We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”
Review of Thai Smile House

Thai Smile House
Ranked #56 of 408 Restaurants in Townsville
Price range: US$8 - US$27
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Description: Thai Smile House is a relaxed centrally located Thai restaurant and take-away, right beside the Warrina Cinemas on Bayswater Road, in front of OTTO's Arcade. Priding ourselves on serving authentic Thai cuisine, we strive to deliver the best dining experience possible. We offer lunches and evening dining, a dine and drink licence with outdoor dining, Thai desserts, and Take Away. Plenty of off street parking, and easy access. Come in and enjoy a little part of Thailand, right here in Townsville.
Restaurant details
Description: Thai Smile House is a relaxed centrally located Thai restaurant and take-away, right beside the Warrina Cinemas on Bayswater Road, in front of OTTO's Arcade. Priding ourselves on serving authentic Thai cuisine, we strive to deliver the best dining experience possible. We offer lunches and evening dining, a dine and drink licence with outdoor dining, Thai desserts, and Take Away. Plenty of off street parking, and easy access. Come in and enjoy a little part of Thailand, right here in Townsville.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great Thai food and service, I always get delicious reasonably priced Thai takeaway. People serving are always friendly. I think they could do with some mood lighting though - there are very bright lights which don't make for an enticing dinner venue.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovely meal here and were able to use a voucher from The Entertainment Book. We’re so glad we decided to try somewhere new and the Thai Smile House has really delicious meals. The Beef Massaman, Duck Red Curry and entrees all had excellent flavours.

Thank Lydia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

Thank you for a lovely meal. Great food, great staff. We loved the Pad Khee Mao Beef and the Green Island Salad.

Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThaiSmileHouse, Owner at Thai Smile House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thanks Paul, your feedback is always important for our staff that strive to create fresh new dishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

My partner and I were disappointed with our meals here a couple of nights ago. The green seafood curry had nice flavour, but had very little ingredients, seeming to rely on the small serving of rice to make up the bulk. The three prawns were very much over cooked, very soft and almost mushy. My partner's pad thai was a reasonably good serve but completely lacked flavour. I could only liken it to what I thought it would be like to eat shredded cardboard. I think there are many other Thai restaurants in Townsville which offer a better dining experience than this.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kjbailey2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThaiSmileHouse, Manager at Thai Smile House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Hi KJ,

I am sorry that you have had this experience at our restaurant. it certainly goes against the trend, and is a great concern to us when it happens. Your review doesn't mention whether it was dine-in, or take-away, but appeared takeaway when you mentioned it was made up with rice.

The green curry is one of our most popular curries, and our prawns are from a long term local supplier, and not imported. We use the local produce, due to concern with white spot from imported. Normally excellent quality.

The Pad Thai is also a another popular dish in our restaurant. Our sauce is less salty then most, due to a different ingredient used from most Pad Thai's.

Again, I'm sorry that you have had this rare experience, and hope that you would return, make yourself known, and let us show you the quality that we are typically known to serve.

Thanks again for the feedback, we have taken it seriously, and will discuss with our chefs.

Thai Smile House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

Lovely atmosphere, great food, difficult to choose from menu. Soup served in clay bowls was a nice touch. Clean surroundings. Quiet.

Thank TsvlLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThaiSmileHouse, Owner at Thai Smile House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Thank you for your kind words, our staff always enjoy hearing that they have done well. We hope that we see you again soon, and you spread the word to friends and family as well. Gai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Smile House also viewed

 
Townsville, Queensland
 
Townsville, Queensland
 

Been to Thai Smile House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing