We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Personal touch, run by a family not a corporation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rockhampton Plaza Hotel International
Ranked #33 of 34 Hotels in Rockhampton
Warragul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Personal touch, run by a family not a corporation”
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We came to Rockhampton for 9 days during the September school holidays to get warm (Victorians) and explore the local attractions.
Many day trip were taken with the staff never short of ideas and brochures. The kids thought the pool was awesome and some days we just hang out around the pool.
The staff went out of their way for us and good friendships were made. Our rooms were customised to accomodate all of us and quiet. The restaurant was great. We have a teenager with peanut allergies and the chef and staff were amazing in accomodating us. Over the 9 days we got to explore the menu and never had one disappointing plate.
I would stay here anytime i visit Rocky and would recommend it to others at a drop of a hat.
These guys are doing an amazing job.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hapycampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    11
    11
    3
    9
See reviews for
3
9
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

The only reason I booked this hotel, was my other three go to hotels were booked out. I looked online at a reservations website which said the hotel was four star and the photos looked quite good. My mistake was not checking tripadvisor first.

This hotel is so dated, my room needs to be seen to be believed. It is incredibly old, paint is pealing off the walls, the bathroom is horrid, the windows don't open, the walls are paper thin, even the paintings on the wall are horrible. The lobby even smells old. It is so bad I can't help but laugh. Thankfully it is only for one evening. I couldn't bring myself to eat at the restaurant so cannot comment. If you had to stay here, I guess try requesting a recently refurbished room because they must exist based on other people's reviews.

Sorry Rockhampton Plaza but I will not be returning.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ilovefeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rockhampton hotels

London
Level Contributor
160 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2009

The staff certainly try hard to make you feel welcome, and cannot do enough for you, We were only here with a group for one night, but they seemed to be making every effort. We were told the hotel had been taken over by a family business not very long ago - pretty ambitious when you consider the hotel has over 60 rooms. OK, everything isn't perfect yet, the decor is a bit old fashioned, and the food a bit hit and miss. Even so, the place deserves encouragement, and you won't be seriously disappointed. Give it a try if you're passing through.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
176 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

This is dated and slightly run down hotel on the edge of a dated and slightly run down town, Rockhampton. It's warm here so the aircon needs to run all night and it's therefore a noisy sleep. The windows can't be opened and it is a busy road besides. B'fast is no longer served in the restaurant, only in the guest's rooms, perhaps it is all too much effort to run a b'fast buffet but for whatever reason guests must fill a form nominating a delivery time. I went for a early morning walk and was scolded for not being in my room when b'fast was delivered. This was ironic since I nominated 7.15am and I was back at the hotel at 7.05am. Nothing to complain about just something to manage, the b'fast was fine.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WernMachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

I found the hotel to be satisfactory. We had no problems.

The hotel is dated, but functional. Better for a business trip I would say. I haven't stayed anywhere else in Rockhampton so I don't know how it compares to competitors.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrushikr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rockhampton hotels
0.2 km away
Citywalk Motor Inn Rockhampton
0.2 km away
Centrepoint Motor Inn
Centrepoint Motor Inn
#25 of 34 in Rockhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.5 km away
No photo provided
Metro Motel
#31 of 34 in Rockhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Fitzroy Motor Inn
Fitzroy Motor Inn
#32 of 34 in Rockhampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.1 km away
Best Western The Stirling Rockhampton
0.7 km away
Villa Capri
Villa Capri
#19 of 34 in Rockhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockhampton Plaza Hotel International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockhampton Plaza Hotel International

Property: Rockhampton Plaza Hotel International
Address: 161-165 George St, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 34 Hotels in Rockhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockhampton Plaza Hotel International 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rockhampton Plaza Hotel is a seven story, four star property, 70 ensuite hotel rooms with keyless entry security code door lock system to all rooms and the largest keyless entry security undercover car park. We are targeting to be the best security hotel in Rockhampton. 33 Executive Rooms on 4th,5th & 6th Floors, 33 Standard Rooms on 3rd,2nd and 1st Floors, 4 Budget Rooms on Ground Floor. All rooms are air conditioned and feature remote TV, tea and coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board, direct dial phone,Free Wi-Fi Internet and large collection of Free In-house Movies available upon request. We are proud of that all our rooms from 1st floor and up face the Rockhampton Central Rainbow Fountain Park have the Best Park View in Town, especially the top 3 floor's rooms can see the magnificent St. Joseph's Cathedral. The Hotel incorporates with the Fountain View Restaurant and Bar, an outdoor swimming and wading spas pool, complimentary secure under cover parking, guest laundry, pool and cocktail bar. With one Large Multipurpose Function Room available, and small intimate weddings welcomed, the Rockhampton Plaza Hotel offers various catering packages to suit any budget. The Best 10 Reasons to stay with Rockhampton Plaza Hotel International: (1) The Best Security Hotel Accommodation in Rockhampton, with Key-less Entry Security Code System to our main entrance and back entrances and all our hotel rooms. (2) The Best and the Biggest Key-less Entry Security Undercover Car Park in Rockhampton. (3) The Best Park View and Cathedral View in Town, the hotel is right opposite to the Rockhampton Rainbow Fountain Central Park with a magnificent Cathedral behind the park. (4) The First and the Only one Hotel in Town equipped with Optic Fiber Cable Internet Connection can provide the Fastest Free Wi-Fi in town to all the hotel guests. (5) Close to the only two 24 hours fast food outlets in town , Hungry Jacks (1min walk), McDonald (5 min walk). (6) Also close to all the other fast food outlets, Pizza Hut, KFC, Red Rooster, Subway, Indian Brothers all on the same street within 5 to 8 mins walking distance. (7) Walking Distance to many shopping stores and restaurants. (8) Only 7 mins drive to Rockhampton Airport & 2 mins drive to Railway Station, walking distance to Bus & Coach Tran-site Center. (9) The Hotel that Singapore Air Force will normally stay for their military exercise in Rockhampton every year. (10) The Most Popular Wedding Function Place in Rockhampton, due to the St. Joseph's Cathedral is only across the road to this hotel. The Hotel is current undergoing a major refurbishment program and expecting to achieve AAA 4.5 star rating by the end of 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Rockhampton Plaza Hotel International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing