We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
68
74
43
25
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
74
43
25
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater gardenstepping stonesclub studiocourthouse hotelshowing its ageoverlooking macrossan streetthe main streetoutdoor kitchenrestaurants and pubsoff street parkingpool arealate checkgreat positionwithin easy walking distancegreat holidaystay in port douglaswashing machine
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 233 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2015

The hotel is in the main street and is a short walk to restaurants (there is a great one down stairs), marina and about 5 mins or more depending on how many shops your wife stops in on the way to the beach. The tour desk at reception gave us great advice and we found John to be friendly ,welcoming and the had personal touch of remembering our names. We found it good value for money. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snooze272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2015

Great location, The apartments are a little dated, but they are fine. We had 4 adults and 2 kids in our apartment we had plenty of room. Right across from the Court House pub, right opposite the weekend markets. Pool area is a little small not many day beds. Staff were lovely and very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bungosPerthWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2015

3 of us stayed for a week in a 1 bedroom apartment with a king bed in the living room. Well appointed and recently refurbished. Had everything we needed and close to all restaurants and Marina. The walk along Macrossan St everyday on our way to 4 mile beach was a chance to check out menus and decide where we would dine at night.
We had an apartment on the 1st floor overlooking the pool, so was just perfect.
John, one of the friendly staff, was especially helpful and I would definitely recommend and book return accommodation....in the same apartment of course!

Room Tip: If you want quiet..get an apartment facing inwards, not the Court House Hotel
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AustraliaKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2015

A group of friends stayed in a 4 bedroom unit. We found the staff very friendly, helpful and accommodating of our requests. The unit we stayed in was clean and nicely laid out with everything we needed for our stay. The pool was lovely also. The location was fantastic - right in the heart of town, opposite the sunday markets and the park where you can go down and watch the boats come in and the sunset. Great stay

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TinaLAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Club T, Public Relations Manager at Club Tropical Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2015

Thank you for your review of Club Tropical Resort, we agree that the location of the resort is ideal for the markets, restaurants and still an easy stroll to the beach. Rex Smeal park is a great location to watch the boats come and go and a unique spot to enjoy the tropical sunsets. We look forward welcoming you back to Club Tropical Resort should your travel plans bring you back to Port Douglas in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015

We booked and paid for seven nights accommodation at Club Tropical.The day before we arrived we had a call from our travel agent to say that Club Tropical had overbooked and we had been booked into alternative accommodation which would be of the same or higher standard. This turned out to be the Reef Club, which was managed by the same people, in very poor condition and by the beach rather than in town which we had specifically asked for. We were told our booking had gone to the wrong email address, however our payment in full left our account on the day of booking. On returning home we checked and our emails were sent to the address as on their website. We specifically requested a view which we did not get. Bathroom floor tiled, slippery and no bath mats, .The kitchens are on the balconies - if you are next door to a smoker as we were, you may have the smell of cigarette smoke at dinner time! The units are privately owned, a few have been updated, but ours and the communal areas were really tired. The ground floor toilets were dirty and the pool really smelt of chlorine. The hall light never worked and we could not adjust the air conditioning so it was cold at night, we were pleased when they shut it down for maintenance!

Room Tip: Make sure that you request a renovated room, that it does not overlook McCrossan Street as it could get noisy from the bar across the road.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 2imps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Club T, Front Office Manager at Club Tropical Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2015

Dear 2imps, it is disappointing to read your review of Club Tropical, as we discussed at length with you during your stay the turn of events that lead to the unfortunate situation we found ourselves in with your reservation. As soon as we were aware that the reservation your travel agent made on your behalf, had not come through to our system, due to an incorrect email address, we undertook all steps to minimise the disruption to your holiday. I feel I also need to explain that you had paid your Travel Agent for your holiday and the hotel did not take any money from you directly. We understand that the first couple of nights of your stay at Reef Club was not ideal as you wanted an in town location rather than the beach location of Reef Club. To compensate this we include a free bus passes to be used on the public bus service into Macrossan St as this was raised as a concern from your Travel Agent. We also arranged to cover the cost of the transfer from Reef Club to Club Tropical on the day of your changeover. I understand that the transfer company only took your luggage and you chose to walk along the beach that morning. On your arrival at Club Tropical we had upgraded you to a 1 bedroom club apartment so it is again disappointing to hear that you were not happy with this. It is a shame that you felt you could not approach us to advise that other guests were smoking on their balcony as we are non smoking resort and this could have been addressed to avoid you any more discomfort. Your other issues regarding the lobby bathrooms, which are checked and cleaned daily, the pool is a level of chlorine which it has to maintain, but again this is checked and adjusted daily in accordance with regulations, could also have been addressed during your stay if you had only mentioned them. The resort also has an eco lighting system in place which is explained throughout the corridors that alternate lights come on at set times to preserve electricity consumption at time when it is not needed. I hope that you now feel that we have addressed and publicly acknowledged your concerns, and that you did spend time enjoying all that Port Douglas has offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews