We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
26
11
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
11
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We loved this lovely B&B set in the tree tops of the Queensland tropical forest. We woke to parrots, cockatoos and kookaburras and calling, screeching and laughing.

The breakfasts were wonderful - all well prepared and gourmet (at least for us!).

The family who runs the place definitely made us feel at home. They were incredibly helpful and friendly. We couldn't have asked for better hosts.

While this B&B is a not right in Port Douglas, it was close enough to enjoy Port Douglas, the Daintree Rainforest, Mossman Gorge, the Great Barrier Reef (boat excursions) and parts of the Outback. A rental car solves the problem. Denise and Marie helped us locate a car even though all the internet sites should all agencies as sold out (our trip was during the total solar eclipse in Far North Queensland - Nov. 14, 2012.

This place is not a luxury resort but makes you feel at home. We had the large room (with 2 sleeping areas which slept 4 people). The room is screened and was perfect for us with dive gear and luggage for a 2 week stay. We were happy to find the washing machine right outside our room.

Breakfast is served in the communal room/pavilion which is open air and birds have been known to fly through. There is a swimming pool and a hot tub available (we were disappointed to not have time to enjoy the hot tub).

We will definitely come back to this place if our travels bring us back out to Far North Queensland again!

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandraStamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed at the Coral Sea Retreat for 3 nights. Coral Sea Retreat is about 15 km outside of Port Douglas and the drive takes about 15 mins. By the time we arrived, the hosts were already expecting us and by their warm welcome we immediately felt at home. Our room was clean and comfortable but a little bit dark. But that didn't matter because the best things are the lush garden and the shared terrace with amazing views of the rainforest and the ocean. This is also the place where we were served breakfast every morning. There is a different breakfast menu for every morning to choose from. Every breakfast we had was simply gorgeous! We can only recommend this place! For an expensive place like Port Douglas it was very good value for the money.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrickBadenCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Coral Sea Retreat is a little piece of paradise hidden from view yet overlooking the sea and only a 10 minute drive into Port Douglas. We stayed here for 6 nights with my brother who was out from the UK on a famiily visit. The retreat suited us perfectly. We stayed in the tree house which was very private and comfortable and we woke up to the most glorious sunsets each morning. The tree-top open lounge (which we named the Verandah Bar) was perfect for breakfasts overlooking the tropical garden and also for drinks at sunset.
The 2 bedroom tree house had everything we needed and was so comfortable that we cooked dinner there 5 out of the 6 nights.
Marie, Denise, Michelle and Michael were the most welcoming hosts and provided all those little extras that makes a stay in a B&B so special - passionfruit, bananas and herbs from the garden, eskies and beach chairs plus lots of local knowledge. Michelle was full of surprises (ask to see her handywork in the shed!).
Coral Sea Retreat is 2 minutes drive to Oak Beach but we walked most mornings before breakfast. Highly recommended and much better value than many of the resorts in Port Douglas. This is a perfect base for exploring Port Douglas, the Daintree area and Atherton Tablelands. We would definitely return.

Room tip: Ask for the 2 bedroom tree house for total privacy.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MimiNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed at the Coral sea B&B for 2 nights and had a wonderful stay. The women that run this establishment made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. Nothing seemed to be a problem and they were always willing to offer advice and local information. The room was clean and comfortable and the use of "the treehouse" was an added bonus. What a fabulous area-a communal lounge area big enough for 2 or 3 couples to congregate and yet have their own privacy. Loved it. Gorgeous surrounding and very tranquil. Would go back in a flash. For an extra $5 you can use their bar-b-que and cook your own meal. Only drawback is that you really need your own transport to get there. Well done ladies.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed at a number of B&Bs on our recent trip to FNQ, and I would not hesitate in recommending Coral Sea Retreat to any traveller. The warm welcome on arrival made us feel at home straight away. Our room was comfortable and the outdoor eating area was just beautiful with views over the Coral Sea and the most comfortable chairs to just sit back with a cool drink and relax after a big day of adventures. The breakfasts were beautifully presented each morning and taken outside, with the sunrise over the sea and beautiful Cairns Birdwing butterflies and a variety of birds in abundance in the lovely garden. (the breakfast menu had new dishes daily) I tried something new each day and I was never disappointed, these ladies are the best cooks!!! We also enjoyed an evening meal (pork chops) and the best tropical fruit salad I have ever tasted, the quality, presentation and standard of the food was very high. Marie also gave us great tips on things to see and good places to eat in Port Douglas. Our comfort and needs were always met, and nothing was too much trouble for our lovely hosts Marie, Denise, Michelle and Michael.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 963VeronicaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews