We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central & Reasonably Priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chifley on South Terrace
Ranked #37 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Central & Reasonably Priced”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

The hotel is central but to the southern end of the city. Can walk into main shopping area if the urge comes.
The reception is good, get you in quickly.
For what you are paying for, it is a good value option.
If you are looking for good amenities they have them and the rooms are a decent size.
For the sports minded the park is straight across the street.
Supermarket and bottle shop around the corner in Gilbert Street.
If you are looking for something to eat head towards Pulteney Street where there are a few restaurants to choose from.
Not bad if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mork001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Moork001

Thankyou for providing a review on your recent stay at Chifley on South Terrace. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit.

As well as strolling into the CBD, Rundle Mall & Central Market areas, there is a FREE tram with the nearest stop approximately 500m from the hotel - very convenient and for those with a car this also saves on parking fees.

Gouger Street, which is a walk of about 7 minutes from the hotel, is one of Adelaide's finest dining precincts and we highly recommend a visit if time permits. China Town and the Central Market is also another area worth visiting and is adjacent to Gouger Street.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit.

Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    467
    358
    143
    82
See reviews for
244
432
126
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This property is conveniently located on the edge of the CBD, walking distance from the Mall or take the free tram. Rooms are spacious and well appointed and we had no problems with noise. The pool area is spacious and very welcome in January. Restaurant in the hotel only does breakfast and the bar was shut but there are p[plenty of options near by.

Room Tip: Close to the free tram to the city centre. Plenty of eating options nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank One Chop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear One Chop

Thankyou for providing a revfiew on your recent visit. I am pleased your stay was enjoyable.

We are currently seeking advise on upgrading the bar and restaurant area with the view to re-opening these for dinner and in the evenings in future.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next you stay.

Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Excellent value. Check in and out very fast and friendly. Breakfast a bit basic and staff a bit curt in the breakfast room. But otherwise will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yallourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Yallourn

Thankyou for writing a review and recommendation on your recent stay.

Your comments regarding staff and breakfast options have been passed onto our Food and Beverage team for their improvement. Additional items are also available from the a-la-carte full breakfast options and can be ordered direct with the wait staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next you stay.

Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Asistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Stayed with Chifley for 3 days just before Australia Day. Overall the stay was quite good, especially with the free on-site parking which was really a plus compared to other hotels in Adelaide City.

The only downsides to the room were related to the bathroom facility where the shower head was quite lowly fixed, and that the basin was also quite low. The room appeared to be unused for quite some times.

Overall, it was value for money despite other downsides.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlitzPaladin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear BlitzPaladin

I am pleased you enjoyed your recent stay and have provided a review.

Your comment regarding the shower fixture has been passed to maintenance for their advice on improving/replacing.

Free parking is certainly a major benefit when choosing to stay at our hotel, along with being able to leave your car and take a FREE TRAM into the CBD - so no parking fees incurred there either.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next you stay.

Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millicent, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

What I liked.

parking was on site and you can park in front of the reception which is difficult with other places in Adelaide

The King size bed was comfortable, my wife likes a softer bed and I a harder bed. We consider the bed and sleep the important aspects of the stay.

The AC worked, bit noisy for a couple of minutes but OK.

One of Adelaides best restaurant the Singapore House on Glen OSmaond Rd near the Arkaban Hotel was in taxi and easy driving distance.

The lifts a very loud and are stopped from working after 11pm.

The tram was a 5 min walk away which on the saturday was free??

What I didnt like

I would not want a room next to the lifts, byut they do stop after 11pm

Went for a drink late in the evening and thought there was a pub next door, need to walk a bit of a distance for a drink in a nice place.

They only seem to have one chap on duty at reception which can get busy for him, wasnt a issue for me

Overall a older hotel but we were comfortable and slept well. And the front desk staff were pleasent to us and welcoming.

Room Tip: Away from the lifts and the King room was comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirttdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADLOPS, Guest Relations Manager at Chifley on South Terrace, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Dirttdog

Your feedback on your recent stay is very welcome - Thank you. I am pleased your stay was enjoyable and you found the bed to your liking.

The Free Tram runs within the CBD area 7 days a week at all times of the tram operating hours - a real bonus as you can leave your car at the hotel and not incur any parking fees whilst in the city.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next you stay.

Kind Regards

Damian Gillings
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 km away
Sage Hotel Adelaide
Sage Hotel Adelaide
#23 of 57 in Adelaide
991 reviews
3.3 km away
Adelaide Meridien Hotel & Apartments
1.5 km away
Rydges South Park Adelaide
Rydges South Park Adelaide
#27 of 57 in Adelaide
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,094 reviews
1.5 km away
BreakFree Director's Studios
1.3 km away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chifley on South Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chifley on South Terrace

Property: Chifley on South Terrace
Address: 226 South Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chifley on South Terrace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chifley on South Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley On South Terrace Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing