We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hibiscus Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

Loved the place very Balinese style place great pool great spa and great location just minutes from shops, restaurants, beach and pub love love loved it. We also went out to the low Isle reef snorkelling it's was just a short walk to where we stayed this hotel is in very handy spot, staff were very friendly and helpful , breakfast by the pool every morning was very hard to handle as you can imagine. Would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mellymell69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 109 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2015

Hotel is close to everything in Port Douglas 5 min to beach, bars and restaurants.
Can be a bit noisy on the lower floors but overall the room is very comfortable with everything required for a good break. Pools are fantastic with plenty of sun and shade and BBQ close by

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

My review is poor - not Hibiscus, or their fault, they could not have been more helpful and accommodating.
I was not well before we left, and I left a medication behind, and that caused severe withdrawal symptoms all the time we were away.
However a special meal that was part of the package was very poor, and a boat trip also was poor in comparison to similar trips along the Pumicestone passage here at Bribie Island.
Hibiscus is a bit dated but the accommodation is still great and clean with all the amenities that you could want, and it is only a short walk to Macrossan Street, Port Douglas' main street and main shopping/tourism centre
I am looking forward to returning in a happier frame of mind

Room Tip: Ground floor units near book in kiosk are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldcoot4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

We stayed 5 nights early September and had a 1 bedroom unit on the top floor. It was very quiet and the rooms were very clean with a small balcony with table and chairs. The accommodation suited my husband and I as we spent a lot of time when in the room on the balcony which was quite secluded compared to some of the other units. There are 2 pools one in front and the other at the back which was the setting each morning for breakfast. The resort is close to the shops and close to the beach. I used the spa for 2 complimentary 30 minute massages and also paid for a 1 hour facial. I was surprised that it was a male (Scot) who was performing the massage and facial. However, it was one of the best I have ever had. One night we had friends over and had a BBQ at the pool at the back. We all thoroughly enjoyed this. The lighting around the pool and the facilities was really good. If there is to be a downside, I would say that it would have been nice to have had more towels. We were only given 1 towel each and as the room was not serviced this seemed a bit too long. The laundry facilities were in the carpark which was fine. But I did not want to be washing towels with my other clothes. Overall it was a great place to stay and would recommend.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor in the front are quieter. Our room was positioned so that no-one could lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2015

Could be a lovely place, jungle feel with plants and torches and the wooden walkways but it is let down by the service. At no point did we feel we were being looked after. room on the ground floor was clean and spacious but very dark. Replacement towel policy is just silly especially with 2 pools on site which were great. if this place is taken over by someone who cares it could be fantastic.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms are very dark and cave like
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.2 km away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#19 of 42 in Port Douglas
274 reviews
0.4 km away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#27 of 42 in Port Douglas
532 reviews
0.4 km away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#7 of 42 in Port Douglas
722 reviews
4 km away
Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments
Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments
#34 of 42 in Port Douglas
65 reviews
4 km away
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments
#35 of 42 in Port Douglas
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Resort & Spa

Address: 18 - 22 Owen St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Hibiscus Gardens Spa Resort)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: €108 - €232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hibiscus Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spa resort is ideally located just 100 metres from the vibrant Macrossan Street and 300 metres from famous Port Douglas Four Mile Beach and the Reef Marina. Port Douglas has always been considered an ideal holiday destination because of its proximity to the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree Rainforest, two of Australia's World Heritage Listed Parks. Experience the adventures of a lifetime - diving, sailing, snorkelling the Great Barrier Reef, safaris, bushwalks and eco tourism tours in the Daintree Rainforest. At the end of your exciting day come back to the tranquil Hibiscus Resort & Spa to relax and soak up the tropical ambience. Lush tropical gardens swirl around your balcony. Teak and cedar furnishings create a calm, soothing atmosphere. Carved stone statues guard the inviting pools & ponds. Balinese inspired holiday accommodation. Laze in the tranquil waters of the resort pools. Unwind and refresh in our Hibiscus Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hibiscus Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Gardens Hotel Port Douglas
Hibiscus Gardens Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing