We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
38
48
22
37
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
48
22
37
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a garden view room hot and cold food complimentary breakfast budget accommodation suited our needs the room was nice longer stay easy walking distance the gold coast couple of nights washer and dryer reception desk location is fantastic pool area is min walk great facilities court
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 204 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

Honestly very disappointed, the room is filthy, theres hair and nail clippings left on the floor as well as dust. They have stated a one bedroom apartment, when in fact it can only be described as a studio at best. Will not recommended

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank EmadA1591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

The staff at Reception were unfriendly and some of them were quite rude not only to us but to other customers which we witnessed. The mattress was worst than those in Backpackers' accomodation ( though they charged an unbelievable amount of AUD 180 per night) . While the building looks elegant, the rooms, amenities and services tell a totally different story. The building is old and needs a makeover. The door was peeling off and looked ugly. The rooms require some painting and the carpets were disgustingly dirty and you squirm to walk on it bare feet. The mattress was hard and reclines when you lie on it giving a see-saw experience (absolutely uncomfortable) and it is the same story with the couch which is damn old and needs to be thrown away. The freezer in the fridge was full of ice and needs to be dumped. The kettle was full of stains (someone might have misused it for cooking something) . When reported to the reception, their attitude was absolutely repulsive, claiming that every room and apartment in their facility is owned by different individuals and some owners do not listen to changes. We argued about what the "Body Corporates " are doing and they were giving all kinds of excuses and we could not move out earlier as it was a "Non-refundable" Booking. For God's sake, some agency should take drastic actions against the Body Corporate who run this place or this place needs to be classified as a Backpacker Accomodation. We talked to many other tourists staying here and they said that their rooms are even worse with stained sheets on their beds and stained towels. At least, our aircon and toilet were in better working conditions than others. It is time that there should be a Tourists Union and raise the issues with Body Corp and the building be given to another Body Corp Agency. It is disgusting to call this place a Resort. The rooms facing the river may have good views but the stench from the dirty algal contaminated waters could be a health risk. It is a breeding ground for mosquitos and other insects which constantly invade the rooms and suck our blood and we had to use Mosquito repellents to keep them away adding to our woes. We went there for a relaxing holiday but ended with anger, stress and unhappiness. Lot of smokers around making it difficult to leave the door to balcony open. Since a number of apartments are owned by individuals they smoke to their hearts' content with least respect for non-smokers.

Room tip: 2 bed room Apartments better than River View rooms.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank TravellerPorirua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Firstly I witnessed a poor lady slipping on vomit at the entry. Not sure how long it was there.. And when we entered the unit we couldn't believe our eyes.. Broken bed, live wires hanging out of the light socket and a fist punch hole in the bathroom door. Wifi didn't work and the collapsible bed for my daughter was like lying on a cage. I called after hours reception and complain but told that there wasn't a spare room available. I was given a choice of leaving with my family at 11.20pm or sleep in this unsafe wreck of a room. We had no choice but sleep.. Well if you can call it sleep, more like a broken horror night sleep in a bent chair like bed. Unbelievable.... $198 per night. What a joke...

Room tip: Don't GO. Warning!!!!
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Zarr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortManagement1, Manager at Paradise Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

We are sorry that you didnt enjoy your stay at Paradise Island Resort.

Room moves can be rather difficult when we are at 100% Occupancy.

We have just upgraded the common areas flooring and repainted the entire building for a refreshed look. Every unit is individually owned and we always encourage the owners to update the units and have a refurbishment plan lined up for most units. At Paradise Island Resort we work very hard at maintaining a level of cleanliness and hygiene and the staff is trained to rectify any maintenance issue as soon as notified.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

We just stayed at the Paradise Island Resort last night 4th Jan, and the facilities were well presented but our accommodation was a disaster. Walls with chips, dirt marks all over. Carpet was ripped, pulled up in areas, and covered in stains. The lounge and TV unit clearly hadn't been cleaned. The cupboards for the kitchenette were all water swollen, dirty and broken. The complimentary safe didn't work. The lock on the door had been ripped off. The ceiling were all dirty and the fan hadn't been cleaned for a long time. The bathroom had no ventilation, so it turns into a steam room. The shower/spa was dirty and had mould in the grout. Breakfast....we just had to laugh. The hot foods consisted of unshelled hard-boiled eggs, potato gems, cold spaghetti, and sausages. They gave us plastic plates, knives and forks, and were instructed to wipe off any food and return them to the front counter.

I really wish we had taken some photos as it's hard to believe a room in Surfers Paradise could be this awful.

The location is great, just a short stroll to the beach, and if they were to spend a little bit of money, the accommodation would be 100x better. It just feels like they've gone too far to save costs.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bsrhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortManagement1, Manager at Paradise Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

We are sorry that you didnt enjoy your stay at Paradise Island Resort.

Every unit is individually owned and we always encourage the owners to update the units and have a refurbishment plan lined up for most units. At Paradise Island Resort we work very hard at maintaining a level of cleanliness and hygiene and the staff is trained to rectify any maintenance issue as soon as notified. We pride ourselves on our FREE breakfasts for guests and continue to get wonderful compliments daily on how fresh the food is and how much better (& cheaper) we are than other resorts on the Gold Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

I'd read the reviews and was hesitant to book, but during the busy xmas/new year period and booking last minute our choices were limited. The tariff was a bit much but it's peak season! The room was nicely furnished and big enough for the 3 of us. The pool area looked lovely, the location is spot on- walk anywhere in Surfers.
Yes the breakfast is different (odd food combinations) but it was all fresh looking and I witnessed Coles and Woolworths delivering food; overall if you need a coffee, toast and some fresh fruit you'll be happy. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
One downfall-I would add their housekeeping wasn't 100%- my husband wasn't impressed with the cleanliness of the bathroom.

Room tip: Bottom floor facing the car park is a little noisy if you are a light sleeper.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank davbro95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortManagement1, Manager at Paradise Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you had a great time at Paradise Island Resort during your visit to the Gold Coast.

Our breakfast is indeed proving to be a hit amongst all our guests and they love the variety that we have to offer.

With regards to the cleaning, all our rooms are checked after they are cleaned by a supervisor so I will be passing on your comments on to the housekeeping team.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Paradise Island Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews