We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
38
48
22
37
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
48
22
37
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a garden view room hot and cold food complimentary breakfast budget accommodation small fridge suited our needs the room was nice longer stay easy walking distance the gold coast couple of nights washer and dryer reception desk location is fantastic pool area is min walk great facilities
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Firstly I witnessed a poor lady slipping on vomit at the entry. Not sure how long it was there.. And when we entered the unit we couldn't believe our eyes.. Broken bed, live wires hanging out of the light socket and a fist punch hole in the bathroom door. Wifi didn't work and the collapsible bed for my daughter was like lying on a cage. I called after hours reception and complain but told that there wasn't a spare room available. I was given a choice of leaving with my family at 11.20pm or sleep in this unsafe wreck of a room. We had no choice but sleep.. Well if you can call it sleep, more like a broken horror night sleep in a bent chair like bed. Unbelievable.... $198 per night. What a joke...

Room tip: Don't GO. Warning!!!!
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Zarr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortManagement1, Manager at Paradise Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

We are sorry that you didnt enjoy your stay at Paradise Island Resort.

Room moves can be rather difficult when we are at 100% Occupancy.

We have just upgraded the common areas flooring and repainted the entire building for a refreshed look. Every unit is individually owned and we always encourage the owners to update the units and have a refurbishment plan lined up for most units. At Paradise Island Resort we work very hard at maintaining a level of cleanliness and hygiene and the staff is trained to rectify any maintenance issue as soon as notified.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

We just stayed at the Paradise Island Resort last night 4th Jan, and the facilities were well presented but our accommodation was a disaster. Walls with chips, dirt marks all over. Carpet was ripped, pulled up in areas, and covered in stains. The lounge and TV unit clearly hadn't been cleaned. The cupboards for the kitchenette were all water swollen, dirty and broken. The complimentary safe didn't work. The lock on the door had been ripped off. The ceiling were all dirty and the fan hadn't been cleaned for a long time. The bathroom had no ventilation, so it turns into a steam room. The shower/spa was dirty and had mould in the grout. Breakfast....we just had to laugh. The hot foods consisted of unshelled hard-boiled eggs, potato gems, cold spaghetti, and sausages. They gave us plastic plates, knives and forks, and were instructed to wipe off any food and return them to the front counter.

I really wish we had taken some photos as it's hard to believe a room in Surfers Paradise could be this awful.

The location is great, just a short stroll to the beach, and if they were to spend a little bit of money, the accommodation would be 100x better. It just feels like they've gone too far to save costs.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bsrhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortManagement1, Manager at Paradise Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

We are sorry that you didnt enjoy your stay at Paradise Island Resort.

Every unit is individually owned and we always encourage the owners to update the units and have a refurbishment plan lined up for most units. At Paradise Island Resort we work very hard at maintaining a level of cleanliness and hygiene and the staff is trained to rectify any maintenance issue as soon as notified. We pride ourselves on our FREE breakfasts for guests and continue to get wonderful compliments daily on how fresh the food is and how much better (& cheaper) we are than other resorts on the Gold Coast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

I'd read the reviews and was hesitant to book, but during the busy xmas/new year period and booking last minute our choices were limited. The tariff was a bit much but it's peak season! The room was nicely furnished and big enough for the 3 of us. The pool area looked lovely, the location is spot on- walk anywhere in Surfers.
Yes the breakfast is different (odd food combinations) but it was all fresh looking and I witnessed Coles and Woolworths delivering food; overall if you need a coffee, toast and some fresh fruit you'll be happy. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
One downfall-I would add their housekeeping wasn't 100%- my husband wasn't impressed with the cleanliness of the bathroom.

Room tip: Bottom floor facing the car park is a little noisy if you are a light sleeper.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank davbro95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortManagement1, Manager at Paradise Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you had a great time at Paradise Island Resort during your visit to the Gold Coast.

Our breakfast is indeed proving to be a hit amongst all our guests and they love the variety that we have to offer.

With regards to the cleaning, all our rooms are checked after they are cleaned by a supervisor so I will be passing on your comments on to the housekeeping team.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Paradise Island Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

Booked for a 2 night stay. Mum and dad also booked. They refused to stay in their apartment as it was filthy. Ours to was awful. I was told it had recently been renovated as it had a bathroom but there is no way it had. Upon complaining we paid extra for an upgrade. Was still pretty bad. If you do want to stay here book on air bnb rather than direct. That way you know what apartment you are getting.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017

The rooms are very tired and carpets filthy. Equipment in cupboards not much better. Had to change rooms due to condition of the filthy carpet. Breakfast served with plastic knifes and forks and polystyrene cups. Some of the staff very rude especially when asking for a room change. Booked for 4 but only one bed, again staff member was rude when asking for pull out beds.
Washing machine was not working, filthy broken one and only serving bowl in cupboard
Only redeeming feature was the swimming pool in which the kids enjoyed. Wouldn’t stay again

Room tip: Check room before hand or book elsewhere
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank 668travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews