We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable, well located apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
Sun-filled inner-city haven with spectacular leafy water views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sun-filled inner-city haven with spectacular leafy water views
Italian leather lounge, Belgian rugs, Tasmanian Oak, super fast WiFi    Walk to all of Hobart's central attractions, beaches & the MONA ferry
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Sun-filled inner-city haven with spectacular leafy water views
Italian leather lounge, Belgian rugs, Tasmanian Oak, super fast WiFi
Walk to all of Hobart's central attractions, beaches & the MONA ferry
Couple's Review in our guestbook
Beautiful designer highlights throughout
Designer kitchen, SMEG oven, cooktop, fully supplied, and thermostat controlled centralised heating.
Recent review from a family of 4, in our guestbook
Designer touches everywhere
Beautiful designer highlights throughout
Spacious dining area and kitchen with gas heating for the whole apartment.
Review: Great for romance. Platypus in stream just around the corner!
Spectacular bathroom with walk-in rain-head shower
Virtual ensuite - the bathroom door is one step outside the main bedroom door.
Thermostatically controlled hot water is safe and convenient ... no more fiddling with taps
Walk-in shower, huon pine vanity ... theatrical quality make-up mirror
Guestbook review: Great for 3 single friends travelling together!
Main bedroom is light and airy with large sliding mirror wardrobes
Queen-sized bed with hotel quality bedding. Blockout curtains
Light-filled and leafy outlook with 2 balconies.
What you will wake up to.
Guestbook Review: Great for familes.
Room for up to three in the double bunk bed in the smaller bedroom.
Top bunk with a view.
Dedicated undercover car park provided for your exclusive use.
Review Jan 2016
Quality Linen, self-select coloured lighting; Romantic!
A few good books to read ...or comments in our guest book.
Review from a family of four
Leafy, private outlook from main bed
Sheltered balcony (1 of 2) to catch the morning sun. Good for smokers.
Review from 4 Friends staying at The Den  together
Top-quality body wash, shampoo and conditioners supplied.
Welcome to The Den!
Review from a family of three: Late Dec 2016
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Hobart, Greater Hobart, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
138Julie
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable, well located apartment”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We enjoyed staying at the Den. It is well located, both for the city and the waterfront and there is a view of the water from the living room. It's very comfortable and Rob (the owner) provides excellent information about the local area. We did have problems with the wifi connection frequently dropping out when we were using our (Apple) devices. Rob put a lot of effort into trying to remedy it, but the cause was not clear.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2017
Thank you so much Julie - so glad you enjoyed your stay. No subsequent problems with the WiFi for any other devices so far, including Apple iPhones or iPads, so I strongly expect it must have been just the particular combination of your devices, the software on them, their configuration, the particular and unavoidable congestion of wifi signals in a small apartment block such as ours and the particular router we use. As an IT professional of 25 years experience, I think that Apple does not rigorously check their devices with non-Apple products. Unfortunately, the Apple routers are not optimal for Android phones! If this happens again for anyone, I will swap the router out for one of the ones I have elsewhere. I would have done this for you but we only found out about the problem on the last night of your stay.

Warm Regards,
Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Mar 2017
Lovely to meet you and Kaz, Hideki. Worth noting that there is a laundry within 5 minutes easy walk or 2 minutes drive where you can do a load for around $3 or they will do it for you and fold your clothes. They also do dry cleaning.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
debham25
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
“Home away from home.”
Reviewed 10 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Exceptional property with nothing lacking. Rob was great with helpful advise regarding the accommodation and local area. The location was great as a base for our stay in Hobart and the view was lovely. Thanks Rob for the cheese and wine awaiting us on arrival. We had a very comfortable stay at "The Den" and would definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the view.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2016
Thank you so much and we look forward to hosting you again in beautiful Hobart.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reginaher...
Capalaba, Australia
2 reviews
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

What a great place!

We stayed for 4 nights at “The Den” and we could not have picked a better place. The location is just perfect. A five minute walk takes you to Sandy Bay Village with all the shops and a variety of restaurants to choose from and even a walk to Salamanca Markets and Battery Point is quite manageable.

The apartment was very comfortable, cosy, warm, clean and very well equipped and Robert and Beng made us feel so welcomed. Not only found we all the necessary instructions on arrival but also very useful tips and the best of all a bottle of champagne with cheese and crackers. How wonderful is that.

It was such a pleasure to deal with Robert and Beng and I highly recommend “The Den” as a place to stay when visiting Hobart. I certainly will should I visit Hobart again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View, location, cleanliness just really everything.
Liked least: The fan in the bathroom which turned on as soon as your big toe stepped over the threshold.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2016
Thank you Regina, we take great pleasure in helping to make sure our guests have the best possible holiday in beautiful Tasmania. You made that a particularly easy task, with great communication and your lovely personality. We hope to see you back again! Warmest Regards, Rob and Beng
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamer64...
1 review
“Great location, warm and cosy and very clean, excellent base to explore Hobart and surrounding areas and wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This apartment was excellent for us as a family. The location was great - easy to get in and out of Hobart to explore surrounding areas. With the heating and electric blankets it was wonderful to come back after a day of exploring to a warm apartment. Kitchen was really well equipped to have the option of preparing own meals and snacks to take with you on a days exploring trip. Rob was fantastic in explaining how everything in the apartment worked and with his knowledge of the area and recommendations on places to visit. Would recommend to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and warmth
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2016
Thank you so much Judi for being such an easy and pleasant guest -. And for the review - Our first via TripAdvisor. We have 40 5-star reviews in other places, and look forward to adding to those via the Tripadvisor family of sites. We hope to see you back again at The Den!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing