We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Kestrel Downs will be one of the highlights of...”
other travellers have booked this property
Drift away ...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Drift away ...
Kestrel Downs - awe inspiring northern view from our property across Pelican Lagoon
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Drift away ...
Kestrel Downs - awe inspiring northern view from our property across Pelican Lagoon
Spacious open plan living
Dine to water views
Relax in comfort
Harmony
Sparkling new kitchen
Master bedroom
2-way bathroom
Kestrel Downs - stunning bird's eye view to the Southern Ocean
Flying fish welcome
Relax on the verandah
Shy visitors at our bird bath
Northern aspect
Verandah view - glorious sunrise over Pelican Lagoon
A tranquil spot
Feathered friends at our bird bath
Stonework in local limestone
Spring time at Kestrel downs
Spring time at Kestrel Downs
Walk across Kestrel Downs to climb the towering dune of Prospect Hill
Our local beach - beautiful Pennington Bay
Evening at Pennington Bay
Early morning at Pennington Bay
Morning light, Pennington Bay
Walk quietly - endangered Hooded Plovers at Pennington Bay
Residents of our local habitat, Pelican Lagoon
Black Swans at Pelican Lagoon - our local habitat
Calm waters of nearby Island Beach
Wander the serene Cannery Walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Kangaroo Island, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Pioneer70...
1 review
“Kestrel Downs will be one of the highlights of our trip to South Australia”
Reviewed 9 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Only 22 km from the ferry Kestrel Downs is located on a small hill where you have a priviledge overview of Pelican Lagoon while watching many birds and curious kangaroos! Sleeping was quite comfortable and calm. Kestrel Downs has clean and spacious rooms with everything you need to feel like at home. Sally gave us an interesting and helpful list of her favourite things to discover on Kangaroo Island. She was fantastic at providing all necessary informations for an interesting and comfortable stay. We would definitely recommend Kestrel Downs to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandTour...
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 6 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We have used this accommodation on a number of occasions over a number of years and love its peace and tranquility. The house is always clean and ready and through the various seasons there is always something to enjoy like a cosy fire in winter or a warm night sitting on the verandah watching the changing light and the animals moving around. There is plenty on offer around the island but it is also a wonderful relaxing home to enjoy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review Kestrel Downs.We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our property. We always feel very honoured when our guests return on a regular basis. It's such a compliment. Our goal is to provide our guests with a special experience, which includes quality accommodation offering comfort and relaxation in a unique setting. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol C
1 review
“Tranquil, delightful, great value.”
Reviewed 11 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We just loved this place. Three nights was not enough. Beautiful views, comfort and attention to detail put it amongst the best places we have stayed.
We walked nearby Pennington Bay, ate delicious seaford at American River and explored the island by day. At night we enjoyed watching the wild life at the bird bath while sipping wine on the veranda and used the excellent cooking facilities to prepare our evening meal. Comfy beds and wonderful stars topped off a great stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Dec 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review Kestrel Downs. It's great to hear that you really enjoyed your stay. We feel very privileged to have wildlife all around us and there's no better vantage point than the verandah to watch their activities.We hope you might return again one day. Always welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendourre...
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Secludes spot with great views, watch the sunrise over the water.”
Reviewed 24 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I can readily recommend Kestrel Downs as one of the nicest places we have stayed. We visited Kangaroo Island with 4 friends from Thailand. Even though we had seen photos on the Web we were still surprised by the beautiful view and the feeling of isolation and seclusion. This was a new and special experience for our friends. They also loved waking up to a beautiful sunrise over the water and being able to spot a small kangaroo near the house early one morning. There were also wallabies along the driveway and a variety of birdlife.

The house itself is spacious with a well equipped kitchen, very comfortable and tastefully decorated. It would have been very pleasant to have spent all our time there if we hadn’t wanted our friends to see the many attractions that Kangaroo Island has to offer.

Sally was most helpful giving us good advice about the Island’s attractions. It was very useful to know that we should bring much of our food as there aren’t shops nearby and in any case we found it easier to eat in most evenings rather than driving after dark.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Kestrel Downs. We're thrilled to hear how much you and your friends enjoyed your stay at our holiday accommodation. It is a pleasure to be able to share our peaceful retreat and its wildlife and water views, with our Australian and overseas guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meridien
seaford
1 review
“SUPERB PROPERTY & VIEWS”
Reviewed 6 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Excellent accommodation, well equipped, ocean views, peaceful and best side of the island. Close to some beautiful, remote beaches.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Kestrel Downs. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at our property. Our goal is to provide quality accommodation in a unique setting from which our guests can explore our beautiful island. Thank you for staying with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing