We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate 3-star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed 12 November 2012

This hotel is really a 3-star and once you accept that its perfectly adequate. This is actually my second time staying at here, having needed some short-notice low-cost accommodation.

The staff were quite friendly and polite. As typical of most Australians, as long as you are cordial even when upset you will be treated respectfully. But unlike Asia, Australians will bite back if you pick a fight with them. It's just the culture so fair warning. Anyway, I digress: staff were good and the lady even came up to give me new keys when my keys failed to open the door!

The rooms are consistently average, which isn't bad considering this is a n older hotel that needs a full renovation sooner rather than later. Having said that, apart from some thin, slightly worn carpet and the shower that puts out very little water (great for water conservation, bad for you) everything worked and I got a decent nights sleep.

The pool was fair. Fairly small, but at least clean. I walked passed the heated spa but alas it probably could only fit 4 adults and at the time was filled up with 6 kids ranging from 4 years to 10 years old. I wasn't keen to share or even feel the water but I suspect it was at least warm although no steam came from the water.

The location is fairly decent.. 15 minutes walk to the beach, shops and restaurants. Not exactly central but close enough. Whilst I did have a breakfast option I didn't get around to trying it out.

To summarize, if you can get a low special rate here and don't mind a solid 3-star experience then this hotel gives value for money. Probably best suited for budget families or business people who need a place to rest their head at night.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasonFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Reservations & Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Australis Sovereign Hotel. We are happy that overall, you enjoyed your stay. However, we would welcome the opportunity for you to visit the hotel again in the near future, so that we may exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

650 - 654 of 877 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2012

Was greeted rudely by staff at reception. I was then told my room was not ready when checking in at 12pm and would be called when the room was ready. Did not receive a call but found room to be ready when we returned at 4 pm.
The whole 4.5 star is a joke and it would be lucky to be a 3 star. The hotel is run down and looks like it hasn't be refurbished since it opened at least over 10 years ago. We had iron burn marks all over the bedroom carpet, the furniture is old and uncomfortable. Even though the rooms are severely outdated i found them to be clean and the housekeppers were pleasant when servicing the rooms.
The A/c was not working on arrival however maintenance promptly came to fix it.
When speaking to the young female shift manager about the state of our room we found her to be unreasonable and of little help and not to mention rude. We did however speak to another manager upon our checkout and found him to be pleasant and professional.
The hotel is in a great location however the rooms are way overpriced for what you get.
Overall I'm disappointed and the hotel should be ashamed of the quality of their rooms. Hopefully they ditch the old and come in with the new like the rest of the hotels on the coast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ozzie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback of Australis Sovereign Hotel. We pride ourselves on providing excellence in customer service along with great value for money and we apologise that you feel that we did not deliver on those aims. We definitely taken on-board your feedback and will be making every effort to ensure issue you raised do not occur again.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

My husband and I stayed here recently for two nights while at the Gold Coast. It was a bit of a mixed experience...

Pros:
- Check-in staff were friendly and helpful
- Location: easy 10-15 walk to the beach and the main streets and shops of Surfer's Paradise
- Soft drinks, snacks, umbrellas and other essential items are available for purchase in the lobby area.
- We had booked a standard room. It was very spacious and included a kitchen area (fridge, toaster, microwave and dinning table), a living area (1 lounge, 2 chairs, coffee table and television). The bedroom (which is separate from the living area) was also quite large and the bed was reasonably comfortable.
- Our room was on the 5th floor and so we had a pretty nice view over the city.

Cons:
- The furniture is quite dated.
- There was a musty smell in the room - I assume it's probably due to the old furniture.
- Cockroaches!!!! When we arrived, I spotted a fairly large cockroach (4-5cm in size). I searched the rest of the place and didn't see any more and overall the room looked very clean so I didn't worry about it. However, when I turned the light on in the kitchen area in the morning, I saw another (smaller) one and on further inspection of the kitchen drawers, found probably another 8-10 little ones. For this reason alone, I would not stay here again.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Reservations & Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you providing you valuable feedback on Australis Sovereign Hotel.

We do acknowledge that our hotel is not brand new, however we do wish to assure you that we make every effort in cleaning and maintaining our hotel, including participating a regular pest spraying. We apologise for any discomfort cause you whilst you stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Australis Sovereigh Hotel very much. The efficiency is excellent and the customer services are fantastic!
We will definitely recommend our family and friends to stay at this hotel for Gold Coast any time of the year!
Well done guys! Keep it up!!
By the way................the price is very reasonable and it is very central to everything - beaches and shopping centres!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the North Side have good view and quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Reservations & Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback on our hotel. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay!

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Booked months in advance asking for early check in, didn't get one, reception informed they would call as soon as the room was ready (this was at 7:00am), returned to the hotel at 3:00pm (still no call from reception). The duty 'manager', was rude, unhelpful and at times gave us attitude (as did other staff members). The guests who stayed in the room before us left the iron on the carpet burning it, the hotel was aware yet room service did not clean the iron resulting in one of our shirts being ruined. The hotel suffers from a lot of traffic noise, the refrigerator also made a horrible noise the entire stay. The bed and pillows were so uncomfortable we actually lost sleep. The hotel is old and in need of a refurb. Nowhere near a 4.5 star hotel and would not stay there again nor recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HayleyPukitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Reservations & Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your time in providing your valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel. Further, please accept our apologies if you found any staff member unhelpful or rude. Unfortunately, we are unable to guarantee an early check in regardless if you had made a request when booked well in advance, it is simply on a availability basis. We wish to also extend our apologies that you did not find your room to be of standard.

Please do not hesitate to contact myself at the hotel should you wish to discuss any of your concerns further.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
1.2 km away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
550 reviews
1.6 km away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,807 reviews
0.7 km away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,694 reviews
1.4 km away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,608 reviews
0.3 km away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Sovereign Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Sovereign Hotel

Address: 138 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Australis Sovereign Hotel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#10 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#16 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: €79 - €182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Sovereign Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Gold Coast (formerly Australis Sovereign) is just the place to stay for a quiet retreat in Surfers Paradise, while still having easy access to beaches, shopping, dining and attractions. Situated on the Broadbeach side of Surfers Paradise, you can enjoy the best the area has to offer by day or night but swiftly escape the hustle and bustle when you arrive back at the hotel. Alpha Sovereign features mid-rise twin towers with a wide range of contemporary hotel rooms and suites - most with balconies overlooking the Gold Coast Hinterland, the hotel complex and pool, or Surfers Paradise skyline with ocean behind. Arrive to a bright and breezy lobby and reception area that flows through to Flavours Restaurant and bar. Flavours offers a relaxing alfresco terrace where guests can enjoy a delicious meal, catch up for a drink or kick back for some quiet reading time. The intimate lagoon pool and spa is surrounded by lush tropical gardens and shady pockets to relax in. Or soak up the sun on poolside lounges, just a few steps from Flavours bar to order a drink or snack. For the kids, the pool has a shallow sandy area, ideal for a splashing and water fun. Alpha Sovereign Hotel also has a games room with video games, board games and other indoor activities for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpha Sovereign Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Australis Sovereign Surfers Paradise
Australis Sovereign Hotel
Surfers Paradise Australis Sovereign
Alpha Sovereign Hotel Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing