We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coober Pedy all in one place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

What a great place to stay. Beds firm. Showers hot. Rooms lovely. Slept underground and didn't wake up till after 8am. A perfect start to our holiday. Great shop and bar in behind the Reception and interesting billiards room and underground house. All in the main street and central to everything. Well worth staying here.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2017

I stayed for two nights in a dorm room. I called in some days before I was due to arrive and asked for the promised pick-up at the bus terminal at 5:15 AM. The lady confirmed it. On the day nobody came. The hostel is only 500m away but as a single woman I didn’t want to take the risk. Also a local woman advised me not to be on the street at night. I ended up waiting in a gas station for two hours until sunrise to walk to the accommodation. During that time the hostel owners never picked up the phone. When I arrived and asked about this the woman said it was her colleague’s fault. She explained that he had been drinking too much the night before and he would sometimes make it to an early morning pick-up and on other days he chooses to sleep in. When I announced I was leaving at 5:30 AM on the evening before my check-out the lady was quick to let me now that I should not even ask for a transfer because again her colleague would most likely choose to sleep in anyway.
Now to the accommodation itself. I booked a dorm room. Its basically just a niche in a long underground corridor separated with a shower curtain. Any dorm guest and many motel guests enter through the same entrance so there's lots and lots of people who can steal your stuff. Even worse when I arrived at ca 7:30 AM the keypad lock to the corridor was open for the general public. The next day I left at ca 8:45 AM and again the lock was inactive. So from a very early time in the morning there is no protection. If you think there's at least a secure room to leave your luggage in during the day you're wrong. The lugguage room is by the reception and it is only seperated by a curtain. The reception is of course open for the general public as well and the two employees are all over the property and not there to guard your stuff.
Lastly the internet practically doesn’t work at all. The hostel owner tried to show me where the router is and where the connection is supposed to be the best but it still hardly worked at all.
In total my stay was a scary experience since there is a constant lack of security for yourself or your luggage.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micnababoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

You get what you pay for. Evelyne at reception was a great start to our one night stay underground at Radekas. Our ensuite room was small by motel standards but was clean and well appointed and the early morning showers were wonderful. Being underground, the overnight temperature was moderate, and above ground the 1 degree felt more like 15 degrees in our suite. Unfortunately though, the reason for the early showers and departure were that the bed was poor, sloping downwards into the middle - very uncomfortable, and the noise reverberating around the passage ways and into our room from other clients was very loud. Noise insulation through the door was non existent and some inconsiderate guests made sleeping very difficult. Nevertheless, at least we can say we've had an underground experience. Next time, we will investigate a more upmarket underground experience.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room if you like to sleep well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank randjuhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

This place was great following a freezing night in Tennant Creek. The warmth provided from staying underground was amazing and the showers and bathroom were great. The hallway did echo and caused some noise but it did not keep me up at night.

The hotel is in the city centre and close to everything and when checking in I was provided with a map and information on what would be open as I arrived in the dark after 6pm so that was helpful. A great one night stop over.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

Its run by a little french lady Evyline, who also runs her own mine, great tips, advice and a very pleasant attitude, surprisingly in such a harsh environment. Decent accommodation, budget and families, worth stopping in, she gives great directions when most things appear confusing. the shellis good for food but pricy, still good food though
We stopped in there on our way to odnadatta,and returned to see her again before leaving for Adelaide.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.2 km away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
252 reviews
1.1 km away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
200 reviews
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
274 reviews
1.9 km away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
373 reviews
1 km away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn

Address: 1 Oliver St, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Coober Pedy
Price Range: €49 - €61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radeka Downunder Underground Motel and Backpacker Inn is located in the centre of Coober Pedy, on the town's main street.The Underground accommodation is located between the BP and Mobil service stations and has a red digital time/temperature display above the motel/hostel entrance."Live Like a Local" by experiencing living 3.5m or 6.5m underground at Radeka Downunder. "Warm in Winter, Cool in Summer".3 choices of accommodation are available; 3.5 metres underground motel rooms with private en suite, 6.5 metres underground budget rooms and open dorms with shared bathroom and toilet facilities or air-conditioned above ground motel rooms with private en suite.Radeka Downunder Underground Motel and Backpacker Inn offers a courtesy bus pick up and drop off at the local bus station for Greyhound passengers and local airport for Regional Express passengers and travelling pilots.Free secure on-site parking is available, and motor bikes and push bikes can be placed under cover. Communal Facilities Include: a fully equipped Kitchen, TV/Dining Room, coin operated Washing Machine & Dryer, Residential Bar & Souvenir/Gift Shop. Several restaurants are two to five minutes' walk away.Radeka Downunder Underground Motel and Backpacker Inn is suitable for any age group, nationality, families, couples, singles, friends travelling together, contractors and student groups.Run as a family business, Radeka Downunder Underground Motel and Backpacker Inn offers half day tours of Coober Pedy, the opal fields and the scenic Breakaways.ALL tours are available morning and afternoon depending on public demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing