We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bay Lodge Apartments(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra Circle on Cavill(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$182
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$184/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Novotel Surfers Paradise(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Aquarius Backpackers(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Peppers Soul(Surfers Paradise)
US$322
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra Crown Towers(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra Sun City(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Marrakesh Resort Apartments(Surfers Paradise)(Great Value!)
US$196
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (920)
Filter reviews
920 results
Traveller rating
215
324
198
106
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
324
198
106
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet servicethe gold coastseparate bedroomgames roomcooking facilitiesreception staffwould stay againnorth towerper nightbuffet breakfastgreat poolgreat roombus stopmain beachlight railspa bathcavill avenue
Filter
Updating list...
689 - 694 of 920 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Was greeted rudely by staff at reception. I was then told my room was not ready when checking in at 12pm and would be called when the room was ready. Did not receive a call but found room to be ready when we returned at 4 pm.
The whole 4.5 star is a joke and it would be lucky to be a 3 star. The hotel is run down and looks like it hasn't be refurbished since it opened at least over 10 years ago. We had iron burn marks all over the bedroom carpet, the furniture is old and uncomfortable. Even though the rooms are severely outdated i found them to be clean and the housekeppers were pleasant when servicing the rooms.
The A/c was not working on arrival however maintenance promptly came to fix it.
When speaking to the young female shift manager about the state of our room we found her to be unreasonable and of little help and not to mention rude. We did however speak to another manager upon our checkout and found him to be pleasant and professional.
The hotel is in a great location however the rooms are way overpriced for what you get.
Overall I'm disappointed and the hotel should be ashamed of the quality of their rooms. Hopefully they ditch the old and come in with the new like the rest of the hotels on the coast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ozzie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Reservations and Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback of Australis Sovereign Hotel. We pride ourselves on providing excellence in customer service along with great value for money and we apologise that you feel that we did not deliver on those aims. We definitely taken on-board your feedback and will be making every effort to ensure issue you raised do not occur again.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

My husband and I stayed here recently for two nights while at the Gold Coast. It was a bit of a mixed experience...

Pros:
- Check-in staff were friendly and helpful
- Location: easy 10-15 walk to the beach and the main streets and shops of Surfer's Paradise
- Soft drinks, snacks, umbrellas and other essential items are available for purchase in the lobby area.
- We had booked a standard room. It was very spacious and included a kitchen area (fridge, toaster, microwave and dinning table), a living area (1 lounge, 2 chairs, coffee table and television). The bedroom (which is separate from the living area) was also quite large and the bed was reasonably comfortable.
- Our room was on the 5th floor and so we had a pretty nice view over the city.

Cons:
- The furniture is quite dated.
- There was a musty smell in the room - I assume it's probably due to the old furniture.
- Cockroaches!!!! When we arrived, I spotted a fairly large cockroach (4-5cm in size). I searched the rest of the place and didn't see any more and overall the room looked very clean so I didn't worry about it. However, when I turned the light on in the kitchen area in the morning, I saw another (smaller) one and on further inspection of the kitchen drawers, found probably another 8-10 little ones. For this reason alone, I would not stay here again.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Reservations & Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you providing you valuable feedback on Australis Sovereign Hotel.

We do acknowledge that our hotel is not brand new, however we do wish to assure you that we make every effort in cleaning and maintaining our hotel, including participating a regular pest spraying. We apologise for any discomfort cause you whilst you stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Australis Sovereigh Hotel very much. The efficiency is excellent and the customer services are fantastic!
We will definitely recommend our family and friends to stay at this hotel for Gold Coast any time of the year!
Well done guys! Keep it up!!
By the way................the price is very reasonable and it is very central to everything - beaches and shopping centres!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the North Side have good view and quieter!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Reservations & Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback on our hotel. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay!

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Booked months in advance asking for early check in, didn't get one, reception informed they would call as soon as the room was ready (this was at 7:00am), returned to the hotel at 3:00pm (still no call from reception). The duty 'manager', was rude, unhelpful and at times gave us attitude (as did other staff members). The guests who stayed in the room before us left the iron on the carpet burning it, the hotel was aware yet room service did not clean the iron resulting in one of our shirts being ruined. The hotel suffers from a lot of traffic noise, the refrigerator also made a horrible noise the entire stay. The bed and pillows were so uncomfortable we actually lost sleep. The hotel is old and in need of a refurb. Nowhere near a 4.5 star hotel and would not stay there again nor recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HayleyPukitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Reservations & Yield Manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your time in providing your valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Australis Sovereign Hotel. Further, please accept our apologies if you found any staff member unhelpful or rude. Unfortunately, we are unable to guarantee an early check in regardless if you had made a request when booked well in advance, it is simply on a availability basis. We wish to also extend our apologies that you did not find your room to be of standard.

Please do not hesitate to contact myself at the hotel should you wish to discuss any of your concerns further.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on a weekend getaway and had booked a standard hotel room with twin single beds. However when we checked in we were given a disabled room on the ground floor which was absolutely huge. In fact 2 of us were staying here and the rest of us were staying else where and this room was 2-3 times bigger. The rooms decor was very basic but it consisted of an open plan kitchen area with a dishwasher & fridge, small dining table & chairs, lounge, chairs with coffee table and single bed with a small tv and a/c then it had a very large bathroom with shower only and a separate bedroom with a double bed and 2 wardrobes and a small patio area. The lobby was quaint and offered a small shopping area with some essentials and computers and sitting area leading onto the restaurant / cafe area. The pool area was also nice but seemed a lot smaller than it looks in the hotels photos the spa was large though and they also had a pool table outside which is great for teenagers. The hotel has car parking and is situated in between the Marriott and Paradise Resort about 900m from Cavill Avenue.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VoucherQueen101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_sovereign, Reservations & yield manager at Alpha Sovereign Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank your for your review of Australis Sovereign Hotel. We look forward to hopefully again welcoming at the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Rachel Condell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews