We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“newyear holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“newyear holiday”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

good location close to everything staff great wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Freestyle

Room Tip: go for pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    138
    17
    11
    4
See reviews for
214
350
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We visit Port Douglas a couple of times a year and have always stayed at a large resort a few km's out of town. A last minute decision to travel this time found us looking for a new place to try. We loved the Freestyle Resort. A short stroll into town...no waiting for mini buses required! Anne and Jason are wonderful hosts, so friendly and helpful to all their guests. We had a one bedroom apartment on the first floor. The room and surrounds were spotless and while the living space is not huge, it was certainly fine for two people. The kitchenette was small but functional and has a full sized fridge. Even though we were at the front of the resort there was no road noise and we slept soundly. Added bonuses were austar TV, pool towels and free WiFi in our room. We stayed for 8 nights and the room was serviced mid-trip, which we have found does not always happen else where. The guest laundry is efficient, with large washing machines and dryers. Whole load washed and dried in just over an hour. The pool area is lovely and you can choose to sit in full sun or shade without having to move around. We used the bbq one night which was great, the huge hot plate could easily accommodate 3 groups at once if required. The car park is a little tight if you have a big car but there are other options at street level if necessary. I would happily recommend Freestyle to anyone who wants good value and relaxation in what can be a pretty pricey place.

Room Tip: It you like sitting on the balcony you need to choose between pool side and shady side. We love the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I stayed at the Freestyle in Port Douglas on recommendation from my sister who had also stayed there, and told me of its good location and facilities.

I found the staff to be incredibly helpful - going out of their way to recommend good gluten free restaurants (of which there are more than Sydney); and assisting my sister in organising a surprise for my birthday whilst there. They have good local knowledge and are very helpful in suggesting tours and places to see.

The pool and spa area is extremely well kept, and was a delight to relax in on Christmas day.

I've been recommending this resort to everyone I've spoken to since returning home - and look forward to returning again very soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimmer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This hotel has everything you could want. It has large clean rooms, great location, and best of all a wonderful owner/operator, Ann. You feel like your in paradise. The parrots are everywhere. They flock to your balcony to have coffee with you. And in the afternoon they come back for happy hour. It was quite an experience. After months travel, we believe this our favorite spot. Can't wait to get back some day.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettyboop13_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

This is our second visit to PD. First time we stayed in a hotel, this time we wanted something with privacy and self service facility. Since our first visit to PD, a lot of resorts/hotels have sprung up and made the choice a bit harder. As the TripAdviser had good reviews on the Freestyle resort, my husband and i decided to spend our holiday there. We were not disappointed. Very clean, with a wonderful balcony where we could relax or have our meals. The beach is one block away and the town of PD about a 10 minute stroll. Anne who manages the property was wonderful and extremely helpful even with very diffult inquiries that we threw at her. She together with Jason were very knowlegable and accomodating. PD has grown full of wonderful restaurants and shops. For us the standout restaurant was Bucco, an Italian restaurant on Macrossan street

Room Tip: The balconies facing on the opposite side of the swimming pool are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gladtoassist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.4 km away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.4 km away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
681 reviews
0.5 km away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
578 reviews
3.0 km away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
796 reviews
4.2 km away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freestyle Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freestyle Resort Port Douglas

Property: Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Address: 47 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Freestyle Resort Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freestyle Resort Apartments are favourites in the Port Douglas market. The Apartments were fully refurbished in 2014 setting benchmark standards for boutique accommodation in the Region. We experience high repeat visitation with many guests returning on an annual basis. Located beachside of Port Douglas with parkland opposite and to the North our location is second to none. Our award winning heated swimming pool and spa is a favourite spot for a quiet read, or just taking in the sun in a lovely tropical garden setting. The little extras like great personalised service from your resident managers Anne & Jason, complimentary pool towels, mid-week room services and free wi-fi broadband internet in all apartments and around the Pool precinct sets the scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Freestyle Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Freestyle Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Freestyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing