We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moorings on Cavill Avenue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I found Margaret and Peter to extremely helpful and friendly. The one bedroom unit was clean, very well equiped, spacious and perfect for two people. The pool area was lovely. I would definately recommend Moorings on Cavill as perfect accomodation in the heart of Surfers. P.S. Also great location to busses to Theme Parks, Shopping Centres and Airport. One more tip always buy a "Go Card" for travelling, heaps chewaper than Shuttle Busses and works amazingly well.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (838)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

639 - 643 of 838 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

In late January this year my partner, two friends and I went to the Gold Coast for a holiday. This was my 6th trip to the Gold Coast and before we got there I swore it would have to be my last - however after finding this little jem I will certainly be back.

In the past I have stayed down in Broadbeach where it's a little quieter, but cannot recommend staying in Surfers at the Moorings enough. You are on Cavill Ave (the 'hub' of Surfers) but the apartments are located over the highway next to the river so it's a little quieter. We had a two bedroom apartment on the 14th floor with beautiful views of the city and the river.

It's so close to everything! About a 20 - 35 minute bus ride to the theme parks (depending on which one you go to) and a $12 taxi ride (or short bus) to Pac Fair/Jupiters Casion/Convention Centre - a tip if your not from Australia, they have bus cards that you load $$ onto, you can get these from the wee info Kiosk on Cavill Ave outside the Mall entrance, down at Pac Fair or from other convenience stores - they save you a decent amount on your fare - and from making sure you always have change.

If you are after a quiet un-populated holiday I wouldn't reccomend Surfers Paradise in general but for us it is the perfect combination of relaxation (the pool and BBQ area at the Moorings is lovely - and wasn't ever overcrowded in late Jan/early Feb), shopping and activities.

Margaret and the team are so accommodating - they had our apartment ready so quickly when we arrived early from the airport drenched from the unseasonal wet weather. After two days there I had an extremely sore back and couldn't work out what I'd done - we soon realised it was my matress (the springs had gone on it) when I told Margaret she immediately contacted the apartment owner and had it replaced - she was so apologetic and had it sorted so quickly, I was extremely greatful.

I can't reccomend the apartment complex enough, beautful clean rooms, great location and price!

Room Tip: Speak withe staff there and let them know what you're after - something easily accessable on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ashleigh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

we decided to rent this place after reading good reviews about this place and stayed at this apartment for three nights (9-12May 2012). At the reception, we were always welcomed by the big smiles of erin and margaret.. they are very helpful and friendly to us, and they can share lots of good places for shopping, and especially good restaurants to you..so do mix with them and get more info about Gold Coast from them... the apartments are well kept, clean and we are very satisfied with the overall conditions with the unit. rooms are big, toilets and living rooms are clean, dishwasher and dryer are in good condition too.. . we are glad because the room is ready and we could check in early. Location wise, very strategic, everything (shops, restaurants, beach) are within few hundred meters from the apartment. We will definitely go back to get the penthouse :) Definitely live up to the reputation of being #1 in TripAdvisor rating and wish you the best for the coming years.

Thanks a lot for making our stay in Gold Coast a fantastic trip.

Room Tip: Ask for higher level for good river night view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YWOoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This is the second time we have stayed there now and you could not find a better place. The apartments are very well maintained and clean . The service from Margret & Peter is always top class. Our Kids love the great pool and garden area and its so easy with just a short walk to heaps of shops and restaurants. There is nothing like sitting on the balconey with a beer in hand looking over the river as the sun sets. Would HIGHLY RECOMMEND the MOORINGS if you want a great stay.

Regards Darren (Wollongong) NSW

Room Tip: Room 58 is Awsome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the 14th floor for 7 nights and found it very comfortable and immaculately clean! The views over the Nerang River are quite spectacular and this more than made up for the obvious need to upgrade some of the 'tired' equipment and furnishings within the apartment. We cannot say enough about the hosting staff Margaret and Erin - at the end of the week we felt like we were saying goodbye to our family. The two were such a delight to deal with and simply couldn't do enough to ensure our stay was comfortable and pleasant. The location is perfect to be able to walk down to the beach on foot or to visit Pacific Fair or Harbor Town by bus, there really is no need for a car.

Room Tip: We had a sneak peak at room 69 (two bedrooms) which had the same view but much more modern - would p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 km away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,666 reviews
0.3 km away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
609 reviews
1.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,193 reviews
0.3 km away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,433 reviews
0.8 km away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorings on Cavill Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorings on Cavill Avenue

Address: The Moorings 63 Cavill Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: €81 - €261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorings on Cavill Avenue 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings on Cavill holiday apartments accommodation is the ultimate holiday destination combining the perfect Gold Coast location with the serenity of absolute river frontage. Moorings on Cavill is a boutique style accommodation apartment's hotel with 1 or 2 or 3 bedroom self-contained, air conditioned apartments. We also have 1 Penthouse accommodation apartment. All the apartments have fantastic views of the river and is located a short 5 minute walk to Surfers Paradise beach. We have direct access that leads directly onto riverfront boardwalk and close to the patrolled beach. We offer a choice of superior and deluxe apartments as well as budget accommodation apartments. Many of the apartments have been renovated with the deluxe being the most recent. Moorings on Cavill offers a free booking service to all the tours, shows and attractions that the Gold Coast has to offer. We can arrange all of these prior to your arrival or after you arrive .and decide which attractions you wish to visit. If you would like transfers from either the Brisbane or Gold Coast Airport by coach or private service please let us know and we can arrange this for. Just advise us your preference and flight details then we can advise you of the costs and make the bookings to make sure you have a hassle free vacation in Surfers Paradise. Call our reservations team direct for more great deals and a great accommodation apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Moorings on Cavill Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Hotel Surfers Paradise
Moorings On Cavill Avenue Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing