We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rocky Resort Motor Inn
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Rockhampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2015

We stayed at this motel for one night during a drive around the country. Compared to other motels/ motor inns in this price range, the Rocky Resort felt a lot more like a hotel resort! The room was spacious, clean and modern. Very comfortable bed, large modern bathroom, and all other facilities you could expect from a motor inn (air con, tv, fridge, kettle, etc)
Located on a main road close to service stations, shops and restaurants.
Could not fault this place, and would definitely return if we find ourselves in Rockhampton again.

Thank you for a

Room Tip: We were in an upstairs room and the stairs were fairly steep, so I would recommend requesting a down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kristy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2015

We stayed one night and booked in advance and had to pay on check out. The room itself was big enough, but the carpets were quite stained, there was a stale smell in the room and the view we had was of a half built garage across the street. Having said that, the bed was clean, there were adequate facilities and it was easily accessible. OK for a one night stay but compared to other accommodation we stayed at it was expensive and not as nice.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2015

- warm welcome, friendly staff.
- basic, clean, and spacious rooms (Family room)
- the pool is small, but big enough to cool down

Only disadvantage I see is, that our room was very dark during day time.

We did not try the restaurant and breakfast as it was closed around Christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sunshine-for-four
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2015

So on the way back from our christmas trip from Brisbane to the Far North, I knew we were going to arrive late afternoon and leave early morning so just wanted cheap, clean and quiet accommodation for a quick stopover and we booked this place because of the reviews on here.

We were doing 8 hour driving days and as I am very pregnant and hubby was doing most of the driving and we were travelling with our 2 year old as well, a good rest was vital.
Unfortunately it was not to be.

It was $125 for a queen twin room, which at this time of the year is reasonable but there was a sign up in the front of the hotel as we drove in advertising rooms for $100. Could I have saved myself $25 by walking in and not pre-booking?...I didn't bother investigating - too tired.

It was exceptionally clean - spotless in fact but I'm not sure what they use to clean because the carpets felt slimy with chemical residue once you took your shoes off. My whole family also started sneezing and having sinus trouble in the room (it only cleared once we left the room.) We even opened all the windows to try and air the room but it didn't help (and then the room was too noisy.)
The bathroom also had no extractor fan and the only window opens onto the passageway so you cant really open it. There was a container of soap/shampoo/conditioner mounted in the shower instead of the little bottles that you get. There was also plenty of tea/coffee and even 2 packs of arnotts nice biscuits in the little kitchenette.

We contemplated ordering dinner from the menu or going to the restaurant and it all looked really good on the menu but it was all a little bit expensive. We just had something light from a nearby take-away and all went to bed early. With the windows closed and the aircon on, the room is quiet so we thought we were on the way to a good night of rest.

Unfortunately we all awoke at about 4am to the sound of the smoke alarm which started beeping every few minutes. We thought about contacting the emergency number but by the time they would have checked it out and replaced the battery or whatever it would have been time for us to wake up and leave anyway, so we just got ready and left early.

Next time we travel through Rockhampton I think we will try another hotel - there are plenty in the same price range.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank NunesFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2014

We stayed for one night, looking for a clean place to rest and sleep during our road trip. Pros for this inn for us were the good size room, good size fridge, cleanliness of the room and the bathroom, free parking under cover and very nice find to get the wireless internet connection included in the room price. This is how any modern accommodation should do it. Even though it was easy to hear all sounds through the door/walls, the stay was reasonably quiet. We booked online in advance and the check in and check out were smooth.

Negative for us was the strange service experience we faced. After settling in to the room, we found a note from the guest directory saying fresh milk for tea can be collected from the reception. In other inns/hotels this has worked as stated: go to reception and get some milk free of charge. In here when we asked about the milk for tea, I think it was the owner who said "go to restaurant, order some food and milk with it". What? We tried to clarify we are looking for the milk only as stated in the booklet in the room, but in the end had to return to room empty handed, not even getting any price if we would have liked to buy some milk. I'm still confused about this "service" experience.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lumihiutale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
don051058, Owner at Rocky Resort Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2014

Thank you for your feed back however I'm just as confused as you over the milk issue. As the owner of this motel and on site 24/7 I don't recall having a conversation with anyone of milk, we do supply milk in our rooms which is UHT but as you mention that in the information folder it does state the if extra or fresh milk is preferred that you just need to contact reception and there is NO extra cost for this service, the extra cartons and fresh milk are kept at reception not in the restaurant and I certainly did not tell any guest to ask for milk when ordering a meal. Sometimes while traveling from over seas people do get confused what motel that they have stay in and I think that this maybe the case

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rockhampton hotels
2.8 km away
Cosmopolitan Motel & Serviced Apts
0.5 km away
The Q Motel Rockhampton
The Q Motel Rockhampton
#18 of 35 in Rockhampton
56 reviews
2.7 km away
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
#12 of 35 in Rockhampton
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Citywalk Motor Inn Rockhampton
0.3 km away
Best Western Cattle City Motor Inn
2.7 km away
Edge Apartment Hotel Rockhampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Resort Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Resort Motor Inn

Address: 174 Gladstone Rd, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Rockhampton
Price Range: €61 - €86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocky Resort Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rocky Resort Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing