We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for me, but not for everyone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra On The Inlet
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent for me, but not for everyone”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

The best thing about this place is the location. It is situated within easy walking distance of everything including the Marina, the main bars in town (including the Iron House, Courty and Central Hotel) and the beach. The room (1 bed apartment) was large and comfortable.

The downsides have been mentioned elsewhere namely small pool, extra charge for room cleaning, scarcity of hotel staff and potential noise from the bars if your room faces out into the main street, although the noise was not that bad.

If looking for a self catered break without being trapped into using expensive hotel facilities, this is a good spot to look at.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madtravel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    61
    43
    16
    8
See reviews for
35
86
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2009

My partner and i stayed here for three nights on a recent trip to Port Douglas. I note some of the previous comments and agree with some of them to an extent The problem is that Mantra advertises this property as a hotel which it clearly isn't. Its not really a serviced apartment either as the servicing attracts a extra fee. This particular Mantra is more of a holiday apartment complex - book with this in mind and you should enjoy your stay.

The hotel rooms are actually studio apartments. They are quite dingy and i would not recommend them. They are located at the back of the complex and their windows and doors open onto a communal open corridor.

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was excellent - it felt like we were staying in a tree house with lovely hardwood floors, wooden bi fold doors and screens on the balcony and bedroom. The apartment was massive with high ceilings and loads of character - it really reflected the vibe of Port Douglas and the surrounding tropics.

Yes, it was a little noisy at times with the Court House Hotel being right next door but that’s the price you pay for being right in the centre of the action. Truth be known, we probably caused more noise that we heard. My advice is to request a room in the south east section which is further away from the pub and coincidentally have nice views over the foreshore park and out to the ocean.

There is no gym, spa, sauna, room service, restaurant etc in the building and the pool is very very small - the smallest i have seen. But hey, that's what the reef is for and there plenty of cafes and restaurants a stones throw away. There are four flights of stairs between the car park and the top level rooms. If you can’t handle stairs or have small kids, this might not be the place for you

So in conclusion, if your young at heart and enjoy being amongst the action, this is the place to stay. If you are after the whole relaxing laze by the pool with a cocktail thing, this is not the place to stay.

PS: Reception is 9am - 5pm. If you don't make it between these times, you are sleeping in the park.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crumpett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2009

Our stay at Mantra on the Inlet wasn't what we expected. We booked online after looking at the photos and location of the hotel. We have also stayed at Mantra's before and they have been great.

Once we arrived during reception hours (9am-5pm) there was no-one present, we pressed a bell and no-one still, we rang using the phone and someone said they would be there soon. After a total of 10 minutes in a hot office (no air-con) we finally checked in. We were not offered assistance with our luggage (there were luggage lifts labelled 'Staff Only') and we carted our luggage up 4 flights of stairs (not fun). A disappointing start.

We booked a hotel room, and it was fairly small, the air conditioning was not cleaned, scuffs on the walls and generally seemed unclean, there was no balcony, the cupboards that held the glasses and fridge were not even fit properly. The bathroom on the other hand, was good and large in size, however we were expecting a spa like the photos suggested, which we didnt get. The pool is tiny and looked like it wasnt well maintained either.

We still had a good time there as the hotel is situated in a great place (near dining precinct). I would suggest you go to Mango Jam for a meal - fantastic service and food! We have filled out a feedback form as we thought the room wasnt worth the amount of money charged. If it was less expensive we wouldn't have been so disappointed with the quality and value. So hopefully they listen to feedback and improve. If you are considering staying there, opt for the apartments instead of hotel room, they looked a lot nicer.

  • Liked — Close to shops and dining
  • Disliked — Quality, value and size
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeandbryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASMNQ, Management at Mantra On The Inlet, responded to this review, 17 February 2010
Thank you for your feedback, I am disappointed to hear you had to wait to check in and your room did not meet your expectations. We make all efforts on all booking channels to clearly advise room types and facilities.

Feedback such as yours is important to us as they afford us an opportunity to review our procedures and make enhancements to our property and procedures including customer service, housekeeping and our ongoing maintenance and refurbishment programs.

Once again thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and we do hope to welcome you back to Port Douglas and Mantra on the Inlet.

Kind Regards

Mike Mitchell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Douglas hotels

France
Level Contributor
74 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2008

We stayed at the Mantra on the Inlet for five nights after relocating from the Mantra Heritage. We decided to upgrade our booking and ended up in a one-bedroom with a good view of the park and church by the beach across the street, and lovely wooden floors and screens. The kitchen facilities would allow this to be a self-catering facility, however, we only used it for breakfast and so cannot judge how easily it might work as such.

The location may be bothersome for those who do not want to risk being overlooked (if you keep the screens open, people in the restaurant next door have a free view into the bedroom as well as the bathroom) or who don't want the noise of Port Douglas nightlife (although it ends after midnight, so not too bad). We loved our large terrace overlooking the street, but if you don't, it would be better to have a room further back.

As our holiday progressed, we found out a few irritating details regarding hotel services which we did manage to sort out, but which it would have been better to have dealt with in advance, or in our case, because we arrived from another hotel, at check-in. First, you have to opt for housekeeping in the form of a service package which comes at an additional cost. Second, even with this package, housekeeping may not happen (at least not on our first day), and when someone arrives, you may have to direct them in their tasks.

In addition, on the negative side, reception hours are from nine to five, and there is no elevator. Our room was reached over diverse flights of stairs and long(ish) corridors - not ideal if you are carrying luggage.

On the positive side, however, we found staff to be helpful and friendly, and very much enjoyed our room and the overall experience. It made our visit to Port Douglas all that much better.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank thatsmystuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2008

The room was AMAZING and very modern - it had bifold doors which went out to the huge balcony, then bifold doors to the bedroom and a bifold in the bathroom so the whole room opened up.

Our room didn't have a view - it overlooked the pub roof but that didn't phase us. We were there for a mates wedding. The noise wasn't an issue at all for us. The rooms comes with aircon and fans.

The room was very spacious and modern.

The receptionist was unbelievable - just went above and beyond (long story, my dress for the wedding was ruined in my luggage i.e. some liquid had been spilt all over it (which didn't come from my bag) and she was calling dry-cleaners, her mother etc to find out how we could fix it)....

The pool was small but I didn't go in it. My husband did and he said you could only really sit in it and not do much but it did the trick and cooled him down.

The location is perfect - you can walk to everything.

The restaurants are nice and the local pub is very popular and relaxing.

I definately would stay here again. Loved it!

The value for money when we went was UNBELIEVABLE - we were very very happy with the rate we were charged. We had a mate staying with us so the way our room was was you come to a door open it with your key, go in and then there are 2 doors (need key to open each door) to 2 rooms - it was very good, provided each party with privacy yet we stayed together and our room doors just needed to be opened and the front door closed and it was like a massive apartment with 2 rooms. Very practical...

  • Liked — Value for money, the room and the location
  • Disliked — Looking at the pub roof (but that's not all you could see)
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hunrous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.2 km away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.1 km away
Club Tropical Resort
Club Tropical Resort
#34 of 43 in Port Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.8 km away
Beachfront Terraces
Beachfront Terraces
#37 of 43 in Port Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
#14 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.2 km away
Mantra in the Village
Mantra in the Village
#33 of 56 in Port Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.6 km away
Martinique on Macrossan
Martinique on Macrossan
#12 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra On The Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra On The Inlet

Property: Mantra On The Inlet
Address: Corner Macrossan & Wharf Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger on the Inlet)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra On The Inlet 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Port Douglas's entertainment and dining precinct, Mantra on the Inlet is surrounded by outdoor cafes, world class restaurants and some of "Port's" original pubs, as well as boutique shopping to suit every taste. Set against the picturesque backdrop of the Dickson Inlet with stunning views of the surrounding mountain ranges, Mantra on the Inlet offers a range of hotel rooms and self-contained one and two bedroom suites. Featuring traditional colonial-style architecture, modern cedar-accented furnishings, air conditioning, ceiling fans, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and cable TV. Our suites offer the convenience of kitchenette and laundry facilities as well as a private balcony with an indulgent whirlpool spa. The resort offers a range of guest services and facilities to ensure an enjoyable and entertaining holiday including complimentary parking, in-room internet access and a tour desk, while outside we feature a heated pool, spa and barbeque area. Port Douglas is the only place on earth where two World Heritage listed attractions exist, with the Great Barrier Reef on one side and the beautiful Daintree Rainforest on the other. More than just World Heritage listed attractions, Port Douglas is also famed for its dining with over 50 cafes and restaurants with everything from pub food to fine cuisine. Lining the streets you will find great shopping including casual market stalls to boutique fashions. With the marina only 100 metres away and directly opposite Dickson Inlet and Anzac Pack, the site of the famous Sunday Markets, Mantra on the Inlet is the perfect base to start your Port Douglas getaway. Please note there is no lift access, this is a stair only property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra On The Inlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Inlet Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing