We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Bay Villas Resort(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reef Club Resort(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peppers Beach Club(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra PortSea(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mowbray By The Sea(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Terraces(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (785)
Filter reviews
785 results
Traveller rating
605
148
17
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
605
148
17
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanne jasonthe main streetwelcome packlocal knowledgeone bedroom apartmentshort walkfour mile beachhelpful hostspool areadaintree rainforestlow islesrestaurants and shopssmall kitchenno hesitation in recommendingbooking tripsthe great barrier reefwithin easy walking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
516 - 521 of 785 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We visit Port Douglas a couple of times a year and have always stayed at a large resort a few km's out of town. A last minute decision to travel this time found us looking for a new place to try. We loved the Freestyle Resort. A short stroll into town...no waiting for mini buses required! Anne and Jason are wonderful hosts, so friendly and helpful to all their guests. We had a one bedroom apartment on the first floor. The room and surrounds were spotless and while the living space is not huge, it was certainly fine for two people. The kitchenette was small but functional and has a full sized fridge. Even though we were at the front of the resort there was no road noise and we slept soundly. Added bonuses were austar TV, pool towels and free WiFi in our room. We stayed for 8 nights and the room was serviced mid-trip, which we have found does not always happen else where. The guest laundry is efficient, with large washing machines and dryers. Whole load washed and dried in just over an hour. The pool area is lovely and you can choose to sit in full sun or shade without having to move around. We used the bbq one night which was great, the huge hot plate could easily accommodate 3 groups at once if required. The car park is a little tight if you have a big car but there are other options at street level if necessary. I would happily recommend Freestyle to anyone who wants good value and relaxation in what can be a pretty pricey place.

Room Tip: It you like sitting on the balcony you need to choose between pool side and shady side. We love the sun but were happy to be on the shady side to get a little relief. Pool side are in the sun most of the day (which would be lovely in the cooler months) but not really private as they overlook the pool area. Shady side is more private and very pleasant.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I stayed at the Freestyle in Port Douglas on recommendation from my sister who had also stayed there, and told me of its good location and facilities.

I found the staff to be incredibly helpful - going out of their way to recommend good gluten free restaurants (of which there are more than Sydney); and assisting my sister in organising a surprise for my birthday whilst there. They have good local knowledge and are very helpful in suggesting tours and places to see.

The pool and spa area is extremely well kept, and was a delight to relax in on Christmas day.

I've been recommending this resort to everyone I've spoken to since returning home - and look forward to returning again very soon.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimmer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This hotel has everything you could want. It has large clean rooms, great location, and best of all a wonderful owner/operator, Ann. You feel like your in paradise. The parrots are everywhere. They flock to your balcony to have coffee with you. And in the afternoon they come back for happy hour. It was quite an experience. After months travel, we believe this our favorite spot. Can't wait to get back some day.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettyboop13_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

This is our second visit to PD. First time we stayed in a hotel, this time we wanted something with privacy and self service facility. Since our first visit to PD, a lot of resorts/hotels have sprung up and made the choice a bit harder. As the TripAdviser had good reviews on the Freestyle resort, my husband and i decided to spend our holiday there. We were not disappointed. Very clean, with a wonderful balcony where we could relax or have our meals. The beach is one block away and the town of PD about a 10 minute stroll. Anne who manages the property was wonderful and extremely helpful even with very diffult inquiries that we threw at her. She together with Jason were very knowlegable and accomodating. PD has grown full of wonderful restaurants and shops. For us the standout restaurant was Bucco, an Italian restaurant on Macrossan street

Room Tip: The balconies facing on the opposite side of the swimming pool are quieter
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gladtoassist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Stayed in a two bedroom unit at Freestyle Resort in Port Douglas. Rooms were pretty much as advertised, perhaps a bit smaller than we expected from the photos -- but no surprise there. Same issue with the pool, which was nice, but a bit smaller than anticipated.

The two bedroom units are all on the top floors, up two flights, no lift. One bedroom was up another internal set of stairs and rather "open plan", so privacy was somewhat limited.

The laundry facilities are not in the room, but down in the car park, and cost $4 a wash or dry.

The place is a ten minute walk from town, five to the beach -- which isn't bad unless the heat is oppressive.

Staff was friendly and very helpful -- we ended up with three maps that had circles all over them, after the owner described virtually every merchant in town. Too much info, Ann! We completely lost track of what was what! Anyway, she was lovely.

I observe that Port Douglas is on hard times these days -- most everything is rather deserted, largely due to the Aussie dollar being so high. Aussies are going overseas, and overseas visitors aren't coming. So if you want to turn the screws, I bet you could bargain the price down.

Room Tip: I'd recommend you request a room NOT facing the pool, but the vacant lot on the other side (quieter).
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmilingKodiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews