We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven is full of baked goods”

Otto's Fresh Food Market
Ranked #4 of 30 Quick Bites in Townsville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$15
Description: More than just a market, more than just a place to eat, Otto’s Fresh Food Market is a complete experience. Natural food is one of life’s true joys and we believe that shopping for it should be too, which is why have created a collective of dedicated lovers of food, each as passionate as the next about their chosen niche… and they are all housed here, at Otto’s Fresh Food Market. Authenticity is king at Otto's with Townsville's largest variety of fresh food offerings, all under one roof: • Artisan Bakehaus • Grocer • Meat Market • Continental Deli • Gourmet Kitchen • Cafe • Parlour Patisserie • Fish Market • Low n Slow Texas BBQ • Hen Haus. The Otto's Arcade is also home to a gift shop specialising in only local and handmade products, premier hairdresser, nail and beauty studio, massage parlour and Townsville's only ice skating rink.
Restaurant details
Description: More than just a market, more than just a place to eat, Otto’s Fresh Food Market is a complete experience. Natural food is one of life’s true joys and we believe that shopping for it should be too, which is why have created a collective of dedicated lovers of food, each as passionate as the next about their chosen niche… and they are all housed here, at Otto’s Fresh Food Market. Authenticity is king at Otto's with Townsville's largest variety of fresh food offerings, all under one roof: • Artisan Bakehaus • Grocer • Meat Market • Continental Deli • Gourmet Kitchen • Cafe • Parlour Patisserie • Fish Market • Low n Slow Texas BBQ • Hen Haus. The Otto's Arcade is also home to a gift shop specialising in only local and handmade products, premier hairdresser, nail and beauty studio, massage parlour and Townsville's only ice skating rink.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

I've been here countless times and keep coming back. Great coffee and baked goods. There are also pies and salad rolls which are amazing. There's no table service though and It can be hard to find a clean table. Overall though it's a great place that makes me fat.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaimie A, Public Relations Manager at Otto's Fresh Food Market, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thanks for your kind review Sarah! We tend to agree that coffee and baked treats are amongst the best things in life, we are glad to be able to bring these to you. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to our team in the arcade so that we can work to ensure tables are cleared off with a little more haste during our busier periods.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

This is an awesome establishment offering food dine in, takeaway or a choice of seafood, chicken deli and butcher shop all rolled into one!
A bit more expensive than average but to be expected considering the choice on hand.
Sensational pies and great pretzels, love this joint!!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank 115matthewm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaimie A, Public Relations Manager at Otto's Fresh Food Market, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi Matthew, we are so glad that you love Otto's and all our offerings! Thanks so much for taking the time to review us, it's greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

This place just gets better and better. Whether you want a fresh juice, delicious coffee, gluten free snack, delicious salmon bagel, a pie or so so so much more they have it! Such great service. Such a great place to find wonderful groceries from around the world. All they need to do is add breakfast items.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank infojunkieQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaimie A, Public Relations Manager at Otto's Fresh Food Market, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thanks for your awesome review and feedback. We will pass this on to your kitchen team and see if we can make breakfast a possibility at Otto's in the future. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Otto's has to be the best specialty food shop in Townsville! We always know we will get a great feed here, whether it be to pick up a quick takeaway lunch, sit down for a coffee and a chat, or grab ingredients to take home to cook our own special meals.

It isn't the sort of place where I would complete a full grocery shop, but I always head in there before anywhere else if I am looking for specialty products that just can't be found anywhere else (truffle oils, specialty sauces, game meats etc).

The bakery aspect of Otto's is absolutely the best in town, with sweets with a German twist. Their breads are perfect and they seriously offer the best pies!

They do get busy and it can sometimes be hard to get a park, but I think this is a small problem to have. The staff are always friendly and smiling, even when under the pump during very busy periods - it can also get extremely noisy so probably not recommended for a romantic outing. The kids love the place - we will definitely be back again and again.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LeighW629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaimie A, Public Relations Manager at Otto's Fresh Food Market, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thank you so much for visiting and for your kind review. We are working hard to keep Otto's family friendly with a great range, thanks for your support!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Awsome pies and Vanilla Slices, plus a range of Italian small goods. Hot Italian sausage and a different range of Pasta sauces to choose from, different as in the major shopping centres dont stock them. Pricing can be high on some things and if you get there for lunch there can at times be a wait.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaimie A, Public Relations Manager at Otto's Fresh Food Market, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review. We work hard to continue to bring delicious products with a difference to Townsville and are very happy to hear great feedback like this. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Otto's Fresh Food Market also viewed

Townsville, Queensland
 
Townsville, Queensland
 

Been to Otto's Fresh Food Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing