We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed 13 August 2017

So, we booked this stay about four months before we were to travel. The deal was particularly good and was a great start. My initial conversation was with a lovely young lady called Dorothea who tried to get us into a room on a high floor with a good view of the ocean. She said the view of the ocean was obscured and not the best; but when we arrived and went to our room, it was a lovely view and much better than I was expecting - It looks as though Dorothea ensured our preferences was sorted when a room became available - Great Stuff

I have to say that nothing for which we asked appeared to be too much trouble for pretty much all of the people who worked there, including the room service and maintenance folk. I also have to say a big thank you to Hemanth (I hope that's the right spelling) as he went to great lengths to ensure our stay was above expectations

My one issue (and given the hotel was chosen because it boasted this service, it's a biggie) is the pathetic access to WiFi. Seriously, this needs to be addressed. Although I was (kind of) on holidays, I needed to be on line for work every day and the poor connection and continuous drop-outs caused a great deal of frustration and disgruntlement. Yes, there are times where there is a reasonable connection, but far too many times it was dreadful

Overall, our stay was very good and, should I see myself needing another break from the cold, I will certainly consider the Alpha Sovereign Hotel again

Room Tip: Make sure you tell them to fix the internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (878)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 878 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2017

Stayed for 2nights whilst attending a conference at Surfers. The hotel is very tired looking all over and in need of a refurbishment inside and out. Having said that though, the staff keep it very clean. The rooms/bathrooms/kitchenette were clean, and so were the restaurant and outdoor areas. The swimming pool and spa looked good even though I didn't get a chance to use them. I stayed one night in a room on a lower floor facing the main road, there was a lot of road noise throughout the night hence I asked to be moved to the other side of the building on a higher floor the next night which was much more pleasant. I recommend asking for a room on higher floor or facing the hinterland (still good views). The restaurant menu was very limited and whilst convenient, you could get much better a short walk away. Front desk staff were very helpful and obliging-changing rooms for me, allowing me to leave luggage post check out. They could however, be more smiley and friendly! Overall, you get what you pay for, it's definitely value for money on the Gold Coast.

Room Tip: higher floors, facing hinterlands are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank princessR7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Spent a week at this Hotel (Formally Australis) Reception are friendly. Hotel staff park your car for you and when vehicle is required again they will park it outside in the court area.Rooms are spacious and clean.A tip when walking to Surfers Paradise or Broadbeach rather than walk to the front of the hotel, walk through the pool area and exit out the back. Would definitely recommendof appeals for this Hotel. n.b free papers and magazines in the reception area each morning.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stella Frost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

The hotel was not very aesthetically pleasing.. Putting that aside, the room was massive, the staff friendly, location very good & amenities excellent. I would happily stay there again.

Amenities included spa, pool, fitness room, games room, bbq area, restaurant, convenience store & valet parking.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

As a ultiqa member for the last 20 years I have always been very pleased with the accommodation I have booked.I don't complain easily but I found the alpha sovereign south tower well below the standard I was accustomed to with ultiqa.
The shower was small and hence the water went all over floor and toilet.No room was not attended to the whole time we were there which meant we had the same towels for a week.The bed was soft and very uncomfortable and pillows were awful.The air conditioner didn't work.
On the plus side the staff were friendly and helpful.The buffet breakfast was good.Good size pool and we enjoyed the spa on several occasions.
Will inform ultiqa about our stay.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
1.2 km away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
553 reviews
1.6 km away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,810 reviews
0.7 km away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,697 reviews
1.4 km away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,611 reviews
0.3 km away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Sovereign Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Sovereign Hotel

Address: 138 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Australis Sovereign Hotel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#16 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: €80 - €183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Sovereign Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Gold Coast (formerly Australis Sovereign) is just the place to stay for a quiet retreat in Surfers Paradise, while still having easy access to beaches, shopping, dining and attractions. Situated on the Broadbeach side of Surfers Paradise, you can enjoy the best the area has to offer by day or night but swiftly escape the hustle and bustle when you arrive back at the hotel. Alpha Sovereign features mid-rise twin towers with a wide range of contemporary hotel rooms and suites - most with balconies overlooking the Gold Coast Hinterland, the hotel complex and pool, or Surfers Paradise skyline with ocean behind. Arrive to a bright and breezy lobby and reception area that flows through to Flavours Restaurant and bar. Flavours offers a relaxing alfresco terrace where guests can enjoy a delicious meal, catch up for a drink or kick back for some quiet reading time. The intimate lagoon pool and spa is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and shady pockets to relax in. Or soak up the sun on poolside lounges, just a few steps from Flavours bar to order a drink or snack. For the kids, the pool has a shallow sandy area, ideal for a splashing and water fun. Alpha Sovereign Hotel also has a games room with video games, board games and other indoor activities for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpha Sovereign Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australis Sovereign Surfers Paradise
Australis Sovereign Hotel
Surfers Paradise Australis Sovereign
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing