We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNDERGROUND B&B, COOBER PEDY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Underground Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Coober Pedy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
1 review
“UNDERGROUND B&B, COOBER PEDY”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Big Smoke Melbourne to Coober Pedy--what an impressive contrast! In 45+ yrs of travelling, I've concluded that satisfaction w/accommodation means everything...so I'll start by saying: "Why would anyone visit C.P. without staying underground?! We couldn't have chosen better than Underground B&B -- the whole apt. (as opposed to motel) is pleasing to the senses, as well as having everything imaginable thought out in advance by hosts Ana & Ken. Whatever the temperature above ground, below & within it's consistently comfortable (w/o cold A/C fans) for eating/resting/sleeping. For me and my companion, the 2 kms from town location was perfect for the stillness & feel of being in outback country, the privacy, the opportunity to "noodle" for opals @ on the property, and especially star-gazing! Down-to-earth friendly, go-the-extra-mile hosts, Ana & Ken displayed their knowledgeable long association w/CP & opal mining. Ken took us on his interesting tour which ignited CP's unique past whilst linking it to the present.

Room Tip: There's one room with ensuite, however we stayed in the room with shared bathroom & it posed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leigh f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    15
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
98
159
8
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Who would have thought living underground could be so agreeable!
The house is a cool and refreshing change after the heat of the desert, and is really nicely decorated inside. Our hosts were excellent, and had some very fine opal jewelry for sale, of which we bought a few pairs of resonably priced earrings.
We will be staying there again when next passing that way, and would happily recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We flew into Coober Pedy and were meet by Ana as per the web page said they would. The rooms are just lovely, clean and very welcoming. We had room 1 which has an on suite which is really good and considering your about 7 meters underground it worked really well. Just getting out of bed could be a problem as you have no idea of daylight untill you go outside. Ken and Ana are great hosts and really make you feel more like family than guests. Because we flew in we did not have any transport they lent us the car to get onto town and have a look around. We have travelled to a lot of different countries and have never had sevice like that before. Thank you Ken and Ana.
Ken also does tours and we can recommend going on one with him as he is a great guide. He also has a share in an opal mine and took us to have a look at what they do to find the opals, which is also interesting.
So if you want something different and great hosts then stay with Ken and Ana. Roy & Brenda. New Zealand.

Room Tip: Room 1 has on suite other 2 share
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

This boutique B & B was a real haven. The rooms were spotless and ours was brightly furnished. The hosts had left the motel in the capable hands of friends, Deb and Harry, who made us very welcome and shared their passion for the area with us. Having breakfast outside on the verandah was a perfect beginning to the day, book-ended by the beautiful sunset from the same spot. The hosts suggested and organised tours, which were simply amazing. A trip with Radeka's to the Breakaways and Crocodile Harry's was a real highlight. Fabulous accommodation.This was the highlight of our trip.

Room Tip: We were in room 7. Fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marzipan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

The Underground b&b is a place that I will always remember for all the right reasons. The rooms were spotless and beautifully decorated and every conceivable traveller's need was considered and catered for, and we were very grateful to find chocolates and wine awaiting us upon arriving after a very long drive. Set amongst a beautiful panoramic view of coober pedy, the b&b was a tranquil oasis best appreciated from the spa area in the excellent company of our hosts, Ana and Ken. These two wonderful people went to extraordinary lengths to ensure our stay was comfortable and happy and I will never forget the wonderful hospitality that they showed us. My only regret was that we could not stay longer- simply a wonderful place!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise Flourentzou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
1.6 km away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
2.1 km away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
185 reviews
2.0 km away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
5.2 km away
Venushill B&B
Venushill B&B
#3 of 4 in Coober Pedy
18 reviews
1.7 km away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Underground Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Underground Bed & Breakfast

Property: Underground Bed & Breakfast
Address: Lot 1647 Potch Gly, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Coober Pedy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Underground Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Underground Bed and Breakfast is a five bedroom four bathroom underground home, with its own private entrance. It boasts a lovely undercover parking, barbecue area and spa. Continental breakfast is supplied. The master bedrooms boasts an en-suite while the other two share the main bathroom. There is a Home theatre, television and Internet access. Only 1.5Km from center of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Underground Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing