We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great one night stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2017

This place was great following a freezing night in Tennant Creek. The warmth provided from staying underground was amazing and the showers and bathroom were great. The hallway did echo and caused some noise but it did not keep me up at night.

The hotel is in the city centre and close to everything and when checking in I was provided with a map and information on what would be open as I arrived in the dark after 6pm so that was helpful. A great one night stop over.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2017

Its run by a little french lady Evyline, who also runs her own mine, great tips, advice and a very pleasant attitude, surprisingly in such a harsh environment. Decent accommodation, budget and families, worth stopping in, she gives great directions when most things appear confusing. the shellis good for food but pricy, still good food though
We stopped in there on our way to odnadatta,and returned to see her again before leaving for Adelaide.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

I decided to make a stopover in Coober Pedy on my way from Adelaide to Alice Springs.
That was the right decision!

Coober Pedy is a unique place!
Most of the population live under ground and you don't see so much if you walk through the town. That is the reason why it might be scared to walk through the city.

The hostel is very nice.
It offers rooms under and over ground.
I stayed in a room over ground. But as I arrived very early, I had the possibility to wait in a room under ground until my room was ready. So I had both! My room big, clean and even had a TV.
I preferred the room under ground. It was less comfortable, but colder, you don't need any air conditioning and you can experience something special.

The hostel offers a courtesy transfer from the Greyhound bus stop. Although the bus stop isn't far away, it's easier if you travel with suitcase.
Moreover there is a souvenir shop in next to the reception.

The staff is friendly and helpful.
I can recommend this hostel!

Room Tip: A room under ground
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrina_Roesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

First time staying underground. An interesting experience. The reception was welcoming and very helpful. Room felt old, but was clean. No reception in room (you are underground) but just bear that in mind.

Room Tip: Remember you won't have internet underground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Breht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

We were looking forward to staying here, having stayed in the excellent underground motel in White Cliffs a few years ago. Although I had booked previously and the hotel had alll my details, including home address, we were greeted by a man who lectured us like school children and insisted that we fill out his form, showing both our names, country of origin and the last place we stayed. I felt this was an unnecessary invasion of our privacy. The facilities were ok but the bed was so hard we brought our sleeping bag in to soften it. The soap holder in the shower was broken and had just had some tape stuck to it. There was only one light in the room, a bright fluorescent tube. For $125 a night I expected something a little nicer.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Faye G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.2 km away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
255 reviews
1.1 km away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
201 reviews
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
277 reviews
1.9 km away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
373 reviews
1 km away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn

Address: 1 Oliver St, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Coober Pedy
Price Range: €50 - €62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radeka Downunder Underground Motel and Backpacker Inn is located in the centre of Coober Pedy, on the town's main street.The Underground accommodation is located between the BP and Mobil service stations and has a red digital time/temperature display above the motel/hostel entrance."Live Like a Local" by experiencing living 3.5m or 6.5m underground at Radeka Downunder. "Warm in Winter, Cool in Summer".3 choices of accommodation are available; 3.5 metres underground motel rooms with private en suite, 6.5 metres underground budget rooms and open dorms with shared bathroom and toilet facilities or air-conditioned above ground motel rooms with private en suite.Radeka Downunder Underground Motel and Backpacker Inn offers a courtesy bus pick up and drop off at the local bus station for Greyhound passengers and local airport for Regional Express passengers and travelling pilots.Free secure on-site parking is available, and motor bikes and push bikes can be placed under cover. Communal Facilities Include: a fully equipped Kitchen, TV/Dining Room, coin operated Washing Machine & Dryer, Residential Bar & Souvenir/Gift Shop. Several restaurants are two to five minutes' walk away.Radeka Downunder Underground Motel and Backpacker Inn is suitable for any age group, nationality, families, couples, singles, friends travelling together, contractors and student groups.Run as a family business, Radeka Downunder Underground Motel and Backpacker Inn offers half day tours of Coober Pedy, the opal fields and the scenic Breakaways.ALL tours are available morning and afternoon depending on public demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing