We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Tired property under unannounced renovation, unwelcoming staff, stay elsewhere.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BreakFree Imperial Surf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BreakFree Imperial Surf
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tired property under unannounced renovation, unwelcoming staff, stay elsewhere.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

Great location but plenty of others to pick from. Not told that pool, tennis, BBQ closed for painting in peak season. Foldout bed broken. Manager said it was against the rules to use it and all of them were broken anyway. Declined a portable bed for extra $35 x 7 nights. Co-booked with friends but security for owner occupiers stops access to other floors. Aussie staff friendliness? not even close.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greyhawker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMPMANAGER, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Thank you for posting your feedback on-line following your stay with us. Unfortunately our outdoor pool and BBQ areas were only open after 4pm Monday to Friday and after 1pm Saturday and Sunday during the exterior of our Resort. Our Indoor pool and Spa pool were available for use all day. We do not advertise sofa beds and do not use any of these that may be in the apartments due to the condition of them. We do hire in beds from an outside company and there is a charge for these. Your booking was for 2 Adults in a 1 bedroom unit that is advertised with a Queen bed. In future should you require 2 beds I would advise you to book a share twin or a 2 bedroom unit.
Regards
Margaret Merrilees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    148
    63
    19
    27
See reviews for
240
84
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Don't be fooled by the photos shown on the web, the hotel we stayed at looks a lot different...
I didn't mind the painting and renovating, because this hotel really needs it, but was dissapointed at having to stay off the balconies for some part of the stay....

First the good things, it is extremely spacious. There was 3 of us, but could have easily fit about 4 more people because there is heaps of couches...
And the views of the city and the ocean were amazing..and it was central to everything, so we didn't have to walk that far to catch the bus or to go out for dinner..

at first we couldnt stop talking about how spacious and amazing the place was..

BUT..... withing two days( we stayed 7 nights) of being there the handle on our bathroom door broke off, on both sides... so we had to use the other bathroom in case we got locked in... and we would have asked the staff to come and fix it, but we hardly spent the day at the hotel so we never bothered... and there were other things that were fallnig apart as well, including couches...
Then theres the staff who are extremely unhelpful... once i asked one of the receptionist how much it was for a ticket to movie world, thinking she would refer me to a brochure or give me any info on deals, her answer was "i dont know"... there were other incidences as well of the staff having no knowledge of where certain attractions or bus stops are located...

Anyway if you like great views and spacious apartments, and dont care about the little things, you prob would like this place...

Room Tip: mayhbe ask for a room where nothings falling apart:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nadyas86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMPMANAGER, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding you recent stay with us.
We are regretful that the maintenance issues were not brought to our attention during your stay, but wish to advise that corrective action has since been taken. I'm disappointed to hear that you were not given the information that you required regarding Theme Parks and buses as our staff are only to willing to help you with purchasing your tickets for these.
We hope to welcome you back to BreakFree Imperial Surf on your next visit to the Gold Coast.
Regards
Margaret Merrilees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

I stayed for 10 days with my family. The first thing we noticed upon arrival was the temporary fencing around the hotel and paint flecks all over the ground. (They are currently repainting the outside of the building). We were then advised that the outdoor pool and BBQ area was closed Mon-Fri until 4pm and Saturdays until 1. On top of that the tennis court was closed and we were asked not to go on our balcony because of the painting. We were only advised of the current maintenance the day before arrival when we called to advise there would be one extra staying. We were unaware of the extent of the works and lack of facilities. No attempt had been made to communicate this to us. No real consolation or discount was offered to us which was very disappointing. The room itself was okay, relatively clean with what appeared to be new tiling, new kitchen and one of the two bathrooms had been renovated. The view of the ocean was great through the large window in the living room. We had one less for the last night, and attempted to return the additional fold out bed at 1pm for a refund and were advised we could not as the company that provide the beds had already been that day. Had the maintenance been finished and all facilities available my stay may have been more positive.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictorKingsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMPMANAGER, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time in providing feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologise that in this instance we were unable to meet expectations. Due to the painting of the exterior of the Resort there were limited hours for the outdoor swimming pool and BBQ area, however the indoor pool and spa pool were available at all times. Unfortunately due to the fact that we have to hire in our fold out beds and these are delivered and picked up in the morning and you never informed us that you did not require yours until mid afternoon we were then unable to have these returned for a refund.
Once again thank you for your comments and we welcome you and your family to BreakFree Imperial Surf. on your next holiday on the Gold Coast.
Regards
Margaret Merrilees
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed for 8 nights and as soon as we arrived we noticed that the front of the building is blocked off due to painting and renovations. Our room had great views of the city and the beach and was very spacious, but than that, it was very outdated and grotty. The fully self contained kitchen very much needs ripping out and replacing. The bench had duct tape on it to cover up where it had swollen in the join. The cups had stains, the toaster had crumbs all over it and the range hood didn't look like it has ever been cleaned - and it would be 20 years old! The shower hose had a hole in it, the couchs absoloutely stunk! (They smelt like an old ashtray) the coffee table had coffee rings all over it, the air conditioning unit too had mould on the inside that you could see once it was turned on - and it too smelt pretty bad. Also, the bedside lamps where broken and had brown stains on them.
On top of all of that, every morning at around 7am the painters painting the outside of the building, stopped outside our room on their scaffolding with their radio turned up loud, swearing and yelling to each other. They had no consideration for people staying there that might be trying to have a sleep-in on their holiday.
Because we got the room reasonably cheap, we put up with it, but I would be hesitate to stay here again unless I got a renovated room.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cozza19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMPMANAGER, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on you recent stay. I am sorry you were disappointed with same aspects of your stay.
We are regretful that the issues you had, were not brought to our attention while you were staying, so that maintenance and housekeeping could have been sent to you unit to rectify.
The Resort is currently undergoing external painting, which is going to improve the Resort and we are sorry that the Painters disturbed you early in the morning.
We hope tohave the opportunity to welcome you back to BreakFree Imperial Surf again soon and check you into one of our Deluxe (refurbished) apartments
Kind Regards
Imperial Surf Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

This hotel is situated right across from the beach and within walking distance to all the shops, restaurants, pubs, clubs and public transport to get you to the theme parks. And the way the building is built no matter what room you have you will defiantly get an ocean view which i was very pleased with our room was situated at the back part of the hotel which we got both city and ocean views which the city looks amazing at night. I would probably stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Vrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMPMANAGER, General Manager at BreakFree Imperial Surf, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again on your next holiday on the Gold Coast.

Kind Regards
Imperial Surf Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.5 km away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
0.2 km away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#3 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,433 reviews
0.2 km away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#9 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
0.7 km away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#18 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.6 km away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Imperial Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Imperial Surf

Property: BreakFree Imperial Surf
Address: Imperial Surf 80 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Imperial Surf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laying claim to some of the best views on the Gold Coast, BreakFree Imperial Surf offers quality accommodation at a reasonable price. Located in the heart of Surfers Paradise overlooking the beach, all apartments have ocean views, some with sweeping panoramic vistas of the Gold Coast hinterland and surrounds. Perfect for a weekend getaway, mini-break or beachside family holiday, accommodation options include one and two bedroom apartments with large balconies, fully-equipped kitchen and laundry facilities, TV and security access. The resort offers a range of leisure facilities including a full-size tennis court, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, sauna, BBQ area and tour desk. Only a short walk will have you in Cavill Avenue where you can hit the shops or dine at one of the many cafes or restaurants. When the sun sets the Surfers Paradise nightlife takes over and all the nightclubs are only a short walk away. With the surf-patrolled beach directly opposite and the retail, dining and entertainment hub of the Gold Coast literally on the doorstop, the resort offers choice - whether you want to laze in the sun or party until the sun comes up. Maintenance Notice We are excited to announce BreakFree Imperial Surf will be undertaking an upgrade of the external balcony balustrades. This work is scheduled between from 20 April until 10 December 2015 and it will be carried out from 8am to 5pm Monday to Friday only. During this time there may be restricted access to the hotel entrance and limited access to some balconies. The tennis courts will be closed from 20 April until 15 October 2015. The outdoor pool will be closed from October 2015 until the end of the project, however the indoor pool will remain open from 7am until 9pm throughout this period. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your BreakFree Imperial Surf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Surf Hotel Surfers Paradise
BreakFree Imperial Surf Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing