We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$154
US$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Desert Cave Hotel(Coober Pedy)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Desert View Apartments(Coober Pedy)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel(Coober Pedy)(Great Value!)
US$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Underground Bed & Breakfast(Coober Pedy)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$108
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Oasis Coober Pedy Tourist Park(Coober Pedy)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mud Hut Motel(Coober Pedy)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$104
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Underground Motel(Coober Pedy)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Down to Erth B &B(Coober Pedy)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
81
53
30
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
53
30
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouvenir shopbed dormshort staystaying undergroundground levelunderground motellight sleeperescape the heatalice springsother guestsunderground experiencecool placestayed for one nightan overnight staycentre of towna great place to staybucket list
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2017

First time staying underground. An interesting experience. The reception was welcoming and very helpful. Room felt old, but was clean. No reception in room (you are underground) but just bear that in mind.

Room Tip: Remember you won't have internet underground.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Breht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

We were looking forward to staying here, having stayed in the excellent underground motel in White Cliffs a few years ago. Although I had booked previously and the hotel had alll my details, including home address, we were greeted by a man who lectured us like school children and insisted that we fill out his form, showing both our names, country of origin and the last place we stayed. I felt this was an unnecessary invasion of our privacy. The facilities were ok but the bed was so hard we brought our sleeping bag in to soften it. The soap holder in the shower was broken and had just had some tape stuck to it. There was only one light in the room, a bright fluorescent tube. For $125 a night I expected something a little nicer.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Faye G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

We booked this motel for 2 nights as the reviews sounded good. How wrong could I be, the other reviewers must have been in another room than ours. We had 2 sets of bunk beds & a double bed. A cupboard that allowed for short hanging items, certainly not adult clothes. A table & 2 chairs,there were 3 of us & bedding for 6 so one of our party went and got another chair herself. The most appalling was the bathroom, you couldn't open the door properly as the big toilet tissue dispenser was in the way, to sit on the toilet was tricky as the pan was too close to the cupboard so it had to be a quick visit . The floor tiles were very slippery when wet so we got extra towels from the office to cover the floor. One of our party made "friends" with the owner and things were a little better like coffee, tea, sugar etc. We were out till late shopping & exploring and on our return the room it was as we'd left it, it had not been serviced. They were kind enough to leave a bag of towels at the door for us.
The kitchen facilities were good so a home cooked meal was made, it was clean & tidy with adequate equipment. We wouldn't stay there again, it took the shine off of a great town.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank mikenuske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

Cool place for a night or two and really helpful staff.
We only stayed for one night, but underground rooms were pretty cool. We stayed in the 21 bed dorm called the "dungeon" the only negative I can see about the dorms is that they don't have doors and it is all very open. Even the 4 bed dorms only have a curtain to seperate them from the corridor.
The facilities were very clean here and the kitchen had everything we needed (including an oven which is a rare at a hostel!)

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank NLouise19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

I love the place. The depth of the hostel bunks, the bathrooms, the bar, pool table, kitchen and TV lounge. Planned on one day and stayed two. The staff is great and helpful. Make sure you see the free sites and feed the kangaroos.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews