We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great size room and service for the $$”
Review of Clarion Hotel Soho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Soho
Ranked #36 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Great sized room, but bathroom was a little small. Perfect for work overnight trip. Excellent service From the reception staff. Great little Thai restaurant underneath S2 Thai on Flinders and a cute cafe 2 doors up for breakfast. Definitely will book again.

Room Tip: Rooms on flinders street did have traffic noise early in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rails222017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2017

Great little chic hotel, in quite location Adelaide which is ideal for business travellers...generous rooms, though bathroom very small and some minor maintenance required. Cost is modest too and staff very friendly.

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

Can't really fault this Hotel.
Good sized bathroom even for a couple! Good quality towels and complementary toiletries.
The room was large with king size bed. Really good block out blinds exterior and internal.
Very fast wifi, free daily newspaper.
The cafe was closed downstairs for renovation. Plenty of great eating options a short walk away. Rundle street, Hutt Street are 5-10 min walk.
Plenty of free parking in the street so no need to pay for parking.
Very quiet, can't hear the lift or noise for nearby rooms which is a bonus.
The area itself at the end of flinders street is really quiet so a good night sleep is guaranteed.
Close to Botanical gardens which offers free guided tours.
Rooms was very clean, with T2 tea.
Heating and cooling was perfect.
Certainly stay again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank cobbers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

I have stayed here a few times, and this an updated review. It is a small boutique hotel that fills my needs nicely. There is not much to do immediately around, but the hotel is situated just 2 blocks south of the trendy part of Rundle St filled with restaurants, chocolate shops and so on (about a 10 minute walk away)

My main concern is that I have repetitively had difficulty sleeping at this hotel, and sleeping is the main purpose of a hotel. The reasons are two-fold:
1) A lot of traffic noise comes into the rooms
2) Above the beds (at least in some rooms), there is a smoke alarm detector that flashes a WHITE LED light every 5 seconds ... so while you are sleeping, in a dark room, there is this ridiculous flash of white light above your head every 5 seconds.

I didn't sleep a wink on my last trip ... nor on some previous stays.

This is a pity because the hotel has some good feature stop, including the windows actually open so that you can change the air (unlike many hotels today where you can find yourself stuck in a hermetically sealed room, unable to open windows or get any fresh air). But even when they are closed, it can still be noisy.

The beds are too hot with the duvet on, and too cold with it removed (same goes for many hotels today, alas).

Room Tip: If you want to avoid radiating your body with wi-fi rays, unplug the telephone, and use the ethernet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Josh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
121naomi, Owner at Clarion Hotel Soho, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Hello

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us overall.

We are investigating with our fire company regarding the smoke detectors and seeing if we can change them. As you mentioned not all rooms flash so they are investigating this and seeing what can be done.

As for traffic noise we are located in a quiet part of the city and there is generally very little traffic at night but being in the city it does get busier in the morning with every one going to work. We don't have many guests mention a problem with traffic noise at all. If you are staying with us again in the future just send us through an email and we can located you in a room at the back of the building which tends to be quieter and we can look at the smoked detector for you.

Kind Regards
The SOHO Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

Found this hotel on bookings.com, was quiet roomy and clean. Bathroom is small but has everything I needed and the shower was wonderful. I had the best night sleep on what felt like a great king size bed and the block out blinds worked a treat on not letting the morning start to early.
Would def stay again, and perfect location if your in the east end!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gstar0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
121naomi, Owner at Clarion Hotel Soho, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your lovely review, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in Adelaide and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards
The Clarion Soho Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.4 km away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.6 km away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 56 in Adelaide
1,361 reviews
2.2 km away
Majestic Minima Hotel
Majestic Minima Hotel
#12 of 56 in Adelaide
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Arkaba Hotel
Arkaba Hotel
#1 of 2 in Fullarton
203 reviews
0.2 km away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 56 in Adelaide
1,180 reviews
0.3 km away
Mantra on Frome
Mantra on Frome
#16 of 56 in Adelaide
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Soho

Address: 264 Flinders St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: €84 - €153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Hotel Soho 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Soho Hotel Adelaide is located in the fashionable and leafy Adelaide East End within easy walking distance to some of Adelaide's best restaurants, bars and shopping precincts. The Soho is a boutique hotel that caters for both business and leisure stays. The hotels heated roof top pool is the perfect place to relax after a busy day, or enjoy a meal or cocktail in our funky onsite S2 thai projects by Social Street. Enjoy a leisurely breakfast and fantastic coffee at our neighbor restaurant The Flinders Street Project (charge back is available). All rooms feature King size beds with luxe linen, desks, high speed complimentary wireless internet, bi-folding windows, VoIP phones, large flat screen TV's, extensive range of bathroom amenities, T2 teas & Robert Timm's coffee, iron and ironing boards, hairdryers and well stocked mini bars featuring SA wine and craft beers. The hotel offers a $30 per night credit for guests who book direct on their website or call us direct! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clarion Hotel Soho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing