We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Apartment- Disappointing Bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart
Ranked #28 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Melbourne Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous Apartment- Disappointing Bed”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Room 106- Huge! Brilliant view over the water. Yes there was a car park out front (which did not concern me at all) but then a fantastic water view- ocean liner in full view to complete the picture. Balcony, lounge, kitchen, deep spa bath and a lot of space. This apartment was a very welcome surprise and in a brilliant position. Far quieter than Somerset on the Pier. Check-in at Somerset on the Pier was no problem at all. Air-con took 24 hours to marginally cool the apartment. It was an exceptionally hot day in Hobart-management said they would look in to this problem. Bathroom amenities minimal, but this is an apartment after all. The only reason I may not book again is the bed- 2 king singles pushed/strapped together that felt like concrete. With new beds (and pillows) I would stay here every time.

Room Tip: This is a corner suite south side of building with view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpaSeeker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    78
    38
    19
    6
See reviews for
62
60
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed here for two nights. This is not the best hotel we've stayed at, yet it isn't the worst. The location is the best aspect of Somerset on Salamanca. You,re literally at the doorstep of Salamanca place. Many reviews are saying that this hotel is expensive for what you get, but you need to take into account that it's in prime location and in one of the nicest areas in Hobart. that's what you pay for.

The rooms are average - it's clean and comfortable but it looks outdated and tired. even though there are tvs in every bedroom and in the living rooms, they're old and boxy and not great quality.

The location. Central to everything, there are plenty of restaurants/cafes to choose from so you are spoilt for choice. On our first night we dined at Blue Eye which is loacated directly underneath the hotel. We had a delicous 2 course meal here and enjoyed every mouthful. on our second night we dined at the Drunken Admiral and aslo enjoyed yummy seafod dishes. We went to the market on Saturday morning and then headed to Princes Park for lunch. We also went for a walk through Battery Point which is just lovely. In the arvo we walked into the city for some shopping.

In conclusion, if you want to stay in the heart of Salamanca and be central to dining shopping and attractions then this is a good hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidaymamaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somersetonthepier, General Manager at Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback,

We were glad to read that you found Somerset on Salamanca clean and comfortable and enjoyed the location.

We are happy to advise that we are continually upgrading our apartments and will be looking at replacing our living room televisions with flat screens and also replacing all the beds throughout the property.

Again we thank you for your feedback.

Your sincerely.
Justin Geddes
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We chose this place over Somerset on the Pier after reading reviews about the potential noise we might experience at night. However, I think it would have been better than what we got at this place. No issues with checking in at a separate location and having to park and bring our own bags in (as this was already mentioned upon booking) but for the price we were paying, this was totally not up to standard. The cost was similar to better hotels closer to the city.

The 2-bedroom apartment was looking really old and tired and the rooms were small with minimal walking space between the bed and walls. Some things were not working in the toilet and the balcony was really dirty and dusty. They also said we'd be able to see the pier from the room and what we got was a tiny speck in the distance between some buildings that were blocking the view from the apartment. The beds were also horrendously bad as they were sunken in the middle and you could feel the springs when you lied down on it. Pillows were not comfortable either. Camping would have been more comfortable.

The location is good for the salamanca market and is close to the pier but Hobart is so small anyway. Wouldn't hurt to get a better hotel and just travel a bit further to get where you need to.

Room Tip: Don't go there! Full stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reggiemania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somersetonthepier, General Manager at Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback.

We were sorry to read that you found our apartment old and tired and we do apologies for this. We generally find that guests find our apartments quite spacious and we are happy to advise that we will be looking at upgrading televisions and bedding this year as well as some painting as part of our regular refurbishment program.

Somerset on Salamanca typically does not provide water views as the property is set back from the water, however, due to the removal of the building in front of Somerset on Salamanca our Studio Executive and Two Bedroom Executive apartments have stunning views over the Hobart waterfront. A new building is scheduled for construction so our guests are really enjoying the water views whilst we have them.

Again we thank you for your feedback.

Yours sincerely
Justin Geddes
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

This is a great place in a fantastic location in Hobart Tasmania. You are right on the door step of Salamanca where you have access to wonderful eateries, a Tasmanian icon in the Salamanca Saturday market and easy access to the whole harbor precinct of Hobart. We stayed in a two bedroom self contained apartment which was very spacious with a great view of the water from our balcony. The only slight downside is that you check in at the sister motel on the pier but the staff are absolutely excellent and very helpful. Truly a great place to stay whether as a couple or a family or with friends..

Room Tip: See if you can upgrade to a harbor view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndajj61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We stayed at this property a number of times in the past. This time we had problems with booking the accommodation - had to be transferred to the Global booking office, which is in Manila. People there don't have a clue what they are talking about when it comes to the Salamanca property, which makes booking difficult.
When we finally arrived at the property, we noticed to our disappointment the changes:
The place is looking tired, hasn't had a refurbishment for a long time. The bathroom amenities have disappeared, soap replaced with liquid soap dispensers the likes of public toilets, no shampoo, conditioner or anything else at all. The TV is outdated, one of those heavy old fashioned ones, sitting on a small table - with an arm chair in front of it, so if you want to watch TV, you need to re-arrange the furniture first.No free WiFi, such as every good hotel in this price bracket is expected to have, very expensive charges. Then comes the 1% charge for credit card use - how senseless is that, when they could incorporate the charge into the price, which is already high enough. It is pure greed and it doesn't leave a good taste in one's mouth.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river, the other side is too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.3 km away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
0.4 km away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#5 of 48 in Hobart
575 reviews
0.4 km away
Quest Waterfront
Quest Waterfront
#17 of 48 in Hobart
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
522 reviews
0.1 km away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#9 of 48 in Hobart
392 reviews
0.4 km away
Customs House Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart

Property: Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart
Address: 8 Salamanca Place, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic Salamanca Place, home to the famous Salamanca Market and within Hobart’s magnificent and exciting waterfront, Somerset on Salamanca is your ideal residence for comfort and convenience. Wander around the city only moments away and take in the classic architecture of Hobart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Somerset on Salamanca, Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset On Salamanca, Hobart Hotel Hobart
Somerset On Salamanca, Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing