We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a find. everything you want within easy...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Jane Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hobart, Greater Hobart, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Martin F
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a find. everything you want within easy walking distance”
Reviewed 9 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Jane cottage is a lovely place to stay in Hobart. It's central location means its only a short (30 min) walk into the heart of Hobart but better still it is only 100 metres from Elizabeth Street which is Hobart's answer to Melbourne's Lygon street. The Hill Street IGA has a magnificent gourmet deli and we were able to provision for the little bit of cooking and provisions we required. The cottage has a warm living room stocked with books and games etc and the one bedroom has an extremely comfortable bed. The State theatre is just up the road in Elizabeth St. and it was a joy to walk to a restaurant then to the theatre and then back to our cosy cottage. Jane Cottage you've won us. We WILL BE BACK.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vandrhen
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, great location”
Reviewed 15 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We spent 4 nights at Jane Cottage and would happily have stayed longer. Fantastic location just around the corner from the shops and restaurants on Elizabeth St, North Hobart. Built in 1855 this lovely stone cottage is a good home base for exploring Hobart. You can walk into town in about 20 minutes and to Salamanca in 25 mins. The owners provide a resident parking sticker so no problems leaving the car outside the cottage. There is a pretty courtyard garden and a very well equipped kitchen. Comfy bed, good selection of books and DVDs, coffee, tea, fruit and chocolates, and Aesop toiletries - all good :-) I only have a couple of 'negative' comments - the shower is very small. If you are tall and/or generously proportioned you may find it a squeeze! And we had a bit of a hunt to find a supermarket so a little local 'guide' would have been helpful. All up, good value - and they were installing the NBN while we were there so maybe free wifi next time? I hope you enjoy this little taste of Hobart's history as much as we did.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prue P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply beautiful”
Reviewed 4 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014
4
people found this review helpful

My stay in the small town of Hobart was lovely. The cottage was very well presented and very clean. I loved it's location in North Hobart, so close to restaurants, shops and the cinema. Hovart has so many great things to do and it was so handy having the parking permit (supplied by the cottage) for the rental car! We visited Bruny island one day and Port Arthur the next. Jane Cottages backyard was the perfect chill out zone! I can't wait to come and stay again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guttervie...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Seriously legit cottage”
Reviewed 4 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Jane Cottage is excellent!

It is right in the heart of vibrant North Hobart and provides the perfect base for a TRUE Hobart experience.

The facilities are wonderful but not as wonderful as the gracious host Kaye who even took us out for coffee!

This is a true treat of a holiday rental and we will be back (we are from Auckland NZ) at the same time next year to renew our wedding vowels!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing