We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
280
63
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
280
63
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location quiet street the main street four mile beach shops and restaurants bbq area garrick street small complex full kitchen and laundry facilities apartment was clean a great place to stay poolside bbq friendly hosts covered parking short walk to the beach surf club memorable stay
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Garrick House. It is a beautiful apartment complex that is being remodeled with care to keep its character with features such as marble hallways, cool foyers, lush foiliage and relaxing patios. Our apartment was huge and nicely decorated with a modern kitchen. It was a cool refuge on a hot day and we could choose toput on the air conditioning or open the windows to let fresh ocean air in and use the fans. The pool is another nice place to cool off and was a great place to meet other travellers. The owner and staff were very friendly, knowledgable and helpful. We had to change our booking at the last minute due to the highway between Townsville and Cairns being flooded and staff went over and above to accomodate our new dates and arrange reasonable transfers from the Cairns airport. Al was also very helpful in helping us to get out on the reef and recommended a sailing/snorkelling tour that suited us perfectly. The property is in a quiet location yet within walking distance of the swimming area of the beach, a beautiful coastal hike, shops, groceries and restaurants. There is a very nice restaurant right at the end of the street that overlooks the ocean and we had a great meal there watching the sunset. We only wish we had had more time to enjoy Port Douglas and this amazing property.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JoanneH2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LivPD, Owner at Garrick House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Many thanks Joanne H for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review! We are so pleased you had such a great stay with us and loved Port Douglas as much as we do. Safe travels and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

We stayed at Garrick House for 4 nights in March and had an amazing time. It's a short walk to the main street with all the shops and restaurants and right across the street from 4 mile beach. The owners were amazing and very helpful with everything. I was going to arrange my own transport up from the airport in Cairns, but decided just to let them handle it which was so much easier.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LivPD, Owner at Garrick House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thanks Jessica C for reviewing Garrick House and highlighting our great location to others! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Garrick House in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

Thank you Al and Olivia for a wonderful few days stay.
Garrick house is a very attractive colonial looking white painted unit of apartments in well maintained gardens with a small but sufficient pool.
situated a very short walk from the beach on a very quiet road
All the restaurants and supermarket are a short walk also
The apartment was peaceful and spotless clean with great attention paid to every detail
Olivia organised a day boat trip for us to the outer barrier reef which was a highlight of our holiday
Also perfectly situated to visit Daintree rainforest for a day.
Nothing was too much trouble Al swiftly taped up the car door mirror which I managed to remove when reversing.
A really wonderful find. Thank you

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank graine2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LivPD, Owner at Garrick House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you graine 2016 - it was a pleasure to host you at Garrick House! Thanks for leaving us such a great review - it is much appreciated. We wish you all the best for the remainder of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Garrick House was clean, spacious, had everything you would need and is in a great location. It was an easy walk to the beach, shops/restaurants and the wharf. The owners were very friendly and offered a great service, including recommending tours and offering advise. They also organised everything for us. Our family had a great time at the pool and bbq area. We would definitely stay here again. Can highly recommend.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 659sonjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LivPD, Owner at Garrick House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Many thanks 659sonjag for taking the time to review Garrick House after your recent family stay with us. We are very pleased you enjoyed our perfect location and great facilities. Thanks for recommending us to others and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

My partner and I stayed at Garrick House for a week in March and we had the most pleasant experience.
The apartments are fully contained, including dishwasher powder, laundry powder, beach towels, etc. All we needed during our stay was already in there which was highly convenient as most o the time there are essentials missing. The apartment and complex was kept very clean and welcoming and the hotel staff were extremely helpful and assisted us in choosing our trips and activities.
The location is excellent, walking distance form both the beach, main street and marina.
The complex features a pool and BBQ area but as it was the wet season we didn't use those facilities.
Overall, we would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone visiting Port Douglas, be it for a short or long stay.
Well done!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LivPD, Owner at Garrick House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Hi Elena, thank you very much for your excellent review after your recent week long stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for recommending Garrick House to others. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Garrick House sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews