We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable for all the right reasons ”
Review of Elston

Elston
Price range: US$4 - US$27
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: As the waves crash on the beach, the sunlight glistens over the iconic Surfers Paradise shoreline; relax and unwind at Elston. With a delectable, holistic and rustic menu, Elston will excite your senses. Open morning, noon and night, we combine a wine bar dining experience with deli freshness and an urban eatery twist. While the sunsets and Surfers Paradise skyline lights up, enjoy life's simple pleasures with a social beverage and a mouthwatering meal at Elston.
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

Had a delightful lunch here with the family. Great location near the beach and the food hit some high notes. The ribs were very tasty and very tender. The rocket salad was one of the better ones I have had. The kids fish and chips was excellent, according to my granddaughter. The other mains were generous and were well received.

Thank ozrick33Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, Owner at Elston, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Its a pleasure to have you guys Rick!

See you next time..


John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 32 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2018

Do not normally write a review of this type . Check out my others . Always try to be fair.
But attended this restaurant Saturday evening and it was truly awful, the service was slow and the food when it arrived was just awful as well and we could not get out of there fast enough 3 out of 4 meals not eaten. when surveying surrounding tables this seemed to be the norm. On a night when Surfers was full to burst this was magnificent error on our part. Will never go here again. Rubbish ,rubbish ,rubbish.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shirley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, Owner at Elston, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Shirley,

I have sent you a private message in the hope of understanding in more detail your experience on Saturday night..

Thanks for your time..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

My husband and I traveled from Brisbane to the Gold Coast for the day, we picked Elston because of the great location but were very disappointed with our choice.

The meals took too long to come out, over a half hour wait, the meals were so small and therefore the price seemed outrageous, our meals were not what was described in the menu, we asked for water and that never came out, and the table was sticky and dirty.

I would not eat here again and have never had such a bad experience whilst dining.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank luluqld76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, Owner at Elston, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Hi Lulu,

I'm extremely disappointing to hear you had a bad experience..

I would like to help understand a little better what time you were dining and your meals which you were unhappy with. Our email: info@elstonbar.com.au.

Thanks for your time..



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed breakfast here twice while in Surfers . Staff were friendly and attentive. Great menu selection. Lots of fresh juice options. The only negative was the very large ibis that were hanging around on the tables . Stealing food off guests plates . I’m someone who has a huge fear of birds so watching this take place was very disturbing. Granted it’s obviously not the staffs fault . But something need to be done . As I saw 3 meals go back to the kitchen because the birds had eaten off the plate .. Almost out of a horror movie

Thank delishldish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

All the food we had here was awesome. So impressed we would defiantly come back next time. Steak, chips, sticky wings and fantastic kids cheese burgers. Thanks Elston

Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L, Owner at Elston, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Thanks Jason..

We love to hear about your experience and value your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elston also viewed

 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to Elston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing