We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friday night dinner”

Sq Restaurant & Lounge Bar
Ranked #240 of 1,800 Restaurants in Adelaide
Price range: US$10 - US$28
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located downstairs at Mantra Hindmarsh Square, Sq Restaurant offers an intimate and relaxed setting perfect for a quick breakfast, business lunch or quiet dinner.With polished floor boards and rich timber furnishings Sq Restaurant offers a contemporary feel and the burgundy cushioned feature wall adds comfort and style.There is a focus on modern Australian cuisine as well as subtle Asian influences and the Head Chef showcases the beautiful produce for which South Australia is famed.Dishes include duo of duck with pineapple salsa or kangaroo fillet with goats cheese soufflé. For dessert indulge in the unbelievably rich chocolate tasting plate or for something lighter try the coconut panna cotta with kaffir lime syrup.Enjoy a glass of local wine or a fruity cocktail at Sq Bar or on those sunny days dine alfresco style.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Had a fantastic meal tonight at SQ the chicken dish just melted in your mouth and the service was just as good. Would highly recommend the SQ restaurant in the Mantra hotel on Hindmarsh Square will definitely be back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Martin1701e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2018

We had dinner there our first night as we were staying at the Mantra and was already quite late. We found the service and the food very good but maybe a bit pricey. We also found was lacking of healthy options.
We had breakfast there too was great, heaps of choice and good quality food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

Had a business meeting hear with some colleagues. We were having coffees only. Service is abrupt and not customer friendly.

Thank Feng88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

It was hot and thirsty weather after a day at the TDU Cycling, my office is only a stone's throw from the restaurant and we had walk far enough so booked a table.It was a quiet Sunday afternoon and w were pleasantly surprised at the prices in a restaurant attached to a hotel.
The place has a nice comfortable feel and the young lady (Anya) serving us who originated in Armenia was delightful.
The menu although not extensive, has something for everyone and the prices are extremely affordable.
Wife had a Prawn and Octopus salad and said the prawns were excellent, friend's wife and I had the crumbed flat-head, although a little dry, still tasty and the Green mango, and it was excellent. he had the lamb special and said it was also excellent. Plenty of chips in a serve and the bowl of vegies also plentiful.
Plenty of Tapas share dishes.
The service was excellent and friendly and drink choices also very good including a few craft beers.
All in All a nice end to the log hot day and with our entertainment book.

Food - 7.5/10
Drinks - 7/10
Service 8.5/10
Atmosphere - 7/10
Overall - 7.5/10

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rod Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

We went last Saturday night for dinner - it was really quiet with 3 staff working 4 tables of patrons so clearly not busy - and found the service to be terrible and inattentive.
Seated us without interest in taking a drink order.
Ordered an entree and mains - staff asked if we wanted bought out at same time - said no - but meals were all still delivered at same time regardless.
Asked for my meal to be brought when entree finished - but then couldn't get staff attention to bring the meal back.
No hope of getting a second drink.
The menu at the restaurant is not what is advertised on their website either.
Food ok - but with the bad service - it's a miss from me!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KitMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sq Restaurant & Lounge Bar also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 

Been to Sq Restaurant & Lounge Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing