We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,067)
Filter reviews
1,067 results
Traveller rating
280
476
214
65
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
280
476
214
65
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews castletown shopping centre close to the airport fast food outlets buffet breakfast rooms are comfortable family room pleasant stay business trip great spot magnetic island celsius reception sizzler wedding tropical pillows conference
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 1,067 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2018

Access to rooms from your car / taxi with luggage is deplorable. The only car park is at the entrance - a long way from all rooms. Two very old trolleys are available to follow the paths, ramps and steps to the rooms.
However, staff assistance was excellent.

A 3 out of 5 rating simply for this reason. Otherwise Mercure is 5 out of 5.

Room tip: Depending on how much luggage you have, choose a room close to the Reception.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureTownsville, Front Office Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Dear rhonim2015,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Townsville.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and especially when regarding our staff. I will be sure to share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Nikola Murphy
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

place was tired but ok and staff fine. But first night when our neighbours had a shower we were woken by the noise of it at 11.30. For some reason plumbing is very loud. Next night they had a function not far from our room. Yeo it stopped at 11.00pm but until then we struggled to hear the tv let alone had any hope of sleeping. Obviously Mecure were more interested in $$ they made from function than guests rest.I travel a lot for business and have done for many years and never have i been put in a room that was affected by noise around it like i was this weekend just gone. Wont ever go to a mecure again and as an accor member certainly wont be renewing.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 298noel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureTownsville, Front Office Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Dear 298noel,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Townsville. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I am sincerely sorry that you found the room noisy and tired. We did have a function on our deck and this did affect the rooms you stayed in. To allocate you hear was a huge oversight on not advising you at time of booking. This is certainly something we have taken on board and amended for future functions to ensure our guests are advised of outdoor functions in this area at the time of booking so they can make the choice themselves and not be surprised with it when they arrive. Please rest assured that we have put in place the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future and you do choose to return one day.

Sincerely,

Nikola Murphy
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Have stayed at this hotel many times and recently stayed here for 4 nights. We were given a free upgrade on arrival but we were let down by the upgrade. Yes the room did have a bath tub but it was old, stained and didn’t have a plug. The carpet in the room desperately needed to be replaced as it had numerous mystery stains on it. This hotel has quite possibly the most uncomfortable beds and pillows that do not allow for a good nights sleep. Woken up at all hours during the night by possums getting into our neighbours in room dinning trays that they had left outside their door. Got the blanket out of the cupboard to use to find it was covered in what I’m hoping was bleach?! Hotel allows children to do whatever they like in the pool. No parents to be seen supervising their children or they are drunk at the bar. Children are running, screaming, jumping into the pool, throwing balls at each other for hours on end. Doesn’t allow for a restful holiday. Also lots of guests smoking outside their rooms at night, which makes the smell travel.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank F660GIalexm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureTownsville, Front Office Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Dear Alex,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Townsville. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. To hear you have stayed many times but this time the room was not up to expectations is disappointing to hear. Our standard rooms are in need of an upgrade and our new general manager will be in discussions soon with our owners regarding this. I am sorry to hear the families staying also disturbed your peace and were not considerate of other guests. We certainly do our best to ensure guests respect each others space but apologise that this was obviously not done during your stay. This is certainly some feedback I will be sharing with our whole team so please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nikola Murphy
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

We were in Townsville to see a band at the kirwan tavern and wanted a close hotel /motel. Friends stayed at one of the closer budget motels and paid $100 night. We paid $124 to stay at the Mecure which was a lot nicer and paid $1 extra each to include buffet brekky. The room was a bit tired but comfortable. They have a pillow menu so you can choose your ideal pillow. We ordered room service and were surprised - it was really good! Buffet brekky was brilliant - bacon, eggs etc, cereal, toast, danish, but the fruit was awesome - fresh fruits as well as every type of tinned you could think of inc lychees and mangos! The grounds were lovely, pool area you could lay by for days and the nicest staff ever! Overheard one of the restaurant staff watching for an elderly gentleman checking out so he could help him down the stairs. Genuinely warm helpful staff. Thanks for a great stay! Will be back.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank travelbug4802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureTownsville, Front Office Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Dear travelbug4802,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Townsville.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I will be certain to share your comments with our team. It is great to hear you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel but that our staff were so warm and friendly throughout your stay. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Nikola Murphy
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

Good spot, close to town and only 10 minutes to the airport. Clean, comfortable rooms, with a new bed. Good pool for a morning dip before work and surprisingly tasty food at the bar. I’ll be staying again.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Adrian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureTownsville, Front Office Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Dear Adrian,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Townsville.

We are delighted to read that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel. I will be sure to share your comments with our team as I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Nikola Murphy
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews