We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
74
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yogurt one night magnetic island air conditioning ferry terminal russell bnb
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2018

Stayed here one night whilst on our way down to Sydney its a bit hard to find and when you do, you have to travel down the road quite a way before you can turn back to access the road its in, we are used to smart hotels so this was very different for us, the owner was a nice guy and did everything he could to help, the room we had was nice very colonial and old time but very clean and the bed was comfortable, you are part of the household when you stay here, there was a couple of other guests staying there [ guys]
and they were laying all over the lounge couches and i think they had a bit to drink, they were pleasant but it did make my partner a little uneasy, breakfast was nice on the terrace in the back garden, veggie with lots of fruit but he did do us some eggs, looking around i think an upgrade was needed in places everything looked like it has just been left to grow old, the main part of the town is quite a walk, with bars and restaurants and there were some places to eat near the cinema complexes which were a couple of blocks opposite, we did a trip to Magnetic island and it was quite difficult to park near the ferry terminal as there was no clear signage as to if you can park or how long you can park or was a permit needed, the terminal carpark was full, for us Townsville is not a place we would come back to found it a little run down in places, and the B & B although charming for a one night stay, we would not stay again sorry!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell E, Owner at Classique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Classique provided a restful stay for my husband, new baby and I. We were upgraded to a lovely larger room with airconditioning. The breakfast was a lovely combination of fresh fruits, cereal, yoghurt, grain toasts and coffee. Russell's quality of service was exceptional.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NaomiMackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell E, Owner at Classique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely words , it was a pleasure having you stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Felt right at home in this beautifully styled old Queenslander. Stayed with my mother in separate, air-conditioned rooms. Russell is a great host and accommodated our requests for GF brekky & scrambled eggs at the times we requested for breakfast. He even bought GF choccy biscuits for my gluten intolerant mum. The bathrooms were beautiful and clean. We both found the mattresses PERFECT and it's wonderful to have a selection of pillows on the bed from low to high rise. I have never slept better in an unfamiliar bed! Free WiFi for the whole stay. The only brickbat was the spa wasn't working. We will definitely recommend this place to friends and family.

Room Tip: Use your white noise app to negate the sound of footsteps on the beautifully polished floor boards.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peta E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell E, Owner at Classique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you very much for your review , it was a pleasure having you stay at Classique .It seems like you enjoyed both the bed and the breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Lovely old Queenslander which was constructed that way to take advantage of breezes and air circulation. Unfortunately when you leave doors and windows open, flies tend to invite themselves in. Not a problem in the bedroom if you keep the door closed. Also the bedroom temperature was comfortable because it had it's own a/c unit. A couple of fans at strategic points would have helped with being more comfortable in the areas where there is no a/c.
Russell is a lovely host as many others have said. We did not meet his wife as they have another property to manage, so it seemed he had a lot to do alone, our room was not serviced, (bed not made) but I don't know if that is their regular practice.
My biggest disappointment was that the spa was not in use and I had been looking forward to relaxing in it.

Stayed: October 2016
Thank Saylorfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell E, Owner at Classique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

It is , as explained unfortunate that Townsville has got water restrictions at the moment and the spa is not on. With respect to servicing ,usually guests that only stay for two nights are more than happy to ask for anything that they require . Classique is about experiencing life in an old Queenslander home and yes we also run a motel in a village in Arcadia on beautiful Magnetic Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

We had a nice 1 night stop here to break up a long drive. Having been out for some dinner we had a lovely evening to ourselves just playing pool & darts in the communal living area.
The aircon in the room was much needed & worked brilliantly and, as everyone has said, the tropical fruit breakfast was a perfect way to start the day.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jaystanley223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell E, Owner at Classique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Thank you for a wonderful review, it was a pleasure having you stay with us in this beautiful part of the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews