We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find somewhere else”
Review of Crazy Cat Cafe

Crazy Cat Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Australia's first ever Fully Licensed Cat Cafe in the heart of Surfers Paradise! The Crazy Cat Cafe in Surfers Paradise isn’t just about our beautiful resident cats... although they are the spotlight, we have so much to offer EVERYONE! We are a fully licensed cafe with an amazing outdoor area overlooking Surfers Paradise Boulevard, and a great cafe area with purrfect views of the Cat Lounge & Surfers Paradise. Award winning coffee, ice cold drinks - alcoholic & non-alcoholic AND delicious food, boasting our new menu... We even have kitty related merchandise available for purchase. WE CATER TO EVERYONE - CAT LOVER OR NOT... You’re missing out if you’ve not been here, drop in & come say hi. The Café & Balcony is separate to the Cat Lounge, so the allergic or curious people can still have a peak at the cats or simply people watch with our great views whilst enjoying our delicious & fun new menu! So hurry, don’t delay, come check out Gold Coasts newest and most spoken of attraction…
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 5 September 2018

We went there 10 minutes before closing . We had driven 2 hrs before flying out early, the next day. They wouldnt let us in without charging full price for 2 kids & 1 adult.. The kids were so dissapointed. All the kids wanted to do is pat one of the many cats....Terrible customer service . Not very friendly people..

Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaxmoureau, Owner at Crazy Cat Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Hi Andrea
What date did you go please?
We would never charge full price as we have half sessions. Our operational times are clearly shown in our website, google and Facebook.
Unfortunately we cannot stay open for late arrivals. Our staff work a big day and Australian Fairwirk laws don’t permit staff working excessive hours, we need to be mindful of everyone.
If you went to anything with open and closing times you’d experience the same, the movies don’t have a cheap entry for the last 10 minutes nor does Sea World, movie world, etc. so to review us so poorly as you were late is rather nasty and unfair.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cat lover"
in 6 reviews
"love cats"
in 5 reviews
"beautiful cats"
in 4 reviews
"friendly cats"
in 3 reviews
"human interaction"
in 2 reviews
"time slot"
in 2 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 2 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 2 reviews
"the gold coast"
in 4 reviews
"great fun"
in 2 reviews
"breed"
in 10 reviews
"playful"
in 8 reviews
"kitty"
in 6 reviews
"session"
in 6 reviews
"feline"
in 5 reviews
"cuddling"
in 2 reviews
"50mins"
in 2 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2018

Bypass all those cafes populated by latte drinkers accompanied by their hounds. And head to Surfers Paradise and the Crazy Cat Cafe to enjoy your coffee or a light snack/lunch and enjoy the company of lots of beautiful, cuddly pussy cats. Cat cuddles are so pleasurable and can reduce stress and improve your wellbeing. Oh yes, additionally the staff were lovely and I enjoyed my pasta lunch.

Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaxmoureau, Owner at Crazy Cat Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Hi Wendy
Thank you so much for the lovely review. Appreciate the time taken & such nice remarks, the Crazy Cats are very special. We glad you had fun and hopefully see you again one day :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

Love the cats over here.
They are maintained well and groomed well.
A few are more friendly and would come to you and be near you. A few will ignore you and runaway.

Overall the experience is great :)

Thank rckong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaxmoureau, Owner at Crazy Cat Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for the nice feedback. The Crazy Cats are super awesome, we love all their unique personalities. Hope to see you again one day :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

I was told by shop assistant that there was no harm being pregnant and attending the Cat Cafe. One cat stratched me and I started bleeding after being in there for 30 seconds - now I risk my health and my babies health. No care or advice given from shop assistant and no money back. The Cats were also unfriendly and really unhappy in that environment.

Thank kbjw87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaxmoureau, Owner at Crazy Cat Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

We are very shocked to read your review, please take the time to read all other reviews received - our cats are friendly.
You would’ve signed a disclosure statement before entering the cat lounge where all advise is given, so again I’m afraid you aren’t being honest.
A little scratch that you say you’ve received won’t harm you or your child, if you felt so strongly about this you shouldn’t go near any animal when pregnant, as all animals are unpredictable.
Our staff would’ve offered you a band aid, legally that’s all we allowed to do.
Everyone enters at their own risk, again fully disclosd where you sign in and read rules and disclosure before entering.
Again, we are disappointed with such a negative review from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2018

While on a trip to the Gold Coast we thought we would pop in here for some cat cuddles. Being a cat lover I was not disappointed. There was plenty of cats running around for us to pat and cuddle. I was surprised we were even allowed to pick them up besides one cat. Two other cat cafes I have visited don't allow this. We paid $15.50 for about an hour of kitty cuddling time. The place is well managed with the workers making sure people are doing the right thing and not harassing or stressing the cats. They have also built in kitty doors for the cats to leave the room if they need some alone time. Plenty of different breeds to see and touch which was a welcome change from the standard Moggy. I had a chat to the owner/manager who was lovely and answered all my questions.
The only reason I didn't score excellent on this one was because while we didn't order anything to drink we were looking at the cakes etc on offer and they all looked terrible like they had been in the fridge too long. I don't think the cat cafe makes these themselves - probably orders from a supplier which they might look at changing?
Besides this minor complaint we had a great time and I would return again.

Thank Nomes88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaxmoureau, Owner at Crazy Cat Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thank you for the lovely detailed review. We are glad you had a great time.
Yes we support local businesses and get our food made locally, we can assure you it is fresh & very tasty, nothing on Display hasn’t been taste tested by us and customers feedback, we apologise you didn’t think it looked good.
Glad the Crazy Cats gave you lots of love.
Hope to see you again one day :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crazy Cat Cafe also viewed

Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to Crazy Cat Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing