We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic clean accommodation - but great to be Underground!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2017

Used to be a regular at Radeka's 30 years ago - and not much has changed - it's basic accommodation - either in shared backpacker rooms or single "motel" type rooms.
Being 30 years older, we chose the "motel" room - it was a newer one so opened to carpark so had one brick wall so sort of lost some of the "underground" experience but still cool and dark.
It was clean and well equipped and service was friendly and not a crazy price and centrally located in the middle of town
Yep - I would stay again

Room Tip: go for a "fully underground" room - much quieter than the ones facing the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KimBarossaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2017

I am traveling around Australia for 2 months and came to Coober Pedy.
Seeking a "Kool" place to stay for the night; I selected Radeka Downunder
Motel.....I am from the US so wanted my own toilet, shower, and connecting
Bedroom......they offered all of the above at a reasonable rate. Clean, comfortable,
and "KOOL".....especially when it was 40C outside that day. A truly NEW experience
for this Floridian......The staff was VERY helpful and answered all related questions.

Room Tip: The room I selected did not have A/C, a fan was provided in the room. It was very comfortable and sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Albert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017

While I only had a short stay, It was very pleasant, the accomodation was very clean, cool and quiet. The night manager was very helpful and accomodating. Lots of information about the area to read. Because you sleep underground there is no interruption from people talking on their phones and you get the best sleep. Only sorry I couldn't stay longer.

Room Tip: I preferred the experience of sleeping underground but there are above ground rooms also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JulesandPauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

On our recent trip to Adelaide we drove into CP late at night and fortunately Radeka's was open and able to accommodate us and our daughter, CP was heavily booked around this time. The accommodation was very clean and comfortable and even though it was late the staff couldn't do enough to assist us. We loved the underground experience. Thanks!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank elisedungey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

The owner is friendly n staffs are easy going. Lovely people.
The place is clean and special, got souvenir shop inside the place.
Stayed in the dorm room for one night and my friend stayed in the motel room.
We're both happy with the place,
it's really hot outside but the dorm room was cool n quite.
the price is good and got a really nice sleep.
the place is huge and you can just keep walk down the place. feels like in the movie.
good for backpackers n groups too.
Good value
only 5 mins walk to greyhound bus terminal and everything.
Will recommended it.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kyielee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
0.2 km away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
254 reviews
1.1 km away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
201 reviews
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
277 reviews
1.9 km away
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Underground Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Coober Pedy
373 reviews
1 km away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn

Address: 1 Oliver St, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Coober Pedy
Price Range: €49 - €61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radeka Downunder Underground Motel and Backpacker Inn is located in the centre of Coober Pedy, on the town's main street.The Underground accommodation is located between the BP and Mobil service stations and has a red digital time/temperature display above the motel/hostel entrance."Live Like a Local" by experiencing living 3.5m or 6.5m underground at Radeka Downunder. "Warm in Winter, Cool in Summer".3 choices of accommodation are available; 3.5 metres underground motel rooms with private en suite, 6.5 metres underground budget rooms and open dorms with shared bathroom and toilet facilities or air-conditioned above ground motel rooms with private en suite.Radeka Downunder Underground Motel and Backpacker Inn offers a courtesy bus pick up and drop off at the local bus station for Greyhound passengers and local airport for Regional Express passengers and travelling pilots.Free secure on-site parking is available, and motor bikes and push bikes can be placed under cover. Communal Facilities Include: a fully equipped Kitchen, TV/Dining Room, coin operated Washing Machine & Dryer, Residential Bar & Souvenir/Gift Shop. Several restaurants are two to five minutes' walk away.Radeka Downunder Underground Motel and Backpacker Inn is suitable for any age group, nationality, families, couples, singles, friends travelling together, contractors and student groups.Run as a family business, Radeka Downunder Underground Motel and Backpacker Inn offers half day tours of Coober Pedy, the opal fields and the scenic Breakaways.ALL tours are available morning and afternoon depending on public demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing