We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
138
42
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
42
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunderground experiencean amazing experiencenooks and cranniesstaying undergroundunderground motelcoober pedy experiencebeautiful motelhotel ownerunderground livingfamily owned and runthe main streetchecking outset your alarmno natural lightsolid rockthe wi fiin town
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2018

The experience of living in a cave is good for a short while and this motel has done it well. The rooms are neat and underground and have all you want but the motel is a standard Comfort inn without windows and hence can be dark. A good convenient place to stay and if you are happy underground this is the place.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oldjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

My husband and I recently stayed a WHOLE WEEK in the Comfort Inn Coober Pedy Experience Motel. I'm happy we did.
Easy to find: Many hotels in this unique town are on the main drag. The Comfort Inn Experience is not, it's situated a few hundred metres away, and therefore avoids truck and tourist noise. An easy driveway marks the place where guests can park.
Check in: Debbie and her family will instantly make you welcome. Down to earth and pleasant, check in was quick and easy.
ROOM: Well. What can I say....a stay we will never forget. Underground living at it's best. Clean, warm, (it was winter) but cool in summer too, comfortable beds, lovely fresh linen, and nice sized rooms. We chose a larger (family) room, even though there were only the two of us, as we had a whole week and wanted to stretch out without falling over eachother.
You'll love the solid rock dugout style, with amazing features of opal potch veins in some rooms (Protected by perspex from some uncouth idiots who try to dig stuff out of the walls. Really? Can you believe some morons actually try scraping stuff out of the walls?? Disgusting behaviour)
Every appointment you could need, a tv, a fridge, tons of coffee, tea and sugar, milk and a fridge. A table and 4 chairs, the family room had 4 beds, drawers and a nice sized and very clean bathroom, with PLENTY of towels and bathroom supplies for our comfort.

Since it is underground there are no windows. A fan, if required, is also provided. We found it the perfect temperature through out our stay, despite some very cold days outside. Lights are required to be on, even in the middle of the day, as no light can make its way underground here, so if you're fussy about windows, then look elsewhere. You will be missing out on a wonderful experience though, it's so lovely and dark in the night, you'll sleep like a log. Air is clean and clear being shafted through the ceiling (see the umbrella in the main picture? it protects the room below from falling sand through the shaft.) The walls are solid sandstone, beautifully excavated and really interesting to look at.
The room was beautifully clean, and a pleasure to stay in for the week.

The hotel has a breakfast room, a wonderful Opal Room, a shop where you can purchase a gorgeous souvenir, and (which is home to the most astonishing opals - many of which were found on site as they excavated the hotel rooms!!) and is adjacent to the Revival underground church, another amazing feature of this property. Just go and have a look. It's so interesting and features a patch of opalised shells, in situ, in the church basement's ceiling.. A- MAZING!

We were very lucky to be invited on a personalised tour of the old Mine that was originally the sole occupant of this site. As the hotel is built over and into the mine, we accessed the tunnels through the hotel, and were shown the most amazing labyrinth underneath, and even did some black light fossicking. (With no fortunes found unfortunately!) It was wonderful and cemented the atmosphere of Coober Pedy in our minds.
This hotel is a labour of love, and if you're after an unforgettable experience, staying in a dugout underground room, then I can recommend you let Debbie and her family host yours.

Stayed: July 2018
2  Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

Very clean underground hotel with amazing and wonderful staff. Deb and Melissa go out of their way to welcome you and make you feel comfortable, even offer to pick you up and drop you off at the airport. The staff are kind and friendly.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank StavroAivali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

The hotel is in the old owner parents' opal mine, and well decorated. Our room was comfortable. It is at 15 mn from the center, restaurants and so. Breakfast is available but no restaurant on the premises.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Marie-Claude L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

Totally loved this beautiful motel! It had so much character and the staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome, even show you to your rooms! They encourage you to use their lovely hallways with chairs to spend time with your travelling friends.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Lee-Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews