 160 in Melbourne
3,606 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 142 in Melbourne
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Central YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Central YHA

Property: Melbourne Central YHA
Address: 562 Flinders St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 142 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Melbourne Central YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the centre of the action and explore vibrant Melbourne with Melbourne Central YHA. Located in the heart of the city our friendly hostel never closes with 24 hour reception and our staff are always ready to answer your questions and help you make the most of your trip. Now with a terrific ground floor communal area opened in late 2014, our YHA offers modern facilities as well as an amazing rooftop complete with BBQ for you to enjoy the city views and meet new friends. On the ground floor and decked out in Melbourne's urban cool style, you'll find our 24 hour reception, tour desk, lounge, brand new self catering kitchen, TV room and Free Hot Spot (Wifi Plus also available for purchase). Upstairs, choose from a range of rooms including 3, 4 and 6 multi-share, twin/double rooms with optional ensuite and exclusive rooftop private rooms. All rooms have lift access and heated with included bed linen and each bed has individual reading lights. There's always plenty to do in Australia's sport and events capital! Melbourne Central YHA is only a short walk to Melbourne's main attractions including Federation Square, ACMI, Yarra River, Bourke St Mall, Eureka Skydeck, Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre, Docklands, Crown Casino, Etihad Stadium, National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne Aquarium and so much more. The free City Circle Tram and the $5 Melbourne Tourist Shuttle stops directly out the front of the hostel and will take you to all the iconic Melbourne sites like the MCG, the Shrine of Remembrance and Rod Laver Arena. Book a room at Melbourne Central YHA and experience Melbourne for yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Melbourne Central YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Central Yha Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing