We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday destination, Narelle S. NSW”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mantra in the Village
Reviewed 20 September 2015

My three friends and I enjoyed our one week stay here recently. Our accommodation was very comfortable, spacious with a modern decor. Also beds were very comfortable Met all our expectations.
Thank you Mantra in the Village.

Room Tip: Quieter at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 164 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2015

We had 3 nights in 2 apartments. Both apartments needed a real good clean. The linen was fine but the rooms were dirty. We were to worried to use the spa's.
The position was great but the noise from the street below bad, we got fights and swearing evry night on closing time of the hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Aquawater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

I just can't believe how dirty this place is! Tonight is our first night and I am almost too scared to get into the bed. 2 glasses had lipstick on them and the bins in the bathrooms and the kitchen are filthy on the outside. I am too scared to look on the inside. The table, coffee table and side table were not wiped down and had rings on them. The table has a very bad wobble which cleaners should have noticed if they had bothered to wipe down the table! There are no exhaust fans in the bathrooms. The shutters in the spa room do not close. The door to the spa is very difficult to open and close. The tracks for sliding mirrors are full of dirt and dust. In fact, everywhere there is a groove on the floor is full of dirt and dust! The place is so grotty that every time I sit down or touch anything, I start to itch. We are stuck here until Friday! It might be a great location, but it is dirty and only has a part-time receptionist. I rang reception to let them know about the glasses and the bins. I was advised that all the cleaning staff had gone for the day, but someone would attend to it tomorrow, but she didn't ask me my name or room number. I hope she will know where to send the cleaner. Who on earth gave this place a 4 Star rating? No way! Never again. First and last time I ever book accommodation with Mantra!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraPortDouglas, General Manager at Mantra in the Village, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2015

Dear Christine C,

Thank you for your feedback and it is upsetting to hear about the cleanliness of your room on arrival. This is most defiantly not our usual standard and I would like the opportunity to discuss this issue further. Mantra in the Village is manned 9am-5pm outside these hours our staff are contactable via our afterhours service and will promptly attend to any issues our guests may face. I will look into the response you received as generally feedback relating to our team is very positive.

I kindly ask that you contact me direct on david.hutcheon@mantra.com.au so I can investigate further.

Kind Regards

David Hutcheon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2015 via mobile

Mantra in the village is located on Grant Street and is pretty much right in the centre of town. They have good sized rooms but most need lots of work. Plenty of patch work visible inside units.
The complex is in a good position but on the downside there is lots of street noise - this included early morning garbage removals and late night revelers trying to get home.
You will pay for all extras when staying with any Mantra - anything from internet services to extra toilet paper. Much better value around town.
Ratings out of 100
Position: 90
Noise levels: 40
Servicing of rooms: 50
Cleanliness: 60
Pool and rec. areas: 50
Value for dollar: 58
Overall Rating: 58 (below average)

Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraPortDouglas, General Manager at Mantra in the Village, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2015

Dear Jimmy D

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort.

Mantra in the Village has a fantastic location as you have noted in your review however at times being in the heart of town can present some street noise which can effect some guests who are light sleepers. I am sorry to hear that you found the hotel below average and I can see you have a preference for fully serviced hotels.

Being a smaller, self-catering property we do receive comments regarding servicing of the rooms however the majority of our guests are happy with a mid-week service when staying 7 nights or more. Through this feedback from our guests I believe offer daily servicing or periodical servicing for a small fee rather than increasing the pricing structure to provide a service that not every guest wishes to receive. We are always more than happy to exchange towels, provide additional toiletries, dishwashing liquid and Tea & Coffee at no charge. We kindly ask any of our guests to visit us at reception to collect these items.

I do hope your time in Port Douglas was enjoyable and that you have the opportunity to visit the beautiful region again

Kind Regards

David Hutcheon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2015

We stayied in a one bedroom apartment for one week, Very well equiped. Maccrosan Street just round the corner.Bed was comfortable.Spa plus balcony. The only draw back was the niose from the council workers cleaning the street outside with thier blowers which woke us up at 6.30 nearly every morning.for this reason we would not stay again. We complainted at reception but were advised that they were aware of the problem but could not get the council to change the time .

Room Tip: Choose a room not over looking the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraPortDouglas, General Manager at Mantra in the Village, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2015

Dear John,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort.

I am glad you enjoyed your room however I am sorry to hear that the council workers disturbed your sleep. I have raised this with the council and with feedback such as yours I do hope this issue can be resolved.

I hope you had a great time in Port Douglas and we hope you can return again soon to this beautiful region.

Kind Regards

David Hutcheon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.2 km away
Mantra On The Inlet
Mantra On The Inlet
#29 of 42 in Port Douglas
248 reviews
0.1 km away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#27 of 42 in Port Douglas
532 reviews
1.6 km away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
1 km away
Coral Beach Lodge
Coral Beach Lodge
#9 of 57 in Port Douglas
426 reviews
0.5 km away
Martinique on Macrossan
Martinique on Macrossan
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra in the Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra in the Village

Address: Corner Grant & Warner Streets, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: €71 - €135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra in the Village 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra in the Village offers a range of accommodation from hotel rooms to self-contained one and two bedroom suites, all rooms include air conditioning, ceiling fans, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, tea and coffee making facilities and cable TV. Our one and two bedroom suites offer the extra convenience of kitchenette facilities as a private balcony complete with whirlpool spa. Featuring a large Roman-inspired pool and spa with mosaic tiling, cascading waterfalls and fountains set amongst tropical landscaped gardens. The resort offers complimentary parking, in-room internet connection and lift for easy access to the car park, rooms and apartments and street level. Port Douglas provides plenty of attractions and entertainment, including local markets on Sundays, the Marina Mirage complex with over 40 specialty shops, restaurants and galleries, and the famous Four Mile Beach. At Mantra in the Village you are perfectly located to explore everything Port Douglas has on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra in the Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra In The Village Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing