We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will be back!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surfers Beachside Holiday Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Surfers Beachside Holiday Apartments
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will be back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed in room 1201. Had great views of the beach. Rooms were clean and newly renovated. Hotel staff always lovely and willing to help. No faults found! Great location and will deffinetly be back!

Room Tip: Ask for room 1201, newly renovated 2 bedroom, with perfect views of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kov_kek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurfersBeachside, Manager at Surfers Beachside Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Thanks so much for your feed back and yes our apartments are nearly all referbished now and do look fantastic. We look forward sharing with you the hospitality of our property on your next stay on the Gold Coast
Kind regards
Lynne Kocass
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    35
    18
    6
    7
See reviews for
56
30
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Exactly what we needed great location apartment great for a family of 4 with great facilities and the staff were helpful and friendly will definatly be coming back!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoloneyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurfersBeachside, Manager at Surfers Beachside Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we do appreciate your comments on the cleanliness, friendliness and service. We pride ourselves on these attributes and look forward to sharing this with you on your next stay. Give us a call direct and we will be more than happy to offer you a special return guest rate and be able to accommodate your special requests including your apartment preferences.
Kind regards Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment on 7 th floor. View was excellent. Apartment was good but kitchen utensils for cooking could do with more! Car park located at basement. Good security in and out of building. Need to use fobb to come into building at night and key to get into lift area at basement.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yim1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurfersBeachside, Marketing Manager at Surfers Beachside Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Thankyou so much for your review and yes we also believe Surfers Beachside Holiday Apartments is conveniently located close to everything! With 15 levels, beautiful views of the ocean and Gold Coast hinterland. The glorious patrolled beach is only 30 metres away - perfect for swimming, surfing and boogie boarding. With regards to kitchen equipment we have a large selction available from reception, please just ask on your next stay and we will be happy to do our best to supply your requests. We have baking tins to a large boiling pot (jam pan) electric frying pans to coffee plungers. Not sure why you would like to cook when we have a great selection of award winning restaurants close by however sometimes it is just nice to stay in and enjoy our private balconies watching the whales go by and the sun setting accross the ocean.
Thanks Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Great location and apparently some apartments are better than others. Cleaning is the managements responsibility and this apartment was filthy.
We paid $2000 for a week in January thinking we would get a clean apartment. How wrong could we be.
The Air conditioner was filthy and hadn't been cleaned in months - filth could
be seen on the outside before you even opened it. I reported it and they only cleaned the outside. They should have opened it up and hit it with the vacumn cleaner. They claimed they had all been cleaned in December so their onsite cleaners are getting paid for bludging.

Ensuite bathroom was not filthy. we walked in to find the venetian blind was covered with black mildew. This was cleaned the next day (as we arrived on a holiday) when reported but it made my skin crawl all night to have a shower there. Teh mildew on the shower recess floor tiles floated around in the water in our first shower. Disgusting. The shower recess
hadn't been cleaned properly and I had to do it with domestos the next day which
confirmed this. There was dirt and mould all over the grout which wasn't
ingrained - just not cleaned. This was the case in both bathrooms.

The cleaners only clean around items in the apartment such as the toilet
brush in the bathrooms hadn't been moved and there is dust and hair
accumulating around them. They did clean these when reported but you would expect the cleaner to pick up these items and vacumn. So they obviously didn't mop either.
The TV cabinet and sofa had dust under them which indicates that they don't cleaned under them. The tic tacs that I found under the sofa supports this. No wonder there are ants.

The kitchen - the oven needs a good clean and the overhead exhaust above the
hotplates hasn't been cleaned for a while and when activated - it stunk too
much to use.

The Laundry - washing machine hadn't been cleaned and is in disrepair -
broken rim which snags on clothes. When you open the lid you see the filth
lying on the top of the rim of the bowl, then you look at the filter in the agitator - The fluff bag is chockers. I had to soak the agitator for an hour to get all the built up soap powder out of it. Obviously some people before us were using the agitator as the soap dispensor and it never been cleaned between rentals. I had to run the cycle twice to make sure it was somewhere near clean to use.


The dryer didn't would only work on hot - sent a repair men who came while we were out for the day and said there was nothing wrong with it. Didn't read the report they sent him obviously. Reported again the next day and this time I was home when he came so I could tell him what the real problem was and identified it was the timer. Never returned as he claimed he may need to order the parts. Management was good and we were given access to the apartment next door for our holiday. Lucky it wasn't rented out as the handover staff weren't told. It would have been embarassing to go in to find someone in there. Next door apartment is a lot better condition and a lot cleaner.

Main bedroom - dust everywhere which is why there is so much mould. The carpet is past it's use by date and stinks. Bed lamps are filthy and need a good vacumn. Wardrobe has drawers that can't beused as they too are filthy and haven't seen a vacumn in a while. You
couldn't put your clothes in them. Teh ensuite door doesn't roll so is so noisy it wakes everyone up. Not to mention the gaping paintwork.

2nd bedroom fan didn't work properly. It kept turning itself off in the
middle of the night. Management claim it is because it is remote and the
trigger is coming from other units. Should be fixed as I had to get up 4 times one night and we couldn't use the Air Con as it was too filthy.

2 chairs on the balcony and one is broken. Safety hazard.

The whole aprtment needs a good vacumn and the walls washed down to remove the
stink. Dont' take apartment 601 without a good inspection.

Great location though and I would go back but wouldn't take the apartment without inspecting it first. There are some that have been done up so try and get one of those.

Room Tip: Get some photos of your apartment before you go and make sure it is not the picture on the internet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurfersBeachside, Manager at Surfers Beachside Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Thanks for your review. It is always with great concern when we receive a disappointing comment - I know you have commented how helpflu we were but we still take feedback like this personal .
As with most accommodation properties in Queensland & N.S.W we operate under a Management Rights Agreement .Management rights is the onsite care-taking and letting of units and townhouses and each apartment is individually purchased and owned.

Therefore each apartment is owned separately and as Resident Managers our role is to operate a business for each apartment owner under strict guidelines of the body corporate. We endeavour to meet or even surpass guest’s expectations and encourage owners to continue to improve and keep the standards required in all accommodation apartments.

I am pleased to advise that this apartment and seven others have had major renovations over the past 8 months and we have plans to complete the final few outstanding early next year.
I would welcome you back to inspect this apartment and am very confident you will be very impressed - it has been completely repainted with a new flat screen television, new carpet, curtains, new lounge suite plus many other improvements and looks just superb. It really is now one of our highly requested apartments.

With regards to the air-conditioning cleanliness we have taken your review as our third and final warning and have now terminated the service contract with this supplier and have contracted an new service contractor who maintain and clean our air conditioners throughout the building.
We hope we see you again on your next stay on the Gold Coast and will be able to show you that this is not the normal at our property
Lynne Kocass - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tahoe (Nevada), Nevada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Great location and gorgeous view! The kitchen was well appointed, and a pleasure to cook in. There was plenty of storage space! My main complaint was the bedroom door which is on a slide and very hard to close, impossible not to wake up the whole apartment! Other than that, it was a nice spot! Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamahsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurfersBeachside, Manager at Surfers Beachside Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Thanks so much for your review and I know we maybe bias but we also think Surfers Beachside Apartments is perfectly positioned for your Gold Coast holiday.
We have had a maintenance man address the sliding door with new rollers and its now "like a new one"
We look forward to sharing your next stay when you are next on the Gold Coast
Lynne Kocass - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 km away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#17 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.7 km away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
0.3 km away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,547 reviews
0.2 km away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,263 reviews
0.2 km away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Beachside Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Beachside Holiday Apartments

Property: Surfers Beachside Holiday Apartments
Address: Chevron Beachside Apartments 10 Vista St | Crn Vista St & Garfield St., Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfers Beachside Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Surfers Beachside Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Beachside Holiday Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Beachside Holiday Apartments Paradise
Surfers Beachside Holiday Apartments Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing